We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean & Courteous” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sleep Inn at Court Square

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sleep Inn at Court Square
Ranked #11 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
So Ca, but wishing I was in the Caribbean!
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Clean & Courteous”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2007

Hotel was clean. Rooms were quite small, we're talking smaller than a studio apartment. Smallest room we have ever stayed in, but expected it from reading reviews. Trolley stop is only about 50ft. from the hotel front door. Breakfast had the following: Make your own waffles, bagels, hard boiled eggs, toast, muffins, cereal, oatmeal, fruit. Front desk staff was very courteous and welcoming. We dealt with Shannon at the desk, she had some great recommendations when we asked and treated us as if we were her friends that were visiting.

If you are looking for a simple, clean, safe hotel to stay a night (maybe two), this is it. If you are looking for a place you might be spending quite a bit of time in the room, you'll feel cramped here.

  • Liked — Courteous/friendly staff, location for trolley/downtown
  • Disliked — Room size
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank fromsoca23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    373
    99
    15
    11
See reviews for
99
418
44
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2007

We were going to Memphis for a wedding, with the 'official' wedding hotel being far from downtown Memphis. Since we were planning on having fun on Beale Street, we decided to find a hotel within walking distance of the major sites. After searching the internet, we found the best deal (i.e. cheapest price) was the Sleep Inn at Court Square and booked a room on their website.
We had very low expectations (not to say anything bad about Sleep Inn hotels, we just didn't expect anything too nice), and they met and/or exceeded them all. Other than the great price ($107/night), the location was the real selling point. It was very convinient to the trolly and a short walk from Beale Street.
The room was just okay (we ended up with a handicap room on the first floor). Nothing too fancy, but not trashed either. I would suggest asking for a room not on the first floor and not facing the trolly. Also, the hotel looks fairly new which indicates that things aren't too old.
Overall, this hotel has a great location for a fairly low price, just don't have high expectations.

  • Liked — Location, location, location!
  • Disliked — It was somewhat noisy - get a room not on the first floor facing the trolly.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KevinInWashDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2007

Great place to stay! The rooms are clean, the hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is in a great location. A beautiful park across the street, and the trolley runs right behind the hotel. There is an excellent day spa very close by, the name is Rachel's Salon and Spa. We would definitely stay there again. The only issue would be the parking. Their lot is small so you may have to park at an adjacent lot.

  • Liked — location, friendly staff, cleanliness
  • Disliked — Parking lot
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank DeeGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beach Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2007

Value and location sells this hotel! We attended a concert on Mud Island, which is easily within walking distance. The hotel features a great location directly on a trolley line. We took the trolley to Beale Street, and enjoyed the leisurely 15-minute walk back to the hotel. Our room had a great view of Confederate Park across the street, and was pretty quiet. The room was also very clean and up-to-date, but extremely small, similar to European hotel rooms. The breakfast was above our expectations, and the hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. We would defiantly stay here again if in the area!

  • Liked — Value and Location
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nicknpick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WV
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2007

The location sold this place! The trolley stop was right outside the door, and the staff was very helpful and friendly. The bathroom had a stand-up shower stall, which was different. We were supposed to have a queen bed, but it was a double. Overall, it was not a bad stay.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank FHSmathteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2007

This hotel was ok. Its more suited to families i think. The room was pretty small and the internet wasnt very reliable. The hotel has a great location as the street car is right outside and it is only a few blocks from Beale. The free breakfast was nice.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — I was bored out of my mind while in the room
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank leenabeena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2007

The location was wonderful. The trolleys were very nice to use. The room was clean and staff friendly. We had a couple of maintenance issues that were a little inconvenient but they were resolved. We'll definitely go back.

  • Liked — Location, price
  • Disliked — Maintenance issues, mosquitoes
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank agray3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#10 of 136 in Memphis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
0.1 mi away
Madison Hotel
Madison Hotel
#8 of 136 in Memphis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown
0.3 mi away
The Peabody Memphis
The Peabody Memphis
#5 of 136 in Memphis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,017 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn at Court Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn at Court Square

Property: Sleep Inn at Court Square
Address: 40 N Front St, Memphis, TN 38103-2188
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#13 Family Hotel in Memphis
#18 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn at Court Square 2*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels and Hotels.com so you can book your Sleep Inn at Court Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn At Court Square Hotel Memphis
Sleep Inn Court Square
Sleep Inn Memphis
Memphis Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing