We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown
Ranked #28 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Evansville, IN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value!”
Reviewed January 20, 2009

We booked this hotel on priceline at $70 per night. For the money this was a terrific value. The staff was helpful and friendly. The room was very clean. Very updated appointments, and convenient to everything downtown. No continental breakfast. No free parking.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank evillerunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    363
    302
    122
    81
See reviews for
250
419
47
198
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2009

So, the girlfriend and I decided we needed a weekend away.......I jumped on Priceline and submitted an offer and received conformation that I now had a room booked the the Crowne Plaza. Having never heard of it I did a little research and my quest brought me to this site. After reading the reviews I must say I was pretty apprehensive about staying there. I read about dirty rooms, unfriendly staff and even broken elevators.
I will simply cut right to the chase. We were checked in by one of the nicest people I have ever met, taken care of immediately and put in a super clean, very nice room with a flat screen TV. Oh and by the way, we rode an elevator that worked just fine. We hopped the trolley, there is a stop on the other side of the Marriot right across the street and headed downtown for a great night. After a full night we jumped in a cab and rode back for like 5 dollars. The next morning was so nice we went for a walk back downtown ......right now let me give a plug for the best breakfast place ever........its called the Blue Plate Diner......just a few blocks from Beale street. We could have taken the trolley again but it was just too nice and we saw lots of neat places along the way. Just walk the sidewalks that parallel the trolley. Anyway, I could continue but I hope my point is made. Great hotel, great service, we could not believe how bad some of the reviews were but we were thrilled. Oh and did I mention the best part.....we got the room for only $75 plus tax!! Enjoy!!

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank gilly2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2009

My family and I recently visited Memphis for the annual Liberty Bowl game and had a chance to stay at the Crowne Plaza. I had read previous reviews and was not very impressed with the hotel. To much of our surprise the facilty was extremely clean and the staff was exceptional. I have returned to Memphis again but for business this time and have decided to stay at the Crowne Plaza Memphis again. I was recongnized as a return guest upon check-in and provided with the same exceptional service as before. I recommend the hotel to anyone that visits Memphis.

  • Liked — Location and service
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Candycane00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 13, 2009

My family and I stayed at the Crowne Plaza Memphis earlier this month and had a wonderful experience. Check in was a breeze with very friendly people. I asked about local things to do and see and was provided with a vast array of options for my family. The room was clean and very comfortable. The Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage amenities were a nice touch. Breakfast in the restaurant was nice and the staff there was just as friendly and helpful as at check in. The hotel was convenient to Beale Street and Graceland. I highly recommend staying at this hotel when you visit Memphis.

Stayed January 2009
Helpful?
1 Thank rcjc4900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
red bud il
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 16, 2008

Motorcycle trip with another couple for the purpose of visiting Graceland---the hotel was fine although it was under remodel (much needed) in certain areas---clean comfortable room, friendly staff---was a bit overpriced considering for the same amount $ we could have stayed at a Holiday Inn with hot tub & kitchenette in room. Otherwise great location for downtown touring. Had surveillance on fenced in lower level parking and upper garage important to us 'bike' riders.

  • Liked — the pillows were extremely comfortable---would have loved to brought them home
  • Disliked — nothing really disappointing about our stay
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank 3bikerbabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ, USA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2008

I stayed there for 2 nights with a tour group. It was fine, most of the staff was helpful and friendly. The hotel needs some imporving and I would've prefered the Marriott across the street much better.

My room was fine, comfortable, & clean. One elevator was still broken, so that does cause a delay going to/from your room. There is a service elevator available through the door next to the general elevators - use that if needed. The staff didn't mind us riding with them.

The service at the restaurant, which isn't much of a restaurant, was very slow and the food average at best. Only eat there if you are too tired to go out. The morning "buffet" breakfast we had was minimum and the staff is slow to get you silverware, coffee, and to replace the food itens. They do say that things move slower in the south, but the staff was friendly. It would save the staff and make the guests happier if they just had silverware on the table or in a basket instead of having to wait.

They have an outdoor pool right outside of the lobby. There is a fitness room on the 11th floor, it's pretty basic but it is 24 hours with access using your room key. They have 2 pcs in the lobby with free internet access, which is great.

Like a previous review, do NOT walk to/from Beal St at night. It's not safe. Take a taxi or walk through the Marriott across the street and take the Trolley. You can buy a round trip ticket for $1.50 inside the Marriott (according to the Trolley driver). There is also a Catholic Church right across the street from the Crowne Plaza - otherwise there's not much else around. Around Beal St is the place to be which great food & music.

  • Liked — Free Internet in the lobby
  • Disliked — Elevator broken & restaurant isn't good.
  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeytravelerNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2008

I am really not sure what the bad reviews of this hotel are about... maybe something has recently changed dramatically, but I found this place fantastic! My room was great - amazing bed, great shower, beautiful furnishings, and free wireless! Great location right off the interstate with reasonable self-parking, really convenient. Everyone I dealt with was super-friendly, I find this is usually the case in Memphis. I will definitely stay here again and would recommend this hotel to anyone, One elevator was under repair still, but I did not experience any delay getting to my room, people need to get a grip!

  • Liked — The quality of the room and the location.
  • Disliked — Really nothing.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lolanola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#6 of 136 in Memphis
896 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown
1.0 mi away
The Westin Memphis Beale Street
0.5 mi away
Sleep Inn at Court Square
Sleep Inn at Court Square
#13 of 136 in Memphis
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown

Property: Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown
Address: 300 N 2nd St, Memphis, TN 38105-2614 (Formerly Wyndham Garden Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of historical Memphis traditions at the fully renovated Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown. Fresh from a multi- million dollar renovation, no detail has been overlooked. Our hotel is within minutes of famed Barbeque and Blues. Perfectly situated between the Memphis Cook Convention Center and Beale Street, the newly renovated Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown is the ideal location for those in town for business and pleasure. A wonderful compliment to the Memphis city vibe, the updated features bring the excitement of the street right into the lobby of our hotel. Every detail about this distinct hotel has you in mind. Spacious, modern guest rooms with unbeatable views of the Memphis skyline, or St. Jude's Campus and Bass Pro Shop at the famed Pyramid. Our rooms offer efficient, user friendly workspace, free Wi-Fi, as well as refrigerators and in-room safes. A top of the line, exercise facility equipped to meet the most demanding personal workout regimen. Enjoy socializing with colleagues and friends in a newly designed public area that provides quiet seclusion or a multitude of entertainment options to suit every wish, including the newly added Blues Patio fully equipped with cooling mist and fans. Enjoy a bite or a libation in our famous Notes and Provisions. Be sure to say hello to the local mixologist! Don't forget to visit the in-house St. Jude's art gallery and see how miracles happen. As a partner with St. Jude's Research Hospital we have the distinct privilege of supporting them and the pleasure of witnessing the difference it makes. Now you can as well. "Success has nothing to do with what you gain in life or accomplish for yourself. It's what you do for others." - St. Jude Founder Danny Thomas Whatever the reason is for your visit, you'll experience a new and better way of hospitality at the Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Memphis
Memphis Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing