We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown
Ranked #27 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Goole, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

great hotel stayed on the 7th till 9 th of march room very clean staff brill a bit noisy on a night but we were to tired to care we went to graceland from here another brill place and wasnt far cant comment much on the food we had a burger chips and sallad sent to our room for my husband there was plenty i ended up finishing the chips and sallad which was very nice would like visit again on my next visit to america

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrowneDOS, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thanks for your review. Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences you experienced with the staff. We hope that you will come back to see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    346
    292
    119
    80
See reviews for
238
407
47
191
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
WALES ENGLAND
Level Contributor
76 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights on a tour and arrived at 9am after an over night train journey from Chicago and they gave us our room which was great. The hotel was clean and very comfortable with very polite and helpful staff. They have a shuttle bus that take you in a 3 mile radius we used this a lot they took us for breakfast and dinner and picked us up later.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joycewalesengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrowneDOS, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thanks for you 5star review. We are pleased to know that your stay with us was great. We hope the next time you are in Memphis you will stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

My family and i stayed at the crowne plaza for 8 days and enjoyed every day there. Tongela was the night supervisor who made us feel very comfortable. Every night when we came back to the hotel she was there to greet us and she loved our kids. Anything we needed she was there to help us. Our service was great shun was our house keeper she always made sure we had enough towels and blankets. Every morning she was there to see if we needed anything. My wife and i enjoyed the free shuttle to beale street. My wife fell in love with the complimentary lemonade. We will be back in memphis in november and we plan on making crowne plaza our hotel of choice.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jermaine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrowneDOS, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank for the 5star review. We always glad to hear great feedback from the guest. We appreciate your feedback regarding our team member. We are looking forward to having you staying with us in November.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
152 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Large rooms. Very comfortable and clean. Front desk staff is very helpful. The restaurant staff is friendly and made sure that the coffee was always hot and the buffet replenished.
A late night noise problem on one evening was handled promptly and efficiently by hotel security.
The hotel provides a free shuttle around the downtown area. The driver was friendly and courteous.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Fencin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrowneDOS, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank for the 5star review. We take proud in our level of customer service. Please accept our sincere apologies for the noise problem. We are glad that our staff took care of the problem in a timely matter. We value your feedback and hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louisville, ky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

Stayed at the crowne for three nights and the front desk staff along with their supervisor (Tangela), the bartender and servers (Kenneth, Sharon, and Kimberly ) certainly made the stay more enjoyable. They were knowledgeable, polite, friendly , and extremely professional during all my interactions with them. The maintenance guy (forgot name) fixed the bar tv to ESPNU so I could watch basketball game that was showing one day. They all went out their way to make sure the stay was comfortable and enjoyable. You cannot go wrong staying at the Crown Plaza.

Room Tip: Corner suites are extremely quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stacey m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrowneDOS, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for posting a review of our property. We glad that our staff provide you with great service. We will celebrate and share your feedback wth our entire team. We hope you will choose to stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

stayed at crowne plaza last week and had a pleasant and restful time. the staff from front desk belinda to ladies at resuarant were all very helpful and fun especially Temeria, Gina, Annie Ruth, and Sharon I will be back soon and I will stay at crowne plaza because of them. Steve H.

Room Tip: even number rooms face downtown
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrowneDOS, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank for the 5star review. It is great to know you appreciate our friendly staff. I am pleased to note your positive comments regarding out staff. We work hard to ensure our guess great service. Thank for your great feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

Most unpleasant stay - north side right next to a busy highway and paper thin walls so you hear everything. Management very rude when I called down about noise as they said they checked the floor and did not hear anything - even though I knocked on the room in question to ask them to be quit and there were 8-10 people in the room partying. The manager actually hung up on me! Stay elsewhere!!

Room Tip: Avoid north side
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wildcat8696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrowneDOS, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. Please accept our sincere apologies for any discomfort doing your stay. We apologize if one of our staff did not give you the level of service you are in title to. Your comments will be forwarded to higher management. We hope to have another opportunity to better serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Memphis hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#10 of 136 in Memphis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)
0.6 mi away
Madison Hotel
Madison Hotel
#8 of 136 in Memphis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,674 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sleep Inn at Court Square
Sleep Inn at Court Square
#11 of 136 in Memphis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown

Property: Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown
Address: 300 N 2nd St, Memphis, TN 38105-2614 (Formerly Wyndham Garden Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of historical Memphis traditions at the fully renovated Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown. Fresh from a multi- million dollar renovation, no detail has been overlooked. Our hotel is within minutes of famed Barbeque and Blues. Perfectly situated between the Memphis Cook Convention Center and Beale Street, the newly renovated Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown is the ideal location for those in town for business and pleasure. A wonderful compliment to the Memphis city vibe, the updated features bring the excitement of the street right into the lobby of our hotel. Every detail about this distinct hotel has you in mind. Spacious, modern guest rooms with unbeatable views of the Memphis skyline, or St. Jude's Campus and Bass Pro Shop at the famed Pyramid. Our rooms offer efficient, user friendly workspace, free Wi-Fi, as well as refrigerators and in-room safes. A top of the line, exercise facility equipped to meet the most demanding personal workout regimen. Enjoy socializing with colleagues and friends in a newly designed public area that provides quiet seclusion or a multitude of entertainment options to suit every wish, including the newly added Blues Patio fully equipped with cooling mist and fans. Enjoy a bite or a libation in our famous Notes and Provisions. Be sure to say hello to the local mixologist! Don't forget to visit the in-house St. Jude's art gallery and see how miracles happen. As a partner with St. Jude's Research Hospital we have the distinct privilege of supporting them and the pleasure of witnessing the difference it makes. Now you can as well. "Success has nothing to do with what you gain in life or accomplish for yourself. It's what you do for others." - St. Jude Founder Danny Thomas Whatever the reason is for your visit, you'll experience a new and better way of hospitality at the Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Memphis
Memphis Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing