We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok but not great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown
Ranked #27 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Level Contributor
843 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“Ok but not great”
Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

Average hotel although the staff was pretty nice. Probably on the lower end if Crowne Hotels along with the location.

The Good.... Free shuttle within 3 miles and pretty good about speed. Service of emploees was also a plus. Rooms were pretty decent size. Not overly crowded.

The Bad..... $17 a day to self park and not in crowded part of downtown. Only one elevator working for 11 story building. Long walk to Beale Street and main attractions but they do have free shuttle but with tip it's not exactly free. Hotels pretty run done for a Crowne plaza.

For what we paid it was fine and did the job. But I wouldn't pay full retail.
Full

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Banny9949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Banny9949,

Thank you for your candid review. We were pleased to see your positive comments regarding our staff and service. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I have taken note of your valuable comments and we will use these to monitor and improve the quality of product we offer to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    363
    302
    122
    81
See reviews for
250
419
47
198
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

I try to stay at IHG hotels, such as Crowne Plaza or Holiday Inn, when I'm traveling solo. This is not a good example of why. Slow service in restaurant, and the food isn't very good. I'd rather eat out. The shuttle service is very convenient and the driver was very nice and knew a lot about Memphis.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Soonerfan171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrowneDOS, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We are sorry that our hotel did not meet your expectations. We We appreciate your feedback and will use it to improve on our service. Thank you for your kind feedback regarding our great shuttle service. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you.
Kind Regards,

Helen Nelson, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Just had a couple of nights at the Crowne Plaza Memphis on our Cosmos Tour. This is a very acceptable hotel. Good sized clean bedroom. Just a short walk or trolleybus ride to the center of Memphis. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank neilrconnolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrowneDOS, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Wow, thank you for the great 5-Star review! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us during your Tour. We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback and hope you will stay with us again soon.

Kind Regards,

Helen Nelson, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malaysia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

The location is quite poor with no shops or cafes nearby, other than another hotel across the road, though there is free shuttle available. The hotel is old and the rooms are dated but clean. The fitness centre is located on 11th floor but the entire floor looks deserted & the fitness room is not well ventilated. The staff are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisatgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrowneDOS, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Hello and thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that our location was not as expected. We hope you were able to take advantage of the shuttle service during your stay. We appreciate your feedback and will share it with our team so that we can make improvements to our guests experience.
Kind Regards,

Helen Nelson, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
272 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Despite some reviewers' claims, we never had a problem with noise, either from nearby rooms or outside. The room was dated but clean and staff were friendly and accommodating. The shuttle service is excellent - Taylor our driver - was very helpful in recommending sites and restaurants. It's also necessary as the hotel is a hike from any good restaurants. Our only complaint was the restaurant. We were met by a man wearing a hockey jersey. That should have been a clue to avoid the place. The food choices are limited and the decor lacks style and warmth. At dinner, the TV in the bar blared into the dining area. Our waitress was efficient. But in the morning, it was extremely annoying to have a waiter talking loudly and for a lengthy time to some guests adjacent to our table. Also strange - being charged the same price for a continental breakfast as for a regular egg/bacon dish.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Masca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrowneDOS, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Hello and thank you for sharing your feedback from your recent stay. We are glad that we were able to exceed your expectations and that you were able to experience a restful night. Thank you for complimenting our great shuttle driver and the friendliness of our staff. We apologize your experience in the restaurant was not as positive and will share your feedback so that we can improve on the dining area. We hope that you will stay with us again soon.
Kind Regards,

Helen Nelson, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed November 8, 2013

The staff at this hotel is second to none. Each employee I interacted with was a pleasure to speak with. The restaurant staff is superb, the food was great....I'll be sure to book here each time I'm in Memphis for work. Thanks again for a wonderful hotel experience.

10/10

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zach J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrowneDOS, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Wow, thank you for the great 5-Star review. We are very excited about your feedback and will share your great comments with everyone. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next business trip to Memphis.
Kind Regards,

Helen Nelson, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Smith, Arkansas
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

I had read several negative reviews of this property and nearly didn't book. Glad I did. The staff was unfailingly friendly and exceptionally helpful. My room was clean and comfortable, if a bit dated. Everything worked and I got excellent sleep both nights. Negatives...the walls are very thin, so it was impossible to not hear the neighbors; the hotel didn't have a hot breakfast buffet, though the omelet I ordered off the menu was very good. All-in-all, I would absolutely stay at this CP again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrowneDOS, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for the great review. We are pleased that you chose to stay with us and that we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to hosting your next stay in Memphis.

Kind Regards,

Helen Nelson, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#6 of 136 in Memphis
896 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown
1.0 mi away
The Westin Memphis Beale Street
0.5 mi away
Sleep Inn at Court Square
Sleep Inn at Court Square
#12 of 136 in Memphis
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown

Property: Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown
Address: 300 N 2nd St, Memphis, TN 38105-2614 (Formerly Wyndham Garden Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of historical Memphis traditions at the fully renovated Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown. Fresh from a multi- million dollar renovation, no detail has been overlooked. Our hotel is within minutes of famed Barbeque and Blues. Perfectly situated between the Memphis Cook Convention Center and Beale Street, the newly renovated Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown is the ideal location for those in town for business and pleasure. A wonderful compliment to the Memphis city vibe, the updated features bring the excitement of the street right into the lobby of our hotel. Every detail about this distinct hotel has you in mind. Spacious, modern guest rooms with unbeatable views of the Memphis skyline, or St. Jude's Campus and Bass Pro Shop at the famed Pyramid. Our rooms offer efficient, user friendly workspace, free Wi-Fi, as well as refrigerators and in-room safes. A top of the line, exercise facility equipped to meet the most demanding personal workout regimen. Enjoy socializing with colleagues and friends in a newly designed public area that provides quiet seclusion or a multitude of entertainment options to suit every wish, including the newly added Blues Patio fully equipped with cooling mist and fans. Enjoy a bite or a libation in our famous Notes and Provisions. Be sure to say hello to the local mixologist! Don't forget to visit the in-house St. Jude's art gallery and see how miracles happen. As a partner with St. Jude's Research Hospital we have the distinct privilege of supporting them and the pleasure of witnessing the difference it makes. Now you can as well. "Success has nothing to do with what you gain in life or accomplish for yourself. It's what you do for others." - St. Jude Founder Danny Thomas Whatever the reason is for your visit, you'll experience a new and better way of hospitality at the Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Memphis
Memphis Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing