We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown
Ranked #27 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good location!”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We went on our trip to Memphis for pleasure - we had several places we wanted to see and I feel like this hotel was a good location. The staff was friendly and we didn't encounter any problems. We weren't in the room much, but I was satisfied with our stay. The bed was very comfortable. The hotel offers a shuttle to take you places nearby which is very helpful. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrowneDOS, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Ashley W.
Thank you for sharing your great feedback. We are glad that you chose the Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown for your visit to Memphis. We are glad that you enjoyed your time in Memphis and that we were able to meet and exceed your needs.
Kind regards,
Helen Nelson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    361
    299
    122
    80
See reviews for
245
416
47
197
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yorktown, Virginia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Skyline view is NOT worth one penny more than the standard. Floors 8-10 are considered skyline view but the 8th is so low the view is of a church parking lot. No sleep advantage program aromatherapy kit in any rooms. Had to change rooms because of cleanliness problems and used toiletry products. We were moved next door and given two complimentary breakfasts so the staff really was kind and polite.

The next room was worse, TV was analog and went in and out in addition to a dirty bathroom. We gave up and stayed put.

I am an IHG Gold Elite member but was not acknowledged for that nor offered the typical goodie bag both of which are unusual and something that is earned through time, loyalty and not a small amount of money.

Overall, the staff is helpful but the hotel is seriously lacking. Stay elsewhere.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank wadd003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrowneDOS, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for being a loyal IHG Rewards guest and for sharing your recent experience. We are disheartened that you had some challenges with your guest room and that you did not receive the perks we provide to our IHG Reward members. Please contact General Manager, Steve Book to further discuss your stay at 901-525-1800.

Kind regards,
Helen Nelson, Dir. Of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Memphis hotels

SE USA
Level Contributor
110 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Staff very friendly and informative. On a scale of 1-10 I give this location a 7. Internet was slow, only had analog television signal which was odd because the TV's were digital. Sounds like the franchisee is saving a few bucks not allowing the cable company to send a digital signal. Hotel was safe and just 1 block from the convention center and also the trolley cars which can take you up and down main street to a variety of restaurants and Beale street. Also, when in the bathroom, I could hear the room next to me through the vent clear as day from the vent. If you looking for a hotel in the area for under $200 a night, this is a good choice. No real business center, just 2 PC's out in the open near the restaurant. Printer was out of ink. No concierge lounge. Was more like a Holiday Inn than a Crown Plaza

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bosco125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrowneDOS, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Bosco125: Thank you for sharing your feedback. We understand that staying connected to our loved ones is extremely important while traveling and have recently made some changes to our WIFI. We hope that your next wireless experience is faster and look forward to hearing from you. We are excited that we will be upgrading to High Definition channels next month to enhance our guest experience.
We look forward to hosting your next stay in Memphis.
Thank you again,
Helen Nelson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

I wrote a review that was not permitted. And I certainly apologize to Trip Advisor. It unfortunately was my exact experience. It was removed.

All I can say is fire trucks each night had to stand in rain. Had to walk up 10 flights of stairs elevators out.

Hotel should be listed as a 1.5 star at the very most.
Stay away from the bar!
I am a Rhodes College Parent.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Travel1908100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrowneDOS, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for submitting a review regarding your recent stay. We apologize that you were not satisfied with your experience. A great stay and good nights sleep is our goal for our guests, however an evacuation is necessary when the fire alarm is sounded which is for our guests' safety. We truly apologize for the inconvenience caused and hope we will have another opportunity to serve you,

Kind regards,

Helen Nelson, Dir of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights as part of a tour. The hotel was clean and comfortable with a good bar and resteraunt. Rooms very clean. Beds comfortable. Quiet so no prolem sleeping. About a 10 minute walk onto Beale Street. Highly rcommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janneyannWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrowneDOS, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for the "lovely" 5-star review! We're glad that you enjoyed your stay with us during your tour through the US. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards, Helen Nelson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, Iowa
Level Contributor
90 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

That is the only thing that woud lead me to recommend this place. Not super clean, but not dirty...like other reviewers I would classify this place as WORN. Staff very friendly and courteous. I would consider this hotel over-priced. Room service was decent, prompt and food was acceptible. Breakfast was okay, service was slow. Definatley NOT in the best part of town....about a mile from Beale Street and not sure I'd walk it at night.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PBC7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrowneDOS, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay. Your comments are important to us so that we can continue to improve our hotel and service. We have plans to make some improvements and hope that you will return and give us your feedback again.

Thank you, Helen Nelson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California, United States
Level Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I recently traveled cross country and stayed at the Crowne Plaza in Downtown Memphis.

They have secure parking, which was a plus because we had our car loaded with personal belongings.

The staff at the reception desk was really great! They were extremely pleasant and made us feel like we were their first visitors of the day.

The food service in the bar was a little slow but they were really great about it.

The full breakfast the next morning was a fantastic addition!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calvenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrowneDOS, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Calvenn S,
Thank you for the 4-star review. We are so that that we delivered a great experience to you and appreciate you sharing your kind comments regarding our team members. We hope you will return soon.

Kind regards, Helen Nelson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#9 of 136 in Memphis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)
0.5 mi away
Sleep Inn at Court Square
Sleep Inn at Court Square
#12 of 136 in Memphis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
0.6 mi away
Madison Hotel
Madison Hotel
#8 of 136 in Memphis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown

Property: Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown
Address: 300 N 2nd St, Memphis, TN 38105-2614 (Formerly Wyndham Garden Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of historical Memphis traditions at the fully renovated Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown. Fresh from a multi- million dollar renovation, no detail has been overlooked. Our hotel is within minutes of famed Barbeque and Blues. Perfectly situated between the Memphis Cook Convention Center and Beale Street, the newly renovated Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown is the ideal location for those in town for business and pleasure. A wonderful compliment to the Memphis city vibe, the updated features bring the excitement of the street right into the lobby of our hotel. Every detail about this distinct hotel has you in mind. Spacious, modern guest rooms with unbeatable views of the Memphis skyline, or St. Jude's Campus and Bass Pro Shop at the famed Pyramid. Our rooms offer efficient, user friendly workspace, free Wi-Fi, as well as refrigerators and in-room safes. A top of the line, exercise facility equipped to meet the most demanding personal workout regimen. Enjoy socializing with colleagues and friends in a newly designed public area that provides quiet seclusion or a multitude of entertainment options to suit every wish, including the newly added Blues Patio fully equipped with cooling mist and fans. Enjoy a bite or a libation in our famous Notes and Provisions. Be sure to say hello to the local mixologist! Don't forget to visit the in-house St. Jude's art gallery and see how miracles happen. As a partner with St. Jude's Research Hospital we have the distinct privilege of supporting them and the pleasure of witnessing the difference it makes. Now you can as well. "Success has nothing to do with what you gain in life or accomplish for yourself. It's what you do for others." - St. Jude Founder Danny Thomas Whatever the reason is for your visit, you'll experience a new and better way of hospitality at the Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Memphis
Memphis Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing