We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown
Ranked #33 of 137 Hotels in Memphis
Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here 16, 17 and 18th September 2013 and found this to a great hotel. Friendly staff all round and could not have any more friendly or helpful. The breakfast was very good both the buffet and ordered meals. Wait staff was very good especially Sharon, who was lots of fun. Accommodation was perfect. Hotel was situated very near downtown and had a free shuttle there and back. The trolley station was very near and we only had to walk a short distance through the a sheridan hotel across the road. Barry and Marilyn

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank barilyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrowneDOS, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Hello Barry and Marilyn,
Thank You for the 5-Star review! We appreciate your great feedback, especially regarding our team member Sharon. We are so glad that you all enjoyed your visit with us and hope that you will come and stay with us again.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    338
    287
    117
    79
See reviews for
223
389
44
189
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

my husband and i had a night out so we stayed at crown plaza the room was clean front desk was very nice .we went out that night to beal street the next morning we got up and before check out we had breakfast . our server was sharon and she gave us great service she went above and beyond great service thanks to crown plaza.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank raderjudith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrowneDOS, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for the 5-Star review. We are so glad that you had a great experience at our hotel and appreciate you sharing your feedback. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,

Helen Nelson, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

The room and bedding was comfortable and clean. I was on 10th floor. Elevator was fast. If you are light sleeper dont get a freeway side room -car noise loud all night. It is too far and unsafe to walk at night. No nearby restaurants. But free shuttle was fast and frequent to 11pm. Easy to get to & from Beale st. Parking seemed high @ $17. It seems secure. People pleassnt. A lot of foreign tour groups. Few business men. I would have preferred near Beale but this is less expensive and easy to use. It seems to work well.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoePitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrowneDOS, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for the review of your recent stay. We are glad you had a good business trip and enjoyed the convenience of our downtown shuttle service. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again the next time you visit Memphis.

Kind Regards,

Helen Nelson, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

For the brand you'd expect a bit more for your dollar ... the property is old and not clean. I'd best describe it as a tall Super 8 with a hotel bar. The parking situation out front is crazy and tight. Hotel is loud (talking design of the rooms, hallways).

Room Tip: stay in another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank devinmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrowneDOS, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are so disheartened that you did not enjoy your experience with us and that your stay was not up to expectations. We encourage you to please contact us directly so that we can find out more details regarding your experience. We hope that you will give us another opportunity.
Kind Regards,

Helen Nelson, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Memphis hotels

Lexington, Kentucky, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

I stayed two nights and had a wonderful experience. Every member of the staff we encountered was friendly and helpful. They all went out of their way to make our stay pleasant - from Gina our waitress to Sharon the bartender to the shuttle drivers to the front desk staff. The room was clean and in great condition and the bed was incredibly comfortable. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EchoG2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrowneDOS, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for your 5-Star review. We are so excited that you had such a great stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Memphis.
Kind Regards,

Helen Nelson, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

We have just returned from Memphis where we had a great stay in the Crowne Plaza, the room was clean and tidy and had all the ammenities you could ask for. In addition, the location was just a short walk (5 minutes) from the centre of town (Beale Street etc).

The stand out asset this hotel has is the staff, they are extremely helpful and friendly. I was unfortunate enough to lose an item and enquired was it handed in in reception. It wasn't but Amanda at the reception desk was extremely helpful, she was able to identify the taxi company I had used the previous day, found their number and called them for me. She also took the time to give other useful advice on how to get the item back.

I really appreciated of the help and kindness shown.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Memphis

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pgav19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrowneDOS, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for the 5-star review of your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown. We appreciate your complements to our team and are so glad that our Front Office Manager was able to assist you in recovering your items. We hope that you will return for another visit soon.
Thank you and kind regards,

Helen Nelson, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

I was very skeptical about this hotel after reading reviews but was very pleased when we arrrived. The staff was very attentive and friendly. The room was very clean and had a mini fridge, which I believe someone else said it lacked. The bed was incredibly comfortable and had no bugs or stains. We had an excellent stay especially considering the great deal we got on Priceline for approx. $100/nt tax included. The only thing I rated down was the location as it is a little far from Beale and other downtown attractions but the shuttle took us there so no real issue. We will definitely be staying here whenever we visit Memphis.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria8686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrowneDOS, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for the great review. We are glad that we exceeded your expectations and that you really enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to you staying with us on your next visit to Memphis.

Kind Regards,

Helen Nelson, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#10 of 137 in Memphis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)
0.5 mi away
Sleep Inn at Court Square
Sleep Inn at Court Square
#11 of 137 in Memphis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
0.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Memphis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown

Property: Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown
Address: 300 N 2nd St, Memphis, TN 38105-2614 (Formerly Wyndham Garden Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 137 Hotels in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of historical Memphis traditions at the fully renovated Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown. Fresh from a multi- million dollar renovation, no detail has been overlooked. Our hotel is within minutes of famed Barbeque and Blues. Perfectly situated between the Memphis Cook Convention Center and Beale Street, the newly renovated Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown is the ideal location for those in town for business and pleasure. A wonderful compliment to the Memphis city vibe, the updated features bring the excitement of the street right into the lobby of our hotel. Every detail about this distinct hotel has you in mind. Spacious, modern guest rooms with unbeatable views of the Memphis skyline, or St. Jude's Campus and Bass Pro Shop at the famed Pyramid. Our rooms offer efficient, user friendly workspace, free Wi-Fi, as well as refrigerators and in-room safes. A top of the line, exercise facility equipped to meet the most demanding personal workout regimen. Enjoy socializing with colleagues and friends in a newly designed public area that provides quiet seclusion or a multitude of entertainment options to suit every wish, including the newly added Blues Patio fully equipped with cooling mist and fans. Enjoy a bite or a libation in our famous Notes and Provisions. Be sure to say hello to the local mixologist! Don't forget to visit the in-house St. Jude's art gallery and see how miracles happen. As a partner with St. Jude's Research Hospital we have the distinct privilege of supporting them and the pleasure of witnessing the difference it makes. Now you can as well. "Success has nothing to do with what you gain in life or accomplish for yourself. It's what you do for others." - St. Jude Founder Danny Thomas Whatever the reason is for your visit, you'll experience a new and better way of hospitality at the Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Memphis
Memphis Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing