We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown
Ranked #25 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely friendly hotel”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Beds very comfortable nice clean hotel, Staff very friendly. Stayed here 4 nights would definitely recommend this hotel. Nice to have cold drinks and coffee in the lobby. Pool not up to standard but nice to have somewhere outside to sit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bren001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrowneDOS, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for the great review. We appreciate your great feedback and will share you comments regarding the pool with our management team. We hope you will choose the Crowne Plaza for your next visit to Memphis.

Kind Regards,

Helen Nelson, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    373
    303
    124
    81
See reviews for
258
425
49
202
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 7, 2013

i stay there every time i am in memphis and i am never disappointed. the front desk help are very friendy,helpful,and professional. the morning staff at the restuarant are the best gina annie ruth timeria and sharon are top notch

Room Tip: even number rooms face the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrowneDOS, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Hello Steve H, thank you for your review. We appreciate your loyalty and for recognizing some of our great team members. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Helen Nelson, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is quite far from the downtown tourist area, but the trolley stops across the road at the Sheraton and it only costs $1. Rooms are clean and beds are comfortable, all you need for a pleasant stay.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Steven J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrowneDOS, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for the review of your recent stay. We’re glad that you stay was enjoyable and hope you will choose to stay with us again.

Kind Regards,

Helen Nelson, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights and would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone staying in Memphis. The staff were extremely friendly and offered helpful tips on things to see and do in memphis (also on good restaurants). The hotel itself was a little away from Beale st (about a 10-15 minute walk), but the hotel offered a free shuttle service and was also a minute walk away from the trolley line which took you down main st ($1 per ride).

Breakfast was not included, but reasonably priced for a decent selection. Gina from the hotel restaurant was great company, and made us feel very welcome and at home. A special thanks to our "Cousin Gina" who gave me a container of honey and lemon for our road trip along with some home remedies to soothe my sore throat.

All round, a great place to stay, with amazing staff and service.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jessica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrowneDOS, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Wow, thank you for your kind comments. It sounds like you had such a great trip and we are glad that we were a part of it. Thank you for recognizing the extra mile that ‘cousin Gina’ took to make sure you felt at home, we will in turn recognize her for this great service. We hope you will come and visit us again soon.

Kind Regards,

Helen Nelson, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We open for Steely Dan and this is the most memorable experience that I've had since I've been on the road. This is the best time I have had and I want to bring my family here. The employees are the best that I've ever experienced. Sharon, Gwendolyn, Kenneth, Tom (the cook) and Tongela were awesome employees. The shuttle driver Reginald is my man. Awesome, awesome service from each of these guys. I love, love love this place and I love these guys. What an awesome attribute to Crowne Plaza and the City of Memphis.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregory R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrowneDOS, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for such an outstanding review of your recent stay. We certainly strive to offer the best service and clearly several of our team members were able to demonstrate this during your stay. Thank you so much for sharing your awesome feedback. We cannot wait until you visit us again.

Kind Regards,

Helen Nelson, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Location was good for the trolley once we learned that we needed to walk thru the Marriot to get to the Crown Plaza from the trolley..very clean...pleasant & friendly staff/employees...the complimentary shuttle was also helpful to us, although tipping was "sort of" expected with each use...only disappointment was that there was no continental breakfast & what they did offer in the restaurant was not that desireable...glass of wine quite expensive w/ dinner....would definitely go back again...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zilli07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrowneDOS, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for the great review. We are glad that you found our location convenient and enjoyed the service from our excellent team members. We will pass on your comments to the restaurant so that improvements can be considered. We look forward to welcoming you back to Memphis.
Kind Regards,

Helen Nelson, Crowne Plaza Memphis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Spent 14 days and nights at this Hotel the week after Elvis Week, so you would have expected the service to be in slow mode after the previous busy week. Not so. The service was just as good as ever. The bed was comfortable and made every day and when we changed the way the bed was made to suit ourselves, the room service remade the bed that way every day. The staff were friendly and the Chefs Tom and Anrthony cooked some pretty spectacular meals such as steak to die for, full rack of ribs that were brillaint but far too much for one person to eat, needlessw to say I ate the lot as it would be rude not too. After we had a fire scare at Heart Break Hotel and checked out as a result, we came straight back to Crowne Plaza to finish our 30th Wedding Anniversary with a great nights sleep and it meant that we continued our holiday to Memphis without any hesitation. Crowne Plaza in Memphis gave us a great base for our holiday and the only single thing that spoilt the Hotel as a place to stay is the extremely high parking charge at $17.00 a day or in our case a final charge of $238 as we left the accommodation. However I have to say that being on holiday is not all about the money and as we were just leaving and had fully expected the charge we still finished our holiday on a high. Well done to everyone at the Crowne Plaza Downtown Memphis. The room was clean, the daily room service was an excellent standard and even the noise in the corridors from our neighbours didn't amount to much. Thank you so much for making our stay so good.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 319, could hear the traffic from the state highway but we still slept like logs al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrowneDOS, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Wow, thank you for the 5-star review. We are so glad that we were such a big part of your special holiday. Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Memphis for your stay. We have enjoyed sharing all your comments and feedback with our staff. Please come back to Memphis to visit us again.
Kind Regards,

Helen Nelson, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#6 of 136 in Memphis
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown
1.0 mi away
The Westin Memphis Beale Street
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown

Property: Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown
Address: 300 N 2nd St, Memphis, TN 38105-2614 (Formerly Wyndham Garden Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of historical Memphis traditions at the fully renovated Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown. Fresh from a multi- million dollar renovation, no detail has been overlooked. Our hotel is within minutes of famed Barbeque and Blues. Perfectly situated between the Memphis Cook Convention Center and Beale Street, the newly renovated Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown is the ideal location for those in town for business and pleasure. A wonderful compliment to the Memphis city vibe, the updated features bring the excitement of the street right into the lobby of our hotel. Every detail about this distinct hotel has you in mind. Spacious, modern guest rooms with unbeatable views of the Memphis skyline, or St. Jude's Campus and Bass Pro Shop at the famed Pyramid. Our rooms offer efficient, user friendly workspace, free Wi-Fi, as well as refrigerators and in-room safes. A top of the line, exercise facility equipped to meet the most demanding personal workout regimen. Enjoy socializing with colleagues and friends in a newly designed public area that provides quiet seclusion or a multitude of entertainment options to suit every wish, including the newly added Blues Patio fully equipped with cooling mist and fans. Enjoy a bite or a libation in our famous Notes and Provisions. Be sure to say hello to the local mixologist! Don't forget to visit the in-house St. Jude's art gallery and see how miracles happen. As a partner with St. Jude's Research Hospital we have the distinct privilege of supporting them and the pleasure of witnessing the difference it makes. Now you can as well. "Success has nothing to do with what you gain in life or accomplish for yourself. It's what you do for others." - St. Jude Founder Danny Thomas Whatever the reason is for your visit, you'll experience a new and better way of hospitality at the Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, IHG, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Memphis
Memphis Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing