We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel and good spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown
Ranked #22 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Thats what it is. Nice hotel with good features and a central location to do a kind of activities from. There are better hotels in Memphis but then again they probably are more expensive. Good parking lot (paid) and we got lucky being here during Elvis Week 2013. So tonns of lookalikes in the hotel hahaha

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TomWildenburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrowneDOS, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit to Memphis and seeing many of our Elvis Week fans and impersonators. We hope you will return for another visit to Memphis.

Kind Regards,

Helen Nelson, Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,274)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

795 - 801 of 1,274 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2013

This hotel has a good staff , very good and helpful shuttle drivers,, Harry, Cleo, and Reginald. Also breakfast server Temeria. I felt like I was among friends and felt comfortable. My wife was very pleased with the service also.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Henry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrowneDOS, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Thank you for the 5-Star review and for recognizing our fabulous team members! We appreciate your great feedback and hope that you will stay with us again on your next visit to Memphis.

Kind Regards,

Helen Nelson, Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Sharon Mims down at the bar in the lobby was awesome! Great service and hospitality. Sharon was polite, timely and professional. She made the fact that the rooms weren't exceptional worth staying at the Crowne Plaza. The Buffalo Chicken Macaroni and Cheese was phenomenal.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crristee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrowneDOS, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Thank you for the outstanding comments regarding our team member! We appreciate your feedback and will share it with our team.
Kind Regards,

Helen Nelson, Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed here one night whilst on a tour of the Southern states.
The room was clean & the bathroom well furnished.
We walked across the road to the Marriott, passing through their lobby to catch the trolley bus to Beale Street.
Overall comfortable, but no special touches.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank techie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrowneDOS, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

We appreciate your review and are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Our guests comfort and happiness is most important to us and we hope to be able to wow you on your next visit to Memphis.

Kind Regards,

Helen Nelson, Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has good staff, a lovely shuttle driver who will take you to town for a $1 tip, and is overall comfortable. Downsides were only 2 lifts and when one was broken for our stay it was pretty poor. In the fitness center they have removed roof tiles so you can run on the treadmill without hitting your head. Bit poor really so it stinks of ceiling smell. The ladder and also the handrail to get into the pool are broken as well which isn't good. Easy to get the trolley or a shuttle to town and Reginald was a lovely driver. Overall the staff are very nice here. There are a few homeless and dodgy ppl who hang outside the hotel at times so I'd recommend not walking. The trolley is located on the other side of the Marriott hotel across the road. Just walk through the Marriott foyer to get there. Further toward town on the same road as the trolley you'll find nice restaurants unlike the grubby places on Beale.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roonbeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrowneDOS, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments regarding our staff. Please accept our apologies for any inconveniences during your stay. We will make sure the mentioned items are addressed. We hope that you will return to the Crowne Plaza on your next visit to Memphis.

Kind Regards,

Helen Nelson, Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the Crowne Plaza. The rooms were nice and clean, parking was secure. The 2nd night there were drinks and appetizers at the bar from 5-7PM, a nice start before heading down to Beale St. We used the pool, it was refreshing as it was quite humid. The property is several blocks from Beale St but the hotel offers a free shuttle service until 11PM after that cabs are available. We even used the shuttle to go to breakfast one morning. Overall, this was a great place to stay for our two nights in Memphis. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PPMJAY09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrowneDOS, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Thank you for the great review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Crowne Plaza Memphis and were able to take advantage of our shuttle service and pool. We look forward to welcoming you back for another stay.

Kind Regards,

Helen Nelson, Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

My business partner and I were making our way home after a long business trip and having stayed two nights in the worst hotel I have ever been in (Legacy in Little Rock) we were almost scared as priceline.com pointed us to the Crown Plaza in Memphis. Funny how much you appreciate something nice when you have something awful as a reference point.

The Crown Plaza was amazing. The location was not as close to the excitement of Beale as some other hotels (a few blocks away) but the value was unbeatable. For $79 we got amazingly comfortable beds, a super clean room and, with the exception of the desk clerk when we checked in, an amazing staff. We both slept the best we had our entire trip and awoke rested and ready for the 6 hour drive home.

If you are in Memphis and want value do try the Crown Plaza.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heisrisen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrowneDOS, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay. We are glad that your expectations were exceeded during your stay and hope you will stay with us if you return to Memphis.

Kind Regards,

Helen Nelson, Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#6 of 138 in Memphis
949 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
1.0 mi away
The Westin Memphis Beale Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown

Address: 300 N 2nd St, Memphis, TN 38105-2614 (Formerly Wyndham Garden Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Price Range: $112 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of historical Memphis traditions at the fully renovated Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown. Fresh from a multi- million dollar renovation, no detail has been overlooked. Our hotel is within minutes of famed Barbeque and Blues. Perfectly situated between the Memphis Cook Convention Center and Beale Street, the newly renovated Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown is the ideal location for those in town for business and pleasure. A wonderful compliment to the Memphis city vibe, the updated features bring the excitement of the street right into the lobby of our hotel. Every detail about this distinct hotel has you in mind. Spacious, modern guest rooms with unbeatable views of the Memphis skyline, or St. Jude's Campus and Bass Pro Shop at the famed Pyramid. Our rooms offer efficient, user friendly workspace, free Wi-Fi, as well as refrigerators and in-room safes. A top of the line, exercise facility equipped to meet the most demanding personal workout regimen. Enjoy socializing with colleagues and friends in a newly designed public area that provides quiet seclusion or a multitude of entertainment options to suit every wish, including the newly added Blues Patio fully equipped with cooling mist and fans. Enjoy a bite or a libation in our famous Notes and Provisions. Be sure to say hello to the local mixologist! Don't forget to visit the in-house St. Jude's art gallery and see how miracles happen. As a partner with St. Jude's Research Hospital we have the distinct privilege of supporting them and the pleasure of witnessing the difference it makes. Now you can as well. "Success has nothing to do with what you gain in life or accomplish for yourself. It's what you do for others." - St. Jude Founder Danny Thomas Whatever the reason is for your visit, you'll experience a new and better way of hospitality at the Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, IHG, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Memphis
Memphis Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing