We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown
Ranked #28 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Wilder, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings...”
Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for a conference she was attending at St.Jude. The room itself was very nice with a skyline view if the city. We actually received an upgrade! Parking or valet is a little steeply priced but worth it. The restaurant/bar area wasn't as good as we had hoped. The food was a little blah tasting and way over-priced. The hotel provided a shuttle to the areas downtown and surrounding areas but the drivers, at times, seemed to be bothered by doing their jobs. Overall the experience was okay. If you're looking for a place close to downtown there are other places that are closer to Beale Street

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Dan And-Natalie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrowneDOS, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed the upgraded room with a great view of downtown Memphis. We appreciate your feedback so that we may continue to improve our services. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you in the future.

Kind Regards,

H. Nelson, Director of Sales
Crowne Plaza Memphis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    363
    302
    122
    81
See reviews for
250
419
47
198
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
214 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

I visited here recently on business. I said that this review is painful to write, because the staff at the hotel, down to the last person, was excellent, from the greeting and check-in process on arrival, to the waitstaff in the restaurant (good food too), to the maid who greeted me so warmly each day in the hallway.

The downside was that the building is in a sad state of repair. I noticed chips and scratches in the hallways, the elevator, and the tub. One of the outlets didn't work and the television didn't turn on. The rugs were worn out and there was a great brown stain outside one elevator door.

The state of disrepair is emphasized by the color scheme, dark moody browns and greens from a 60s hospital, only not as cheery.

The clincher was an unfortunate sight in the men's room outside the fitness center on the top floor. Someone had trashed it, leaving behind an overturned trash bin, a half-empty coffee cup, and an item that given how much I liked the staff I don't feel right about mentioning specifically, but left me absolutely disgusted.

Please fix a few of these things, not even all of them, and you will have an outstanding hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Booha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrowneDOS, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for all your feedback regarding your stay, both positive and negative. We appreciate your kind comments regarding our excellent staff. We apologize that other aspects of your stay were not so enjoyable. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you, as we do have some upgrades planned for the near future that may please you.

Kind Regards,

H. Nelson, Director of Sales
Crowne Plaza Memphis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Memphis hotels

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
161 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

I stayed at the Crown Plaza Hotel this past weekend. My experience there was great. Everyone was so friendly and helpful. We were greeted with smiles from everyone there.

I had been to Memphis before and was concerned that the hotel was a bit further away from Beale than I wanted. The hotel has a free shuttle that runs until midnight each weekend. It was much more convenient than taking a cab. Reginald the driver was great. He provides you with his phone number and will pick you up at a designated area. How more convenient can that be?

The rooms were very comfortable. Everything was very clean and up to date. There are a few little nicks on the wall or a slight crack on the sink, but none of that prevented me from having a perfect stay. If something like that will ruin your stay... stay home.

Parking is available for $18.00 per day and you can take the car in and out. There is also valet available which we did not use. The lot is secured and only hotel guests can use it.

This hotel was over $100 per night less than the Hampton Inn, Double Tree or The Peabody. I will stay here again every time I come to Memphis.

Thank to the staff on hand for being so fantastic!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizzzg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrowneDOS, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your great feedback and comments and look forward to you staying with us again on your next visit to Memphis.

Kind Regards,

H. Nelson, Director of Sales
Crowne Plaza Memphis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
1 review
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Our stay was outstanding. We stay at this hotel due to the convenience to the FexForum and down town awhile attending the Lakers and Grizzlies game. The service we received was excellent. We used the shuttle van that was offered by the hotel. Terry and Love both provided wonderful service. Tamekia and Tomgela made sure that we had everything we needed during our stay. They also offered suggestions on places to eat and see while we were downtown. Yes, we will stay at this hotel again on our next visit. A BIG THANK YOU TO ALL THE STAFF.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrowneDOS, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review. We are so glad that you had a great time staying with us while visiting for the Grizzlies game. We certainly appreciate your great comments regarding our team members and look forward to you staying with us again.

Kind Regards,

H. Nelson, Director of Sales
Crowne Plaza Memphis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, UK
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

When we decided to stay here we were looking somewhere easily accessible to downtown, comfortable, but not a ridiculous price. It worked out even better than expected. The hotel is a bit far to walk downtown, but the free shuttle they provided worked out very well, with exceptionally helpful and friendly drivers. The parking wasn't that cheap, but compared well enough in price with the other downtown hotels, and access to the car and from the hotel to the Interstate was very easy. The room was very comfortable, free wifi very useful, breakfast ok. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The only reason why I haven't rated it as excellent is that the decor in the room and corridor was rather gloomy, and the lighting in the room not bright enough to tell whether I was putting on blue or black trousers!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BABA2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrowneDOS, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for the review of your recent stay. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and had a good time in Memphis. Our shuttle drivers are very friendly and knowledgeable about the City and we are glad that you enjoyed the service they provide. We appreciate your comments regarding the décor and hope that you will visit us again after we have refreshed the hotel this year.

Kind Regards,

H. Nelson, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I stayed there 2 nights and got very nasty bedbug bites. There were at least 20 bites and they itch like HELL! Do.....................................................NOT stay at this place.

The breakfast is average and they put me in a room facing the freeway and it was so noisy that I had to change the room. Then bedbug bite.

Now I have to trash all of my business clothes and clean everything several times so I am not taking it home with me. Anyway, what a nightmare....

Room Tip: Avoid at all cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Xiao G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrowneDOS, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
We appreciate your review and are disheartened by your experience, pain and suffering. We certainly appreciate you bringing matters to our attention so that they can be addressed. We take such matters very seriously and immediately followed precautionary procedures and took the room out of inventory for professional inspection. Our management immediately contacted a pest control company for the room to be inspected. The appropriate action is taken from there once the report is complete. Please contact our hotel directly for additional questions and concerns at 901-525-1800.

H. Nelson, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Outstanding! I checked into the hotel late in the evening and was greeted by a friendly staff that laughed and joke and had fun. The stay was fabulous and the room was excellent! The bathroom was clean, the bed was conformable and I slept like a baby. My room was on the South side of the building and I had excellent views of the skyline at night! It was absolutely beautify! I had a great time and I cannot wait to visit again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charles e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrowneDOS, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for your great review. It sounds like you had a great time with us at the Crowne Plaza Memphis. We are happy that you enjoyed your visit and look forward to having you stay with us again.

Kind Regards,

H. Nelson, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#6 of 136 in Memphis
896 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown
1.0 mi away
The Westin Memphis Beale Street
0.5 mi away
Sleep Inn at Court Square
Sleep Inn at Court Square
#13 of 136 in Memphis
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown

Property: Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown
Address: 300 N 2nd St, Memphis, TN 38105-2614 (Formerly Wyndham Garden Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of historical Memphis traditions at the fully renovated Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown. Fresh from a multi- million dollar renovation, no detail has been overlooked. Our hotel is within minutes of famed Barbeque and Blues. Perfectly situated between the Memphis Cook Convention Center and Beale Street, the newly renovated Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown is the ideal location for those in town for business and pleasure. A wonderful compliment to the Memphis city vibe, the updated features bring the excitement of the street right into the lobby of our hotel. Every detail about this distinct hotel has you in mind. Spacious, modern guest rooms with unbeatable views of the Memphis skyline, or St. Jude's Campus and Bass Pro Shop at the famed Pyramid. Our rooms offer efficient, user friendly workspace, free Wi-Fi, as well as refrigerators and in-room safes. A top of the line, exercise facility equipped to meet the most demanding personal workout regimen. Enjoy socializing with colleagues and friends in a newly designed public area that provides quiet seclusion or a multitude of entertainment options to suit every wish, including the newly added Blues Patio fully equipped with cooling mist and fans. Enjoy a bite or a libation in our famous Notes and Provisions. Be sure to say hello to the local mixologist! Don't forget to visit the in-house St. Jude's art gallery and see how miracles happen. As a partner with St. Jude's Research Hospital we have the distinct privilege of supporting them and the pleasure of witnessing the difference it makes. Now you can as well. "Success has nothing to do with what you gain in life or accomplish for yourself. It's what you do for others." - St. Jude Founder Danny Thomas Whatever the reason is for your visit, you'll experience a new and better way of hospitality at the Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Memphis
Memphis Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing