We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nasty BedBug bites”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown
Ranked #26 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Germantown, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nasty BedBug bites”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I stayed there 2 nights and got very nasty bedbug bites. There were at least 20 bites and they itch like HELL! Do.....................................................NOT stay at this place.

The breakfast is average and they put me in a room facing the freeway and it was so noisy that I had to change the room. Then bedbug bite.

Now I have to trash all of my business clothes and clean everything several times so I am not taking it home with me. Anyway, what a nightmare....

Room Tip: Avoid at all cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Xiao G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrowneDOS, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
We appreciate your review and are disheartened by your experience, pain and suffering. We certainly appreciate you bringing matters to our attention so that they can be addressed. We take such matters very seriously and immediately followed precautionary procedures and took the room out of inventory for professional inspection. Our management immediately contacted a pest control company for the room to be inspected. The appropriate action is taken from there once the report is complete. Please contact our hotel directly for additional questions and concerns at 901-525-1800.

H. Nelson, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    363
    302
    122
    81
See reviews for
250
419
47
198
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Outstanding! I checked into the hotel late in the evening and was greeted by a friendly staff that laughed and joke and had fun. The stay was fabulous and the room was excellent! The bathroom was clean, the bed was conformable and I slept like a baby. My room was on the South side of the building and I had excellent views of the skyline at night! It was absolutely beautify! I had a great time and I cannot wait to visit again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charles e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrowneDOS, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for your great review. It sounds like you had a great time with us at the Crowne Plaza Memphis. We are happy that you enjoyed your visit and look forward to having you stay with us again.

Kind Regards,

H. Nelson, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dresden, Tennessee
Level Contributor
187 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Room was fine. Bathroom was fine just small. Comfy bed! Price is lower than most in the downtown area. They really need to offer an affordable breakfast option - after all you pay for the room, pay to park then pay $10 for continental breakfast! Gimme a break. Found a dirty glass on the bottom shelf in the bathroom when I was packing up. Staff was very friendly!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank blgraves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrowneDOS, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. We appreciate that you recognized our friendly staff and thank you for staying with us during your visit to Memphis. We hope that we will be able to exceed your expectations on your next visit.

Kind Regards,

H. Nelson, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigShirley11
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We were really nervous after booking this hotel through Priceline and found numerous negative reviews on tripadvisor, but we had nothing to worry about. The room was clean and nice, the beds were comfortable and the pillows were fluffy not flat as per another review. Our room had a huge window with a view of the pool, the church across the street and the city. I loved the location. It s close to everything. The staff were very nice and the service all around the hotel was gracious. The restaurant was not one I would reccommend. The service is slow and the food is only o.k. There are so many other places in Memphis to eat that this is not a problem. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room on the side facing the pool, the rooms on the other side face the highway and are not as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigShirley11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrowneDOS, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Wow! Thank you for the great review. We appreciate you giving us the opportunity to exceed your expectations and service you. We certainly look forward to you staying with us again on your next visit to Memphis.

Kind Regards,

H. Nelson, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 3, 2013

The staff went out of their way to make me feel welcome particularly Darryl Hulon and Tongella. The hotel was very busy on the weekend that I* stayed but at no point did I feel that I was being left to one side. The hotel itself is in a good location - ideal for a trolley ride downtown to all of the usual attractions, although the hotel provides a shuttle service if you prefer.

There are othr hotels in the area but when I return to Memphis, this is where I will stay.

Room Tip: Be polite at the desk and just ask for help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tom a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrowneDOS, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review of the Crowne Plaza Memphis. We appreciate you taking the time to recognize our great staff. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and your time in Memphis. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you again.
Kind Regards,

H. Nelson, Director of Sales

Crowne Plaza Memphis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

The staff are fantastic each and everyone one of them. Very helpfull in every way possible.
Unfortunately the rooms and the looks of the photoes are nothing as shown.
The beds are very small for a double bed, the room just made me depressed
Check out at 11:00am and we got a knock on our door at 9:00 to see if we were leaving. Grrr.
The foyer could do with a pick me up.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caterina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrowneDOS, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Hello and thank you for your recent review. Thank you for your great compliments on the service of our amazing staff. WE are disappointed that our accommodations did not meet your expectations. We will be doing some room upgrades this year, so I hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you.
Kind Regards,

H. Nelson, Director of Sales
Crowne Plaza Memphis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney, australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here, it was clean, tidy and spacious too and the adjoining rooms were great as we had a group. The gym was awesome and had alot of good equipment.
The free shuttle into Beale street or the city was a great added feature for in the colder months but otherwise the tram accross the street was also good to have.

The front desk staff were overly friendly but all the other staff were great (Michael and Harry from concierge), and restaurant staff Marilyn (Ode-May Brown/ Whoopi) were just a hoot and real southern hospitality, personality and humour which we all just loved!

The free hot chocolate and popcorn in the foyer was just an added bonus to smell and have everyday too!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hollywoodchookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrowneDOS, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown. We are so glad you enjoyed all our amenities and location. We appreciate your kind comments regarding our great staff and appreciate you recognizing them individually. We will pass on your great feedback. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you on your next visit to Memphis.

Kind Regards,

H. Nelson, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#8 of 136 in Memphis
894 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown
1.0 mi away
The Westin Memphis Beale Street
0.5 mi away
Sleep Inn at Court Square
Sleep Inn at Court Square
#12 of 136 in Memphis
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown

Property: Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown
Address: 300 N 2nd St, Memphis, TN 38105-2614 (Formerly Wyndham Garden Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of historical Memphis traditions at the fully renovated Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown. Fresh from a multi- million dollar renovation, no detail has been overlooked. Our hotel is within minutes of famed Barbeque and Blues. Perfectly situated between the Memphis Cook Convention Center and Beale Street, the newly renovated Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown is the ideal location for those in town for business and pleasure. A wonderful compliment to the Memphis city vibe, the updated features bring the excitement of the street right into the lobby of our hotel. Every detail about this distinct hotel has you in mind. Spacious, modern guest rooms with unbeatable views of the Memphis skyline, or St. Jude's Campus and Bass Pro Shop at the famed Pyramid. Our rooms offer efficient, user friendly workspace, free Wi-Fi, as well as refrigerators and in-room safes. A top of the line, exercise facility equipped to meet the most demanding personal workout regimen. Enjoy socializing with colleagues and friends in a newly designed public area that provides quiet seclusion or a multitude of entertainment options to suit every wish, including the newly added Blues Patio fully equipped with cooling mist and fans. Enjoy a bite or a libation in our famous Notes and Provisions. Be sure to say hello to the local mixologist! Don't forget to visit the in-house St. Jude's art gallery and see how miracles happen. As a partner with St. Jude's Research Hospital we have the distinct privilege of supporting them and the pleasure of witnessing the difference it makes. Now you can as well. "Success has nothing to do with what you gain in life or accomplish for yourself. It's what you do for others." - St. Jude Founder Danny Thomas Whatever the reason is for your visit, you'll experience a new and better way of hospitality at the Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Memphis
Memphis Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing