We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Safe”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown
Ranked #27 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
THORNHURST, PA
1 review
“Not Safe”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

For the meeting room: poor air conditioning , constantly renaming and begging for things that were needed and already agreed upon. Simple things like pitchers of ice water. In the individual rooms, it was a waiting game for fresh towels and in some cases even toilet paper. One member was told that they could not use the stairway without prior authorization because it would set off some alarm. There are no security cameras. One member’s wife was robbed while she was in her room using the bathroom. Restuarant on site is expensive.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DEBBIE O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrowneDOS, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
We certainly apologize that you did not feel safe at our hotel. We do have Management and security present in the evenings to keep our guests as safe and secure as possible. As a general rule when travelling it is advised for guests to follow the American Hotel & Lodging Guest Safety Tips.
Our staff provided everything contracted for the hospitality room which was ice and water daily and the event contact provided a very satisfied response to our meeting survey regarding the events. We certainly strive on the efficiency of our team members, and apologize if anyone was inconvenienced, and hope that we have another opportunity to serve you again.

Kind Regards,

Director of Sales, Crowne Plaza Memphis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    363
    302
    122
    81
See reviews for
250
419
47
198
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Crystal Lake, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

My wife and I stayed here on 10/12. Darryl (sp?) at the front desk was great as was anyone else I ran into. The room was another matter. Yes, our room faced the highway but sleeping was not a problem, until the construction crew started work at 7:00AM but the hotel can't control that. The sink was cracked, no big deal. The shower head, although very nice, did not seem anchored to anything in the wall, no big deal. There was no light on the night stand next to the bed, unusual, but no big deal. Ice machine on our floor (10th) didn't work. Had to run down to the 9th, again, not a big deal. The shuttle to Beale St. was nice and the young valet chatted us up while we waited. He was well spoken and knowledgeable about his town. So overall, it was ok and by the time we take our next trip to Memphis I'm sure everything will be "up to snuff." We would stay there again.

Room Tip: rooms with odd numbers face the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank galarneault315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrowneDOS, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review on your recent stay. Thank you for recognizing our great team and that even with a few challenges you enjoyed your stay with us and will be returning. We appreciate your understanding and hope that you had a chance to report the issues in your guest room so that we can correct them. If you did not have this opportunity please email us at sbook@cphotelmemphis.com so that we can make the necessary changes.
We do look forward to your next stay so that you can enjoy a true Crowne Plaza experience.

Kind Regards,

Director of Sales, Crowne Plaza Memphis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taft, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 17, 2012

I am really upset that so many had such bad things to say about MINOR issues! I stayed here from Sept 30th until my surgery Oct 10th and let me tell you, I have never felt more welcomed, more safe, and more cared about in my life on any trip. Being alone my first week, I was SOOOO grateful for Michael out front with AAA parking! Let me tell you, he not only told me where and when to go to get or see whatever, but even suggested safer areas and said Id best be back early or he would worry about me! He is definitely a gem for this hotel and do not let this guy go! I appreciated my stay so much in fact that I left a thank you card for both the hotel staff as well as a gift for Mr Michael and his family!
You know, I was in Memphis to donate a kidney to save my brothers life, and honestly, alot of people on here with negativity need to open their eyes to real life problems!
I will be back to see you Crowne Plaza, for sure!

Room Tip: I stayed on the 7th floor and even though I was on traffic side, with tv on low, I didnt hear a thin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandrawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrowneDOS, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you so much for your great review. We are so glad that we were able to make you feel at home during such a trying and courageous time in your life. We have passed on your kind comments to our hotel staff and AAA Parking staff as it is always great to hear such great recognition. We hope you will have the opportunity to stay with us again.
Kind Regards,

Director of Sales, Crowne Plaza Memphis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 13, 2012

The worst 2 hotel nights in my life...Crowne Plaza in Memphis is very, very, very, very noisy. Room was at second floor, jus in front of a very noisy highway, just over parking and just over a very noisy wind tunnel. Impossible to sleep ! Second night, at 51/4 AM, a truck emptying was working with more noise, under just under room windows ! If you want to sleep, you must go in other place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fran_oise_T_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrowneDOS, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for telling us about your stay. We apologize that you were not able to get a great night's sleep based on the location of your room. I hope that you gave us the opportunity to offer a room change to accommodate this problem. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you and that we will be able to offer a room on a higher floor next time. We appreciate your feedback.
Kind Regards,

Director of Sales, Crowne Plaza Memphis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Memphis hotels

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Superior Service! Average looking lobby, but again great customer service. When we checked into our first room we immediately detected a strong moldy odor coming from the bathroom. I believe it's due to lack of fans in the bathroom. We were immediately given a different room which was good at that point. In the morning we noticed that we had visitors in our room, ANTS!. We were on the 10th floor and no food in the room. Parking was an extra $15/night . Only reason this hotel is average and not poor is because of the great employees.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JACEK L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrowneDOS, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
We appreciate the feedback from your recent stay. We apologize that you experienced some challenges with your guest room and appreciate you bring them to our attention so that they can be addressed. We are glad that in spite of your inconveniences our employees were able to provide great customer service and rectify the matters. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again, as this is not our standard.

Kind Regards,

Director of Sales, Crowne Plaza Memphis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manteca, California
Level Contributor
401 reviews
165 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

WE stayed here because I wanted to stay downtown close to Beale Street. This was very convinient because they have a trolly that is close that runs to downtown. It was perfect for us. The room was nice. No Microwave, which we missed, but they have a resturant downstairs. We didn[t eat there. They charge for parking, but the parking is secure and it was worth it. They have gates that you need a key to get in and out. If you want to stay close to downtown, stay here. I did our rate on Priceline.com.. So we had a good rate for the area..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrowneDOS, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for your great review. We are glad you enjoyed your visit to our downtown hotel. We look forward to the opportunity to service you again.

Kind Regards,

Director of Sales, Crowne Plaza Memphis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I'm not sure where all the negative reviews came from because we just got back from an anniversary getaway and I cannot compliment the facility and staff enough. From check-in with the night manager, Darryl, to the bartender Kenneth, the night server, Marilyn, the omelet chef, Roy to Reginald the shuttle service driver, Michael the valet attendant to the housekeepers and remainder staff we had nothing less than an EXCELLENT experience. I would, and am, recommending this facility to anyone planning a trip to Memphis. Thank you all for a wonderful experience. You all need to be commended for a job well done!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMF1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrowneDOS, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Wow, thank you for recognizing our team members! We are very excited that you enjoyed your stay and make a connection with so many of our staff. Congratulations on your anniversary – we hope that you will return again next year.

Kind Regards,

Director of Sales, Crowne Plaza Memphis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#6 of 136 in Memphis
896 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown
1.0 mi away
The Westin Memphis Beale Street
0.5 mi away
Sleep Inn at Court Square
Sleep Inn at Court Square
#12 of 136 in Memphis
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown

Property: Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown
Address: 300 N 2nd St, Memphis, TN 38105-2614 (Formerly Wyndham Garden Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of historical Memphis traditions at the fully renovated Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown. Fresh from a multi- million dollar renovation, no detail has been overlooked. Our hotel is within minutes of famed Barbeque and Blues. Perfectly situated between the Memphis Cook Convention Center and Beale Street, the newly renovated Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown is the ideal location for those in town for business and pleasure. A wonderful compliment to the Memphis city vibe, the updated features bring the excitement of the street right into the lobby of our hotel. Every detail about this distinct hotel has you in mind. Spacious, modern guest rooms with unbeatable views of the Memphis skyline, or St. Jude's Campus and Bass Pro Shop at the famed Pyramid. Our rooms offer efficient, user friendly workspace, free Wi-Fi, as well as refrigerators and in-room safes. A top of the line, exercise facility equipped to meet the most demanding personal workout regimen. Enjoy socializing with colleagues and friends in a newly designed public area that provides quiet seclusion or a multitude of entertainment options to suit every wish, including the newly added Blues Patio fully equipped with cooling mist and fans. Enjoy a bite or a libation in our famous Notes and Provisions. Be sure to say hello to the local mixologist! Don't forget to visit the in-house St. Jude's art gallery and see how miracles happen. As a partner with St. Jude's Research Hospital we have the distinct privilege of supporting them and the pleasure of witnessing the difference it makes. Now you can as well. "Success has nothing to do with what you gain in life or accomplish for yourself. It's what you do for others." - St. Jude Founder Danny Thomas Whatever the reason is for your visit, you'll experience a new and better way of hospitality at the Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Memphis
Memphis Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing