We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice manager and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Memphis
Ranked #58 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Reviewed June 8, 2012

This hotel has some of the nicest, most helpful employees I've ever encountered. The room was comfortable and the Wi-Fi worked flawlessly the entire time I was there. The downside though is that the building sits right by the interstate. I could hear cars and sirens all night long as my room faced the highway. I could also hear the people upstairs walking around and banging doors. Also, my room was not as clean as I expect. There was a thin ring of black mildew around the grab bar in the shower. I did not use the breakfast or the pool, so I can't comment on those facilities. The coffee was pretty good though. All in all, I would probably stay at this property again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 3rd floor on the back side of the hotel - away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ron h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (216)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 216 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2012

Old hotel. Drive up to the rear of the hotel instead of the front, waited at the front desk to check in while the clerk was outside finishing her smoke. Lobby smells like chlorine from the indoor pool. The carpeting is old and loose in the hallways. The bed was very uncomfortable and the room had a musty odor. In the bathroom, mold was visible on the ceiling. Sofa bed was old and torn. The only reason I stayed after check in was because everywhere was booked--I called around just to make sure.

You can tell that some remodeling as been done but this needs a demo and rebuild.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank excursion_2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FFMemGM, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Memphis, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2012

I apologize that the guest was unhappy with so many aspects of his stay. We strive to ensure that every guest has a positive and comfortable experience at our property. We receive many comments due to the positioning of our hotel. The empty parking lot that you initially pull into does not belong to us and you do, indeed, have to pull around to the front of the building to gain entrance. This is beyond our control but our actual parking lot is well-lit and secure. A church just purchased the empty building next door so I am sure that they will become responsible for maintaining the lighting in their new lot. As far as the condition of the furnishings, we do have older furniture in the rooms but we work hard to maintain a standard of cleanliness. The front desk associate was outside on a smoke break when the guest arrived but I looked at the front desk camera and saw her walk in right behind him. However, I do understand if his initial impression had soured his perspective on everything else at the property. We appreciate all feedback and promise to use it to improve service in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

This hotel is older. It is oddly located with a huge empty parking lot in front of it. The decor has been recently updated and the layout of the suite I was in was great! In the living room area there was a couch, TV, and even a stereo, which was a nice touch since I'd rather listen to music than watch TV. The age really showed in the bathroom (small) and closet (it had a wooden door that was off the track, and the doorknob kept falling off). The room also had a musty smell. The hotel was doing some upgrades while I was there. A new AC unit was installed right as I checked in and the carpet was cleaned the morning of the second day. (There was a tag left on my door warning me about the carpet being wet.....which I found to be inconvenient.) The staff were all helpful and friendly. This is not a place to stay for pleasure but it works for a quick in and out of town.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thesportsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2012

Decent staff, few services, property getting a bit long in the tooth, and nothing attractive/special about the property (to the rear is a massive, sprawling, un-unsed parking lot, to the front is I-40). For a roadside stop driving cross-country it does the job. I noticed that this is where older Courtyard furniture seemed to land to live out its final useful days. However for nearly $100/night, find a Motel 6 - aside from a wanna-be breakfast and small indoor pool, there's not much difference. The value just wasn't there.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank easystreets1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oconnorjo, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Memphis, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2012

We appreciate your comments regarding the Fairfield Inn Memphis. We will use this to help improve our facility.

Regards,

John OConnor
Regional VP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

The hotel recognized platinum members, with a free snack, water and points. All requests were granted. Breakfast had a good selection to choose from. Waffles, hard boiled eggs, muffins, selections of breads for toast and english muffins. They also had great selections for cold cereal, granola and hot oatmeal. The cooler had milk, egg sandwiches, corn dogs, mixed fruit and grapefruit. Coffee and juice. The area for breakfast is too small, people kept getting in each others space.

The room needs updated, you can tell it is off an interstate.

Hotel staff, friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank intime011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

Spent one night here on a trip from Missouri to Florida and I'm glad we did. Rolled in around 8:30 without a reservation and Phyllis at the front desk was very pleasant and got us a suite for a great price! Yes, the property is in the back of an abandoned parking lot, but for me it created just the right amount of separation necessary to provide for a quiet night's sleep. Our room was clean and plenty roomy enough. We didn't stick around for the breakfast, but for what we needed (comfy bed in a clean room at a fair price) it was just perfect!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back side of the hotel, away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Stayed here Jan 2012 - booked with priceline (52 east memphis). Not a terrible place but not what I would expect from a Marriot chain. Check in was no problem, less than 2 minutes. Room was very small, even with only 1 bed. I can't imagine what a 2-bed room would look like, probably incredibly crammed. The bathroom was a decent size though. The bed was comfy and I slept well. But try to get a room on the backside of the hotel. It was confusing when I entered the parking lot - which is enormous (I think an outlet mall used to be located here and was torn down) and as you enter the parking lot you see the back side of the hotel. There wasn't a single car and I was concerned it might be closed, but as you pull around to the other side of the building you see the front - facing the interstate. There are gigantic flood lights in the parking lot in front of the building right in front of the windows. The room was actually brighter with the lights off at night. It took some crafty furniture placement to pin the drapes shut to keep most of the light out.

The fitness room was a joke. Just an eliptical and a treadmill with a tv. It's about the size of a janitors closet so you can't even do any calisthenics or plyos. There was a sign posted about an option to use a nearby gym for free as a hotel guest - but I didn't have the time to go. There is also an indoor pool and hot tub which looked pretty inviting.

As far as amenities go it wasn't a bad place. Breakfast was good and free, but no hot food. They have the do-it-yourself waffles that every hotel is in love with but I'm not a fan, and they also have breakfast sandwiches you can microwave. Also cereal, fruit, mini muffins, bagels, yogurt, etc. Internet was free and worked fine, and parking was free and obviously plentiful. Business center also worked as well as I needed it to.

I just wasn't a fan of the hotel location. It's right off of the interstate but at an exit that doesn't seem to be really near to anything. There's some fast food places nearby but not many restaurants. Also, there's a local college right next door, and the only access to it is via the road running along the parking lot - and it is flooded in the morning with traffic. It took me about 15 minutes to get out of the parking lot, but even then due to the really fast changing light at the intersection I had to take a roundabout way and turn around to get around the light fast enough to get to work.

Again, not a terrible hotel, and not many gripes about it, but I just wasn't overly impressed. I'd say you get exactly what you pay for here.

Room Tip: book w/ priceline, also ask for a room at the rear of the hotel away from the lights in the parking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shaunbsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
6.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Memphis I-240 & Perkins
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Memphis East-Sycamore View
7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport - American Way
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#64 of 138 in Memphis
147 reviews
5.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Memphis East/Galleria
7 mi away
Courtyard Memphis East/Bill Morris Parkway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Memphis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Memphis

Address: 6010 Macon Cove Road, Memphis, TN 38134
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Price Range: $95 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Memphis 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfield Inn & Suites Memphis is located just 15 minutes east of downtown on I-40, making us one of the most convenient hotels in Memphis, Tennessee. All guests will enjoy our newly-renovated lobby and breakfast area where our free hot breakfast buffet is served each morning. Guests are encouraged to relax in our indoor pool & whirlpool, work out in our fitness center and utilize our off-site dry cleaning or on-site guest laundry facilities. Each guest room has a 32” flat-screen TV, free Wi-Fi access, and large workspace with ergonomic chair. Located near popular attractions such as Graceland, Beale Street, Coors Brewery, FedExForum and Mud Island, we’re a great option for weekend stays. If you're in town on business, you'll enjoy our close proximity to FedEx, Brother, the Chrysler Training Center, Keebler, Shelby Oaks Business Park, Pfizer, and AutoZone. When searching for hotels in Memphis, Tennessee, look no further than Fairfield Inn & Suites Memphis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Memphis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Memphis
Fairfield Inn & Suites Memphis Hotel Memphis
Fairfield Inn Memphis
Fairfield Memphis
Memphis Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing