We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis-Shady Grove Road
Ranked #5 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Southern Cal
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
Reviewed July 13, 2009

Located in what seems to be a nice area of Memphis amid some newer office buildings. Had a one bedrooom suite which was great. Full kitchen with fridge, stove,dishes, pots and pans. Didn't use them as we took out some Corky's. Air con was a bit noisy.

Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Pinoy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    189
    69
    24
    15
See reviews for
258
141
35
198
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, MS
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2009

We had booked a Queen Double Suite, but when we got there, they had double booked it, so they gave us ajoining king/king suites for the same price! plenty of room for 2 adults and 3 teens!
The lobby is beautiful and breakfast was great, as usual.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacksongal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2009

From the moment we were greeted by the person who checked us in, our experience at the Hampton Inn & Suites couldn't have been nicer. The beds were very comfortable, there were free snacks and water in the room upon our check-in and the breakfast was more than ample. My one complaint is that we could hear a lot of noice in the hallway when people were walking by and talking. Overall, a very good experience.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank STLATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
65 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2009

My wife and I have traveled quite a bit over the last several years and we have stayed in dozens of hotels and consider ourselves savy travelers. We spend alot of time on research when it comes to hotels, restaurants, rental cars and even airfare. We Loved this hotel. I don't know if all the rooms were like the one we had but if they are then you won't be disappointed. The bed was very comfortable, the room was large and everything worked which nowadays isn't a given no matter how much you spend for a room. There was a long desk which separated the bed area from the sitting area. The flat screen LCD tv swiveled so you could watch tv from both areas. There was a microwave, small refrigerator, wet bar...etc..you can check out there website for all of the amenties but for under $100.00 ..wow. It is a newer hotel so keep that in mind as I can't vouch for the other Hamptons across the country. We just know that if in Memphis again, we will definately stay there. The breakfast was very good and the front desk was very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jerseytraveller_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tullahoma, TN
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2009

We had booked a studio suite. Upon arrival we were told we were in a newly remodeled suite. They weren't kidding!!! We had a kitchen with granite countertops, microwave, dishwasher, big fridge, and stove (no oven); living room with flat screen tv, chair, and couch; bedroom with 2 beds, another flat screen, ceiling fan, and granite countertops in the bathroom! We enjoyed the popcorn and Chex Mix provided. Room was very quiet. Only problem we had was the water wouldn't turn on in the shower. Management showed up within 5 minutes. Lucky for us there was a connecting room, so she opened it up so we could use that shower. That room was also a suite that had NOT been remodeled-huge difference! Breakfast was nothing special. Nice lobby, though. Location was great.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtnlover21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2008

We stopped here after a long day of driving. We did not have a reservation. I was told they did not have a room available. But, after some fancy computer work, the women behind the desk was able to find us a room. She was very friendly and very helpful and I was thankful for her diligence in finding us a room. The hotel was very clean and looked great. The pool looked nice, but small. Our room was great, very clean and soft beds. The one problem we had was with the AC unit. It was very loud when it came on. It woke me up a couple times during the night. We were only staying for one night so I didn't bother the front desk with it. Breakfast the next morning was great. The usual items were available.

  • Liked — Clean rooms
  • Disliked — AC unit was loud
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DayAtTheBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, AR
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2008

My husband, son, and I stayed here for two nights this past weekend. The hotel is excellent and we'll likely use them again for future Memphis trips. The staff at this hotel is absolutely wonderful--extremely friendly and helpful at any time of day or night--and just did everything they could to make sure our stay was a good one. We needed extra towels b/c of a room change, and they gave them to us quickly when requested, no questions asked.

The suite itself has a living area/kitchen with a couch (pull out bed), chair, coffee and end tables, TV, kitchen table with 2 chairs, small sink, refrigerator, stove top, microwave, dishwasher, and some dishes and silverware. There are doors that separate the living area from the bedroom. Our bedroom had a king bed, desk, chair, TV, lamp tables, alarm clock, and then the bathroom. The tub and toilet were separate from the sink/vanity area.

The room was extremely clean and had everything we needed. We actually started out in one room and had to move the following morning. Our first room's A/C unit was very noisy when it kicked on and we think it woke our son up frequently throughout the night. We should have asked to move when we first noticed after checking in, but it was late, we were tired, and I thought it wouldn't be such a big deal. I was wrong! Luckily, the staff was extremely accommodating and gave us another room right away the following morning (very early--7 a.m.). We moved to a corner room down the hall, which was a little bigger and had a very quiet A/C. We actually had that corner to ourselves, with no rooms around us. I think we'll request it for future visits!

The breakfast is good--a little above standard "free" breakfast fare. There were biscuits, gravy, and some eggs along with muffins, bagels, cereals, fruit, coffee cake, hot tea, coffee, and juices. There may have been a few more items that I just didn't catch. The kitchen area is very nice and large and there is a lot of seating in the lounge/breakfast area. They also have trays available so you can easily bring food back up to the rooms.

This hotel is located on Shady Grove, which is right off of Poplar. It's actually next to the Embassy Suites. The hotel has a small pool with several lounge chairs around it and towels are kept by the pool. There is also a patio type area with tables with umbrellas and chairs.

The location--it's good. You have easy access to Poplar, and in either direction, there are lots of restaurants, stores for shopping, etc. It's also easy to get to 240 and other areas of Memphis. We went to the zoo while in town and it was an easy and quick drive using 240 and Sam Cooper Blvd. as opposed to driving all the way down Poplar.

We got a great rate for our room--$109/night. We were very happy about this since we payed about $40.00 more last summer when we stayed at the Embassy Suites. While the ES has a good cooked to order breakfast, we don't feel it's worth the extra money--not with these suites available. We'll gladly stay here again.

  • Liked — Clean rooms, large suites, friendly staff, perfect for families
  • Disliked — no complaints!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Lee4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Memphis - Poplar Ave East
11.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
0.6 mi away
Hilton Memphis
Hilton Memphis
#26 of 136 in Memphis
967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Memphis-Poplar
Hampton Inn Memphis-Poplar
#21 of 136 in Memphis
702 reviews
11.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#6 of 136 in Memphis
909 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Memphis Primacy Parkway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis-Shady Grove Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis-Shady Grove Road

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis-Shady Grove Road
Address: 962 Shady Grove Rd S, Memphis, TN 38120
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Memphis
#10 Business Hotel in Memphis
#11 Family Hotel in Memphis
#14 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis-Shady Grove Road 2.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Easy access from Interstate 240 exit 15, East Poplar Ave, third light turn left. Located close to Memphis attractions including Germantown, Cordova, Bartlett and Collierville, TN locations. Stay for a weekend, sporting event or for business. Regardless of the reason you're here, we are glad that you are here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis-Shady Grove Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Memphis-Shady Grove Road
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis-Shady Grove Road Hotel Memphis
Hampton Inn Memphis
Memphis Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing