We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis-Shady Grove Road
Ranked #5 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Very nice hotel in a beautiful part of Memphis. Breakfast was well above average. The landscaping was exceptionally well done and the Dogwoods, Azelias, and Redbud were in full bloom. Located near a large shopping mall and many excellent restaurants.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Larry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (754)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

520 - 526 of 754 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2014

We enjoyed the convenience and comfort of this hotel. The staff was very friendly and accommodated our needs when we requested something. The location was great for the places we wanted to visit...the Memphis Zoo, Graceland, Sun City, Downtown, Beale Street, Highland Heights area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Kathy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

An older Hampton that we stayed in years ago but has been maintained and in great condition. Located in a suburban area with business around it, there was no problem in getting a room away from traffic which we did.
Check in was pleasant and the staff person was accommodating, giving us general directions to restaurants and a nice easy way to get out of the city on our way to Huntsville, AL the next day.
Like the majority of Hamptons, this one had clean rooms, comfortable beds, shower, bath facilities and "did you forget" items. An enjoyable night's sleep after our supper in a nearby restaurant.
Breakfast was the usual menu for Hamptons - nice, easy, quick with just about anything you'd need to get you going that day. We enjoyed it and had a small conversation with a traveling couple from Ontario.
There is little to complain about with a stay at a Hampton Inn so there is nothing else to write about. No problems with the stay, the rate was reasonable, the location seemed to be in a better area and was quiet. that all adds up to a recommendation that you won't be sorry you chose this location.

Room Tip: Choose on in the rear if you want a real quiet night's sleep, and choose the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GwinnettTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

I don't get the reviews on this hotel. It makes me worry about trip advisor ratings, this is why I am an avid reviewer so that others can get a good idea of what these hotels are like. It seems Hampton Inns can go either was these days. This hotel had a very nice lobby but the room was awful. The carpet was dated and dirty, the bed like a rock and there was a definite smell to the room like a bad deodorizer. This reservation was made at the last minute and the hotel seemed full but still, it was not worth even half what we paid. The air conditioner was loud. The only good part was the breakfast and the location was great with many restaurants nearby. We where happy to leave.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KathyG1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed in several Hampton Inn's and this has been my favorite to date. The entire hotel is very clean! Excellent breakfast setup. The shower pressure could be stronger but I love a shower that hurts :-)

Quick and easy access to the freeways and Poplar Avenue for a more direct drive downtown.

I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank jillsousa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Many times, the staff is the difference in the quality of your stay no matter what the quality of the hotel is. Fortunately, not only was this a nice hotel to stay at, but the staff was very open and warm. Everyone I happened to speak to, and every staff member I passed greeted me, was very nice. It made me feel really good about my stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Reginald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

I had problems with the heating system in the bedroom but maintenance was quick to address the problem. Staff was very nice and professional. Room was very clean and complimentary breakfast was great and had a variety of everything. Hotel was close to restaurants and interstate.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
2  Thank Kathleen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
11.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Memphis-Poplar
Hampton Inn Memphis-Poplar
#24 of 138 in Memphis
765 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Memphis
Hilton Memphis
#28 of 138 in Memphis
1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Memphis East-Sycamore View
7.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Memphis/Wolfchase Galleria
8.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Memphis Wolfchase
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis-Shady Grove Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis-Shady Grove Road

Address: 962 Shady Grove Rd S, Memphis, TN 38120
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Memphis
#10 Business Hotel in Memphis
#11 Family Hotel in Memphis
#14 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
Price Range: $106 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis-Shady Grove Road 2.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Easy access from Interstate 240 exit 15, East Poplar Ave, third light turn left. Located close to Memphis attractions including Germantown, Cordova, Bartlett and Collierville, TN locations. Stay for a weekend, sporting event or for business. Regardless of the reason you're here, we are glad that you are here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis-Shady Grove Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Memphis-Shady Grove Road
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis-Shady Grove Road Hotel Memphis
Hampton Inn Memphis
Memphis Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing