We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great choice for stay in Memphis”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis-Shady Grove Road
Ranked #7 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A great choice for stay in Memphis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is by far one of the nicest Hampton Inn's I have stayed at. The rooms are very modern with nice amenities like plugs in the lamps on the nightstand. The entire facility is up to date and well maintained.

The best part about this hotel was the staff. There was a bit of a miscommunication on their part with our room, but they remedied that without hesitation to more than our satisfaction. The next day, we came in during the afternoon around 2PM for my daughters nap and our room hadn't been made up yet. The housekeeping staff overheard us and had one of their staff members, stop what room she was cleaning and come make ours up. I have never had any housekeeping staff ever do that. All the staff was friendly and welcoming.

The hotel is easy access to downtown Memphis and other areas like Midtown and East Memphis. There are tons of restaurants right around this hotel. And the prices were reasonable. I will be back to Memphis and we will be staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EllenB806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    178
    66
    22
    15
See reviews for
232
135
33
188
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
106 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights (my husband & I). Fortunately, we were upgraded to a suite, so working from our room was not too cramped. Our room had a separate bedroom and living/kitchen area. The breakfast downstairs (included) here was great. Being winter, I had the oatmeal nearly every day. The hotel is centrally located to everything we needed to accomplish. The parking is free. The staff is very helpful and friendly. They helped with with copies and faxing. Very nice folks. I highly recommend!

Room Tip: If you are a rewards member, it can't hurt to ask for an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fl
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Very nice staff, very courteous, very helpful, nice breakfast - close to my business and I-240 - there is a mall close by. Free internet!!! Would recommend and would return to this hotel. Bed was not bad, did not like being in a handicap room because of the shower but otherwise rooms nice and fairly comfortable bed.

Room Tip: no restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dlcama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, IL
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

We were in town for the Liberty Bowl and this hotel as well as many others was packed with football fans. Apparently this hotel had no idea how to manage breakfast when they are full. The service was awful. They advertise a hot breakfast but I waited 35 minutes for oatmeal to be refilled before I finally just grabbed a bagel. The coffee needed refilling and the eggs and sausage were always low. People were milling around standing and waiting for food the entire time I was down there.
That being said...the room was comfortable and clean. No complaints there.
Housekeeping however knocked on our door at 9:00 the first morning before we were ready to leave for the day, and the second day we left in the early morning and came back at 2:30 in the afternoon and our room was not yet done. Couldn't quite figure out their routine...?....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chisox62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Even though its 20 minutes from downtown, it's not that far. It wasn't very full so it was pretty quiet.

When we stay at a hotel for 2 days, we prefer not to have our room cleaned so we leave the do not disturb tag on. When we came back after a day out, there was a bag of fresh towels on our door. That was very nice of housekeeping. We've never had that happen so that was nice.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eljefe20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benton, Arkansas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

I stayed here during St. Jude Marathon Weekend and the hotel was sold out. We received quick check in and were on our way up to the room. The room met all of my expectations from Hilton brand. Everything was in perfect order, clean, organized and comfortable. From the outside, the hotel is very appealing, nice landscaping and parking lot was clean. There is a plenty parking spaces and several entrances depending in which part of the hotel your room is. Breakfast was excellent and enough room to accommodate everyone. Hotel is about 20 min from downtown, but it can very well be 45 min to an hour during the traffic rush hour. Overall I had a great stay and would definitely recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lukas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here again for a quick weekend trip. I would say this is my fourth or fifth stay at this hotel. When I go to Memphis I always book here. Great stay every time. Great staff. Great room. No complaints.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle21496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Memphis - Poplar Ave East
11.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Memphis Primacy Parkway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Memphis-Poplar
Hampton Inn Memphis-Poplar
#18 of 136 in Memphis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
8.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Memphis Wolfchase
0.6 mi away
Hilton Memphis
Hilton Memphis
#23 of 136 in Memphis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis-Shady Grove Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis-Shady Grove Road

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis-Shady Grove Road
Address: 962 Shady Grove Rd S, Memphis, TN 38120
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Memphis
#10 Business Hotel in Memphis
#11 Family Hotel in Memphis
#14 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis-Shady Grove Road 2.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Easy access from Interstate 240 exit 15, East Poplar Ave, third light turn left. Located close to Memphis attractions including Germantown, Cordova, Bartlett and Collierville, TN locations. Stay for a weekend, sporting event or for business. Regardless of the reason you're here, we are glad that you are here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis-Shady Grove Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Memphis-Shady Grove Road
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis-Shady Grove Road Hotel Memphis
Hampton Inn Memphis
Memphis Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing