We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peace and Quiet in a Great Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis-Shady Grove Road
Ranked #7 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Thomasville, Georgia
Level Contributor
575 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 420 helpful votes
“Peace and Quiet in a Great Location!”
Reviewed August 22, 2011

This Hampton Inn is located in a very nice area of Memphis and one of the safest. We stayed in a king room which was especially nice because there were two sinks. (Great shower too!) The hotel was very clean, well-maintained and the employees were all extremely efficient and friendly. Parking is on-site and free. Numerous restaurants are located nearby as is access to I-240 and Poplar Avenue, a major thoroughfare. Free breakfast is included but I can't provide any insight because we didn't eat. If you want the best barbecue in Memphis, be sure to eat at THE BARBECUE SHOP. My husband lived in Memphis for many years and swears this is the best in town: I've eaten at many others, including the Rendezvous and I agree: don't miss it!

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room away from the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smiles4miles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    178
    65
    22
    15
See reviews for
232
135
33
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 17, 2011

My wife and I were tired and exhausted from the Memphis heat and found this to be a wonderful oasis. I have found myself in several Hampton Inns recently and pleased with all, but this was simply the best from courteous, thoughtful check-in to late (1:30 PM) check-out. Great location in East Memphis and sparkling and great value. I had read positive TripAdvisor reviews before booking and I affirm the high ratings.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ironduke67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Breakfast was large, hot and tasty! Not the typical Hampton Inn breakfast experience. The pool is outdoors and small. The suite room was medium sized with full kitchen including dishwasher. Towels felt cheap and less than usual hotel quality, like sandpaper on your skin.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZippyCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
115 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

We were very delighted with our stay at this hotel...We got a lovely two room suite for under $100 over the weekend. Absolutely beautiful room and very comfortable, including the bed...Breakfast was a delight. Hot scrambled eggs with sausage and peppers and hot tortillas....along with the other traditional waffles, muffins, bread, cereal, fruit, etc....
The lobby was very modern and lovely....as well as the front desk personnel and every other hotel employee....We loved our stay here and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fltam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2011

My tennis team recently stayed at The Hampton Inn & Suites S. Shady Grove Road in Memphis for three night stay and it was a very pleasant experience for everyone. The front office was very friendly and helpful. Our rooms were comfortable, breakfast buffet was exceptional as were those working at the breakfast buffet. Good value - conveniently located to good restaurants and to the tennis courts. Our team would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tnbeachbum29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central City, Kentucky
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We chose to stay at this hotel last year because we were regulars at the Hampton Inn Poplar Avenue location, but they were booked up the weekend we were coming, so we tried this hotel.

We were not disappointed at all. It just so happened that this hotel was booked up except for the suite accommodations, so we went ahead and splurged. It was very nice! The suite let my growing family spread out a bit and included a separate King bedroom and a living room/kitchenette area in a second room and a very large bathroom suite. It also lived up to the quality in decor and furnishing that I am used to with the Hilton brand.

The staff was very friendly and helpful and their complimentary hot breakfast was even better than the Poplar Avenue locations. The location is a quiet one in a good part of town but is not very close to downtown, but not a bad or confusing drive either.

I must say that all the Hilton/Hampton brands in Memphis are the right way to go!

Room Tip: very helpful staff! Just make a request!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rainey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2011

Good business week hotel. Service is always good. Have stayed many time and will continue.

Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank K T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Memphis - Poplar Ave East
11.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Memphis Primacy Parkway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Memphis-Poplar
Hampton Inn Memphis-Poplar
#18 of 136 in Memphis
661 reviews
8.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Memphis Wolfchase
4.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Memphis East-Sycamore View
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis-Shady Grove Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis-Shady Grove Road

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis-Shady Grove Road
Address: 962 Shady Grove Rd S, Memphis, TN 38120
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Memphis
#10 Business Hotel in Memphis
#11 Family Hotel in Memphis
#14 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis-Shady Grove Road 2.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Easy access from Interstate 240 exit 15, East Poplar Ave, third light turn left. Located close to Memphis attractions including Germantown, Cordova, Bartlett and Collierville, TN locations. Stay for a weekend, sporting event or for business. Regardless of the reason you're here, we are glad that you are here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis-Shady Grove Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Memphis-Shady Grove Road
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis-Shady Grove Road Hotel Memphis
Hampton Inn Memphis
Memphis Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing