We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good option in Memphis”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis-Shady Grove Road
Ranked #7 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Central City, Kentucky
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“A good option in Memphis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

We chose to stay at this hotel last year because we were regulars at the Hampton Inn Poplar Avenue location, but they were booked up the weekend we were coming, so we tried this hotel.

We were not disappointed at all. It just so happened that this hotel was booked up except for the suite accommodations, so we went ahead and splurged. It was very nice! The suite let my growing family spread out a bit and included a separate King bedroom and a living room/kitchenette area in a second room and a very large bathroom suite. It also lived up to the quality in decor and furnishing that I am used to with the Hilton brand.

The staff was very friendly and helpful and their complimentary hot breakfast was even better than the Poplar Avenue locations. The location is a quiet one in a good part of town but is not very close to downtown, but not a bad or confusing drive either.

I must say that all the Hilton/Hampton brands in Memphis are the right way to go!

Room Tip: very helpful staff! Just make a request!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rainey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    178
    66
    22
    15
See reviews for
232
135
33
188
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2011

Good business week hotel. Service is always good. Have stayed many time and will continue.

Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank K T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
176 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2011

Not a bad Hampton - not a great one either.
The A/C - Heater Unit in my room was tired, old, and didn't blow any air. It made noise like the fan was moving although only a little air movement.
The business center was a computer terminal in the hallway between front desk and elevator. AND the computer had an 'Out of Order' piece of paper taped to the screen.
The guys working at front desk let me print boarding pass with the computer they use and had to move the monitor, keyboard, and mouse to top of counter. ALL this going on while someone was checking in. Teh wireless connnection was terribly slow and kept diconnecting.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hortkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2011

Nice lobby, nice people, but the hotel is OLD. The beds are doubles and small, pillows are terrible, and the doors slam really loud. The walls are like paper - I listened to my next door neighbor snore all night. (I also had intimate knowledge of his bathroom habits). The in room fridge couldn't be turned off or unplugged and made noise right across the bed all night long. The hotel allows smoking - most Hamptons don't but this one does...

Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank theotherroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wynnewood, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2011

the staf are great. the manager is awesome and responsive! the staff are friendly and accomodating. i travel here for business. i have stayed in MANY hotels in Memphis. as for me, i like quiet, clean, affordable and safe. thumbs up all the way around every time.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula1554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Ohio
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2010

This hotel was awesome. Very clean, the staff was friendly and it was in a nice location. The lobby and eating area for breakfast was beautiful. The rooms and bathroom were very clean and the beds were very comfortable. The only negative thing I would say is the beds are too small. They are double beds. If they had queen beds, I would definitely go back. If you don't mind a smaller bed..then you should stay at this hotel, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Staceyelaine526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2010

Great room. Staff very friendly. Suite clean and roomie. Cookies and coffee in the lobby at check in! The breakfast was so good and free. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DP4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Memphis - Poplar Ave East
11.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Memphis Primacy Parkway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Memphis-Poplar
Hampton Inn Memphis-Poplar
#18 of 136 in Memphis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
8.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Memphis Wolfchase
0.6 mi away
Hilton Memphis
Hilton Memphis
#23 of 136 in Memphis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis-Shady Grove Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis-Shady Grove Road

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis-Shady Grove Road
Address: 962 Shady Grove Rd S, Memphis, TN 38120
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Memphis
#10 Business Hotel in Memphis
#11 Family Hotel in Memphis
#14 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis-Shady Grove Road 2.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Easy access from Interstate 240 exit 15, East Poplar Ave, third light turn left. Located close to Memphis attractions including Germantown, Cordova, Bartlett and Collierville, TN locations. Stay for a weekend, sporting event or for business. Regardless of the reason you're here, we are glad that you are here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis-Shady Grove Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Memphis-Shady Grove Road
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis-Shady Grove Road Hotel Memphis
Hampton Inn Memphis
Memphis Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing