We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip to the South”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Memphis - Southwind
Ranked #30 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Reviewed September 21, 2013

This was my first stay in this town. We were there for a funeral. I booked this hotel because the others that I know were filled because of a sports event. I am delighted that happened. Staff was great, hospitality was great; you come to understand what southern hospitality is all about at this hotel. Environment was good, food was normally good, wonderful fruit and diverse meats each day. Manager was attentive and showed exceptional concern for our well being. When I go back I will stay here again. Bedroom and sheets wonderfully cleaned each day. Excellent cleaning staff and everybody was kind, with great smiles and warm greetings each day.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Prentice D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ogm22, General Manager at Hampton Inn Memphis - Southwind, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Prentice D- Thank you for the positive feedback regarding your recent stay with us. The satisfaction of our guests is very important to us so we are pleased that you had an enjoyable experience. Should your travels bring you back to the Memphis area, we hope to be your hotel of choice again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (351)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

284 - 290 of 351 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2013

Great Hotel and Staff. Very Clean. I keep my employees here all the time when they come in to Memphis. Breakfast was Awesome. Beds are soft and Bathrooms were very Clean. My guys will not stay anywhere else but the Hampton Inn at South wind.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Bryan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ogm22, General Manager at Hampton Inn Memphis - Southwind, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Bryan R - Thank you for the positive feedback regarding your experience at our hotel. We know that you have many choices when traveling and housing your employees and are pleased that you selected our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

This hotel provides the best in service and hospitality, from the airport shuttle with Mr. Harrison to the greeting from the General Manager Ruth to the front desk and check in to the people who service the rooms , the experience has been consistant and I would recommend this Hotel to anyone who is staying in the Memphis area. Mr. S

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darrell24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ogm22, General Manager at Hampton Inn Memphis - Southwind, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Darrell24 - Mr. S, thank you for being a loyal Hilton guest. We value your feedback and appreciate the kind words. We always welcome any comments you can offer as we continue on our journey from Good to Great.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Always enjoy staying at this hotel. Due to renovations in the lobby, accomodations were a little difficult on this trip. Can't wait for renovation completion. Will stay here again. The staff and service is always a plus.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Tammie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ogm22, General Manager at Hampton Inn Memphis - Southwind, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Tammie J- Thank you for the feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We apologize for the inconveniences you endured due to the renovations. The lobby is almost complete and we know that you are going to love the end result. We look forward to having you as our guest again during your next trip to Memphis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

This hotel is below Hampton Inn standards. It is going through some major renovations and will probably be much nicer then. But this construction is so disruptive that I would NEVER come back until construction is finished. There is no place to hang out outside your room, the temporary breakfast room is A JOKE. During a very busy weekend (soccer tournament) 7 tables/14 chairs (yes I counted them) in the breakfast room is NOT ENOUGH. Also the walls in the rooms are thin and you can hear your neighbor talking; noise from the hallway is also an issue. On the positive side, the hotel staff were extremely nice and efficient and did their best.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank plumpity1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ogm22, General Manager at Hampton Inn Memphis - Southwind, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

plumpity- Thank you for the feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. You are so correct...construction can be a nightmare; but we are confident that you will be impressed with the end result and refresh of this hotel once the work is completed. We apologize for the inconveniences you endured during your stay and hope you will give our team an opportunity to once again show you great customer service during your next visit to Memphis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the Hampton Inn-Southwind. I'm sorry to say that the property is nothing short of disappointing. A/C could not cool the room which led to it feeling very damp. Felt like carpet was always wet, towels never dried, etc. Carpet worn and room outdated. Now, with that being said, there are renovations taking place. These are way overdue!! Lobby/breakfast area is being renovated at this time so breakfast is being served in another room. Space is not large enough to accommodate everyone. There needs to be a second area for this. Front desk was not very welcoming at check in either. I'm not a real particular person, but I do expect more from a Hampton property.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MStf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ogm22, General Manager at Hampton Inn Memphis - Southwind, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

MStf- Thank you for the feedback regarding your recent stay with us. While we are pleased that you chose our hotel, we are very sorry that you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay. Our guests’ satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. With this said, I can assure you that your comments will be discussed further with management and associate team members to improve our hotel and overall service. UPDATE: While renovations are ongoing we have completed enough of the lobby area to bring breakfast back out to the larger space.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Hampton Inn, Hacks Cross Road, Memphis, Tennessee is in a great location near FedEx corporate headquarters. The hotel is very clean with a staff that goes above and beyond to satisfy its customers. Several great restaurants are located within a 10 minute drive. One of the best Hampton hotels I have stayed in. Great convenient hotel choice.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side and higher are quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russell G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ogm22, General Manager at Hampton Inn Memphis - Southwind, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Russell G - Thank you for the positive feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We know that you have many choices when traveling and are pleased that you selected our hotel. GREAT NEWS...the hotel recently started a renovation project and we hope you will visit us again soon to see the many new improvements we are making.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
1 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Memphis-Southwind
1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Memphis Southwind
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Memphis-Poplar
Hampton Inn Memphis-Poplar
#26 of 138 in Memphis
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites Memphis - Hacks Cross
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis-Shady Grove Road
5.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Memphis - Southwind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Memphis - Southwind

Address: 3579 Hacks Cross Rd, Memphis, TN 38125-8803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Price Range: $100 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Memphis - Southwind 2.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn Memphis-Southwind hotel. Our welcoming hotel is situated near historic Germantown and Collierville districts and near a variety of excellent golfing, entertainment, and shopping opportunities. The TPC at Southwind hosts one of the oldest tournaments on the PGA Tour – the Stanford St. Jude Championship. Spend an afternoon shopping at Collierville's Carriage Crossing Mall. Entertain the family at Memphis Zoo or the Riverside International Speedway. Discover the history of the civil rights movement at the National Civil Rights Museum. From shopping to sightseeing, museums to musicals, Memphis has something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn Memphis - Southwind reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Memphis - Southwind Hotel Memphis
Memphis Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing