We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great zoo”
Review of Memphis Zoo

Memphis Zoo
Ranked #4 of 153 things to do in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: YaYa, a female Giant Panda that calls the Memphis Zoo home, enjoys a sunny day.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great zoo”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

I was there in a very cold december morning so many animal were taken away to a warmer shelter. In spite of that I loved the zoo, there are so many different areas and so much to see.
My favorite exhibits are the Animals of the Night and the pandas.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ligia_AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,773 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,008
    599
    129
    24
    13
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sandston, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Feed the Giraffes!”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We spent the day here in September on our first trip to Memphis and there was much more to this zoo than I had expected. Giraffe-feeding is only $5 and lots of fun!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank 77Robyn777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“great family place”
Reviewed December 31, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I ordered my brother and sister in law a year family membership as a Christmas gift. My nephew just turned one, so zoo outings this upcoming year will be great for the family!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank L R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level Contributor
103 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We went here during the pre Thanksgiving cold front and practically had the place to ourselves. We had such a great time! The location of the zoo is really nice and we got to see some of the grander old neighbourhoods of Memphis we would have otherwise missed. Inside, the attractions are great. All of the animals are well cared for and seem to have adequate space/enclosures. There is a lot of education around the place, which is always good in a zoo. We especially loved the cafe which had a glass wall to the monkey enclosure - whilst drinking coffee a friendly chap came and sat right up against the glass! It was great. We went to see the pandas and because the staff were cleaning their compound we were invited over to where they were currently sitting - getting that close to them was incredible! This is a really nice place to spend an afternoon. I would absolutely recommend this.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank BerkshireMash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
84 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Outstanding exhibits”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

This zoo is really well designed. The enclosures are really large and animal friendly. This is a great place to take the family. Mine really had a lot of fun.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Neil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Memphis Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Memphis Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing