We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem in Memphis !”

Belz Museum of Asian & Judaic Art
Ranked #16 of 154 things to do in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Admission prices: $6 adult, $5 senior, $4 student. Free if 5 years old or under.
Chambery, France
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A hidden gem in Memphis !”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

A hidden gem in Memphis ! Take a close look at the Asian Art pièces. Jade, ivory, silk.... The sculptures are so delicate U won't believe your eyes.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ghis et Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    28
    3
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
SJU
Level 6 Contributor
489 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Surprising amount of unique pieces”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Located in the basement of an almost deserted building we were surprised by the quality of the Asian pieces, especially the jade wedding carriage.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem!”
Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

We didn't know what to expect when we went in but we were blown away by the amazing Chinese Jade and bone carvings.

The Holocaust exhibit was amazing. Well worth seeing. Thank you to the survivors for their comments. We must never forget!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Don H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Total Scam!”
Reviewed May 3, 2014

This Is Not A Legitimate Museum! This Is Simply A Tax-Shelter For Jack Belz And A Publicity Stunt For The Peabody Hotel! This Is A Waste Of Time!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Courtney P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“A very interesting combination of collections”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

The exhibits are unusual and thoughtfully presented. I would highly recommend this museum although we only happened to stop by as an afterthought. We spent 3 hours in the rooms we were able to complete and it was not enough but had to leave as it was closing time.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank troutbum2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Belz Museum of Asian & Judaic Art also viewed

 

Been to Belz Museum of Asian & Judaic Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing