We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical Doune”
Review of Doune Knoydart

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Knoydart Peninsula
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Doune Knoydart
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Magical Doune”
Reviewed September 30, 2011

I've been privileged to have been to Doune Bay Lodge for the past 6 years running.
Martin, Liz, Andy and the rest of the team offer a magical experience in the wilderness of the Knoydart peninsula.
I'm a diver and the sites operated by Andy are some of the best I've seen in the UK and well worth the 8 hours of driving from my doorstep.
Liz offers some of the best food to be offered anywhere and the fact that it's in the middle of nowhere makes it even more special.
The service, accomodation and diving is all 5*.
If you're in to Britains wilderness this is THE place to go.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foramandmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
28
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2011

We turned up on spec following some heavy mountaineering in the north. It seemed a good idea to pop into Knoydart and we weren't disappointed. It seems we were very lucky to get any accommodation, let alone this excellent spot.

I have very little to add regarding the service, food, location and accommodation already well expressed in the other reviews other than an endorsement. The dining experience is great, mixing with guests and passing trade (sailors)! The view of the black cuillins in all their splendour cannot be underestimated and is, possibly, my personal highlight.

Initially, being mean mountaineering types, it seemed a little steep at £75 per person per night but we very quickly realised that this is money extremely well spent. I would not hesitate in recommending Doune Bay Lodges to my friends and will certainly return.

Because we had turned up on spec, via the ferry, we missed what sounds a great service directly from Mallaig. We initially found it odd that the 'transfer' to Inverie for our return on the ferry was offered at an additional cost at £10 per head. We instead opted for a delightful morning walk!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spiketheborder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton TX
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2010

It's my third trip, staying at remote Doune on the Knoydart peninsula with a photographic group from John Lewis. Highly recommended. The food gets better and better. You can't always expect good weather, but Andy is always ready to tailor trips in Mary Doune so there's always plenty to do. Wonderful scenery and wildlife of course. Don't miss it.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wrightreverend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed December 9, 2009

Is there anything quite like Doune? I doubt there are many hotels where the adventure starts on a bustling working fishing quay, with a the friendly local seal coming to wave you off, a stunning bot trip across they bay, round rocky peninsulas of Knoydart and into the secluded bay at Doune itself. Then a short walk along a stony path – your luggage following in a dumper truck – to your room in a stone lodge with wooden veranda looking out over the bay to Skye. The dining is relaxed and convivial, feeling more like a pleasant evening with friends that a meal in an anonymous hotel dining room. The food is excellent – think home cooing of a very high standard – and makes good use of fresh, local ingredients. A possible highlight for us was roast venison, cooked to perfection. There are many possibilities for walks straight from the lodge, with linear options available, making use of Doune's minibus 'taxi' (cost extra). The landscape is fabulous - if you're familiar with the north west coast of Scotland you'll know what to expect. The kids loved the sense of freedom and it was great to be away from cars, TV and paid 'attractions'. This was meant to be a once in a lifetime treat for us - we don't normally 'do' full board, but I'm sure we'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sacapus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 16, 2009

Doune is one of those few places I return to year after year, each visit brings its own experiences and memories which stay with me. Whether the sun is shining every day or just occasionally, Doune never disappoints as there as so many other things to do when the sun is not shining including a trip to the well trodden Inverie pub. I love the food and the hospitality, you never feel a stranger in Doune. Despite being older I find the challenge of getting in and out of the boat/dingy always exhilerating and lots of fun, even if a little never wracking at times. For those who want a holiday in Scotland that is unique, then I would suggest you go for it. Just do your homework and I am sure you will not be disappointed. Rita

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlasgowMeanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
1 review
Reviewed November 9, 2009

We spent a wonderful few days staying there and sampling the local scenery and wildlife - stunning.
We came the closest to a buck deer that I have ever come , I guess because people are a rare sight for him on Knoydart.
The view across to Skye was a delight and we had that wonderful weather so often common in early autumn in Scotland.
The food was wonderful and very nourishing and the rooms perfect for the setting.
Cannot wait to go again.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllanHBedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2009

Congratulations to Doune for winning the Taste of Scotland award - if you love food and enchanting places then a holiday at Doune is worth all the effort (in our case an overnight sleeper from London and then a boat ride from Mallaig which is the only way to reach this lodge). Visit it for the beauty and remoteness of the place and you will come back with memories of a unique location and absolutely wonderful food that you will recall months later. We will be back one day.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank North-Londoner-TRIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knoydart Peninsula
10.9 mi away
Old Library Lodge And Restaurant
5.6 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
4.5 mi away
West Highland Hotel
West Highland Hotel
#1 of 3 in Mallaig
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Morar Hotel
Morar Hotel
#1 of 1 in Morar
132 reviews
21.2 mi away
Mingarry Park Luxury Accommodation & Restaurant
10.9 mi away
Arisaig Hotel
Arisaig Hotel
#1 of 3 in Arisaig
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doune Knoydart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doune Knoydart

Property: Doune Knoydart
Address: Doune, PH41 4PL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Knoydart Peninsula
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Knoydart Peninsula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Remote and unique holiday setting on the western tip of Knoydart - views to the magnificent Skye Cuillin. Spectacular low and high level walking. No road access - we collect you from Mallaig in our own boat. Enjoy every comfort, delicious home cooking, a warm welcome and total relaxation. Mountains, sea, boat trips, wildlife - a truly great escape. By running our own boats, we can offer guests direct access to the remotest parts of Knoydart (and beyond). Lodge for groups up to 12. Three Stone Lodge family rooms. One single room. Moorings available for visiting yachts. Restaurant open to non-residents. Full board accommodation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Doune Knoydart Knoydart Peninsula, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing