We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“going downhill fast”
Review of The Old Forge

The Old Forge
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: IMPORTANT NOTICE: We will be closed for heavy maintenance the 21st, 22nd and 23rd on August 2017 .
Reviewed June 7, 2013

we have visited knoydart five times and eaten in the forge several nights, we were there last week and booked sat, sun, mon and tues nights.we ate sat and sun nights and cancelled mon and tues after two very poor meals. the limited choice of food on a silly chalkboard never changed but reduced as dishes were taken off. the selection compared to past years was very poor,where is the sea bass, scallopes, venison casserole, garlic prawns etc etc, the menu on the website is nothing like the one on the board the lack of veg and salad makes the dishes bland and i am convinced many are from frozen and lack taste. we were prepared to eat every night and pay the high prices but for good quality fresh food. the new owners need to get back to the way it was or people who have been before and people staying for several nights will not return. the waiting on staff were good but obviously under pressure and were embarresed as they asked people to vacate their table as they finished their meal and had no help from the owner. one of the most noticable things was the absense of the locals a sign that all is not well at the forge. we hope to reurn again to knoydart with its beautiful scenery and very friendly people but will not visit the forge until it gets back to the way it was, an award winning pub and restaurant serving fresh quality food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
6  Thank john h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (500)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

423 - 427 of 500 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2013

This was our third visit to the Old Forge and probably our last, which is a shame as we really like Inverie, but there are many other places we can sail to instead.
I love fish and general always chose fish when I'm out, however the only fish on offer was haddock, but then there's nothing to beat fresh haddock that flakes onto your fork with a nice crispy batter... it was a soggy disaster. The batter and fish were soggy, the fish looked gray and didn't taste right, and I guess came from a freezer.
For the first time ever, I did complain, we were offered a complimentary coffee, which we declined as we were so disappointed, we just wanted to leave.

3  Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We had booked for Saturday night, so yes, it was busy. The first thing to hit me was the smell of slightly stale chip fat (not saying it was stale, just that it smelt it and the smell pervaded the bar and restaurant). Our table was reserved and ready for us, and service was swift and the waitress friendly, if slightly stressed. We looked at the (expensive) wine menu and ordered only to be told that there were no wine glasses, we could wait for some to become available or use half pints. We chose to wait, 20 minutes later, still no glasses, we wait some more - then decide on using half pints, another wait, then unfortunately, the wine we had ordered had run out!!! We took an alternative, which in mitigation was offered at the same price (good move as I'd not have paid the asking price for it). Still, we thought that the food would redeem the place... Oops. £14+ for a starter of local Langoustine is just acceptable bearing in mind the difficulty of getting goods to Knoydart. However, they should be served minus the grit (running under a tap would have sufficed) and not so overcooked that one had turned completely to mush. We hoped that the steaks we had ordered for the main course would be better... The meat was OK, and I liked the creamy peppercorn sauce, but was a bit surprised to find the same accompaniment of coleslaw on the plate that had been served with the langoustine... Not a combination I'd usually expect to find, and the chips could have had a better flavour... Maybe its teething troubles for the new owner (and I hear that he is very nice bloke and I wish him well with it), but together with the scenery the Old Forge is a major draw for Knoydart, standards have to improve or there may be a negative effect felt by all the locals who rely on the tourist buck. Luckily good food is still available in Inverie, and they come to you to cook and serve it (so great for us self-caterers. Well done Britta (AKA the Knoydart Kitchen), you gave me a couple of excellent nights off!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank BrightonLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Deterioration of customer provision and service at the Old Forge.
My wife and I are regular visitors to The Old forge Bar Restaurant at Inverie in Knoydart.
This year (17 18 19 May 2013) following a change in ownership in October 2012, we found that the quality of customer service and provision had fallen quite considerably from previous years.
1 The new owner had gone off on holiday during part of May, the busiest time of the year for visitors to Knoydart.
2 This was reflected in the clear lack of leadership within the staff team and its service delivery.
3 The bar staff were poorly attired and lacked any visitor welcoming expertise.
4 The bar staff also permitted the excessive use of foul language at the bar within earshot of visiting customers.
5 The bar staff engaged in throwing a ball, to be chased by a dog within the drinking eating areas.
6 The bar staff were not clear in the disposal of waste, appropriate waste receptacles and follow up hand washing requirements prior to glass handling and serving drinks.
7 The restaurant menu (Written on a chalk board and positioned on the wall) requires re positioning as it cannot be fully seen if customers are sitting at the table immediately in front of the board.
8 The Menu, pricing policy and portion control requires updating to reflect the content of their website.
9 The use of 1 waitress (Saturday evening) (with at times 1assistant server) to cater for over 20 covers was excessive, resulting in excessive waiting time for service and meals.
The foregoing fully reflects poor service provision which clearly resulted from a complete lack of management, front of house leadership, staff training and on-going staff performance monitoring.
A more detailed list of these observations was reported to the owner who has failed to respond.
M and C Edinburgh

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank charlie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

The food here and the atmosphere were both excellent. It is an experience not to be missed. The Langoustines were the biggest and tastiest I have ever experienced. The service was very good and the welcome very warm.

Thank Carole T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Forge also viewed

Airor, Knoydart Peninsula
Knoydart Peninsula, Lochaber
 

Been to The Old Forge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing