We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Knoydart Peninsula
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Knoydart Foundation Bunkhouse
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Lovely place and fantastic settting. .
We were in the biggest room sharing with others (it was about half full on the first night) but this is a bunkhouse and thats what you expect to do. However being mid week we had the room to ourselves on the second night. They provide bedding which meant we didn't have to carry our sleeping bags - handy as its about a 20 minute wallk from the ferry.
The layout is a wee bit odd with rooms off the kitchen and having to go outside to get to the showers and toilets from some of the rooms but there are plans to change this, That said the showers are brilliant and just what was needed after a day on the hills.
The kitchen seem really well equipped but we didn't use it - going instead to the old forge to eat. Nice wee sitting room with loads of DVDs, videos as well as books. There is also a computer with internet access. Theres a wood burning stove - not on when we were therr- too hot but I imagine it would be good for drying boots etc when its on. There are also .
lots of drying racks.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank redlichtie50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 70 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2011

A bit of a walk from the pier but a car stopped and offered to take our luggage to the bunkhouse (that's the sort of place it is).
We normally stay in B&Bs but were impressed with the quality on offer. Everyone was very respectful of others, it was interesting to hear how everyone had arrived -lots of canoeists!
Wonderful views but we lucky with the weather.
We just stopped for one night on our way to Skye but will have to return for longer.

Room Tip: Obviously better to have a room suited to your group's size but doesn't matter too much if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JennyEm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

Walked in from the hills yesterday and met with warm and friendly welcome by Izzie. After eleven days of walking in wind and driving rain, Knoydart Bunkhouse is truly a magical port in the storm. Warm fire in common room, very roomy kitchen, super friendly bunkmates, and incredible pub down the road (don't forget your torch, like we did!). Word has it Inverie has lovely tea shop, must go search that out now......
If only one could give ten stars, Knoydart Bunkhouse deserves them all!!

Room Tip: Can be very busy on spring/summer weekends
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fiddlerfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2011

We booked a boat from mallaig to inverie due to our arrival timing cant catch the public boat service. when we arrived the bunkhouse there are no staff there but all is to make yourself just like home, Izzie did leave a massage at the registration form so we just get what we want. its quite and comfortable place good to relax your busy day in the city. You must order the red meat and cook by yourself its superdelicious. [ just simple step to cook it ]

I will back again !!

Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
Thank kizoome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2010

after arriving in the customary driving summer rain in a howling gale, we were so pleased to see that there was availability in the bunkhouse instead of camping. Izzie was amazing and dealt with all our little issue of who was staying and who was brave enough to camp out, we did mess her around a little but she took it all in her stride and made everyone feel welcome. The bunkhouse is spotless and a very friendly place to stay, a nice cross mix of people from all over the world and all seeming to get along. The old forge is well worth a visit for some amazing food, straight out of the sea and on to your plate. I would recommend anyone to stay here, if nothing else than to meet the lovelly and amazing Izzie.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malc2622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2010

Stayed at bunkhouse prior to walk out to Glenfinnan. Izzie made us very welcome, and the other guests were a good cross section of those who like a busy bank holiday in the hills. Popped into the old forge for food and beer and ended up staying awhile.... a good base from which 'to do knoydart'

Would stay again, - as long as I got the Postman Pat duvet again!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank piddledrinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2009

atfer a very wet windy ten days on the hills a unexpected delay at inverie( no ferry) and too knackered for the walk out i stayed at the foundation hostel. what a breath off fresh air, well appointed, izzie who is the warden is helpful, friendly and obviously loves the job. inverie is amazing again friendly great community spirit, the forge pub likewise could,nt make you more welcome. and thats without mentioning the isolation and beauty of knoydart itself. greaaaat place, great people. go there. well done the foundation

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lostagainScarborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Knoydart Foundation Bunkhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knoydart Foundation Bunkhouse

Address: Knoydart, PH41 4PL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Knoydart Peninsula
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Knoydart Peninsula
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small, friendly and cosy community-owned Bunkhouse on the West Highland coast located on a remote peninsula accessible only by boat or on foot. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Knoydart Foundation Bunkhouse Knoydart Peninsula, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing