We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Time at The Gathering”
Review of The Gathering

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Knoydart Peninsula
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Gathering
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Time at The Gathering”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Cara does a fantastic job running the Gathering She's a genuinely friendly and helpful soul and we felt really at home here. Breakfasts were brilliant, and Cara and Kim went out of their way to accommodate our six year old's food fads. The room we had was lovely with big en suite. The prices are also very good value for money. Our lad immediately mucked in with the local children and we had a time which we'll treasure as a memory. Knoydart is somewhere special and The Gathering is the jewel of Knoydart...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    6
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
29
101
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I'd always wanted to visit Knoydart and stayed for 2 nights at The Gathering. We had a fabulous time in this great location from the moment Cara met us at the pier on our arrival, and we were made very welcome. The Gathering is very well appointed and very comfortable, with plenty space for guests to relax in. Breakfasts were spot on. All in all the best B&B we've stayed in, and we've stayed in a few!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johndal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reeders, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Our tour of Scotland took us to the remote village of Knoydart and 2 nights at the The Gathering B&B. When we arrived there were no available rooms, but they had a room that was not normally used for guests. They offered us the room which we accepted. The room was small but was very clean and well decorated.

We filled out a paper to make our selection for breakfast the next morning. There were plenty of choices ranging from a fruit platter to a special containing eggs, sausage, and other trimmings.

Breakfast was served in a beautiful restaurant. There was a nice view of the landscape. We could help ourselves to juice and cereal while our breakfast selection was being prepared. The tables were large allowing us plenty of space.

Cara and Kim were very friendly and made our stay enjoyable. They certainly went out of their way to accommodate us which we were grateful for.

It would have been nice if we could have seen the rooms normally used for guests. I understand they are really beautiful. I’m definitely not complaining. We were lucky to get any accommodation.

To summarize, The Gathering was an excellent place to stay. The only downside was I believed the rate they charged for the room was a little pricey. I’m sure I wouldn’t have felt that way if we had stayed in a regular room. The high quality of the breakfast almost made up for that.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

just returned from a 3 night stay at te wonderful Gathering , have to say a special big thank you to Cara & Kim for making our short trip magical , nothing was too much trouble and it really was a home from home , from a hearty breakfast to our afternoon dip in the hot tub ,we were made very welcome and cant rave enough about the Gathering ,if you intend going to Knoydart do yourself a favour and book in here .YOU WONT BE DISAPPOINTED , and hopefully we will be returning in the near future.

Room Tip: we loved the view from the dorma window in rooom 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mellencamp63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 22, 2012

On walking the 15 miles to Inverie, as we entered the village Cara our host was the first to welcome us to the village. Upon entering The Gathering we were amazed at the accomodation, very clean, and the perfect comfort you need after a long days hike. Comfy warm room and and en suite with great shower and soft towels.

After a great nights sleep, and the same walk back, you couldn't be more set up for the day than being served a great big cooked scottish breakfast by the lovely host Cara and Kim all the way from Brisbane, Australia. Thankyou for your great hospitality, hope to return again soon

Gordon McD

Room Tip: so peacefull all rooms will give you a great time there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gordon m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fochabers, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed with Cara at the Gathering for 3 nights, she met us off the ferry and helped us with our luggage, then put the kettle on and made us coffee. She made us welcome from the start. Our room was lovely and spacious and immaculately clean. Breakfast was of a very high standard with daily specials for something different. We had mackerel pâté, smoked salmon, cured venison, dunsyre cheese, chutney and oatcakes one morning, which was very different but delicious. Cara also hired us mountain bikes which helped us with the remote munros we wanted to climb. Overall an excellent stay and we would love to go back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin, ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Just back from a one night stay in this amazing place! Cara was so professional, friendly and all round great hostess. From the moment we arrived off the ferry and met Cara on the quayside it was like meeting and old friend. She took our bags in her jeep while we explored the area.

Later in the day we used the hot tub at the Gathering and had food in the Old Forge. A great nights sleep was had in the lovely room to end a fabulous day.

Marvelous choice of food for breakfast as our 8 year old son played outside on the trampoline!!
Special word of thanks to Kim for finding our sons D.S. in the room and rushing down to the ferry to ensure he didn't leave it behind! thanks Kim x

We cant wait to come back!!
Colm, Yvonne and Sonny

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colm67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knoydart Peninsula
6.0 mi away
West Highland Hotel
West Highland Hotel
#1 of 3 in Mallaig
572 reviews
10.7 mi away
Arisaig Hotel
Arisaig Hotel
#1 of 3 in Arisaig
297 reviews
7.1 mi away
Morar Hotel
Morar Hotel
#1 of 1 in Morar
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Old Library Lodge And Restaurant
8.8 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
20.7 mi away
Loch Shiel Hotel
Loch Shiel Hotel
#2 of 2 in Acharacle
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gathering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gathering

Property: The Gathering
Address: Inverie, PH41 4PL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Knoydart Peninsula
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Knoydart Peninsula
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Gathering Knoydart Peninsula, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing