We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only place to stay in paradise !”
Review of The Gathering

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Knoydart Peninsula
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Gathering
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 23, 2012

The Gathering must be one of the best B&B's that I have stayed in. Cara was the perfect hostess, right from the welcoming pot of tea right through to the fantastic breakfast. I have never had mackerel pate, smoked salmon, air dried venison and oatcakes before, and can heartily recommend it. Put the Gathering on your bucket list and you won't be dissapointed !!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WilliamRose2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (218)
There are newer reviews for The Gathering
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 218 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2012

Thie Gathering deserves all of the excellent reviews it has received. It is difficult to find fault. Cara is an excellent friendly hostess and goes the extra mile to make you feel welcome down to meeting you at the ferry to take your luggage. The rooms are clean and fresh and the breakfasts are as good as you will be served anywhere. Inverie is a magical place and this is the place to stay there.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alasdair C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

We have just returned from a short business awayday and made our first great decision when we booked The Gathering. From meeting us at the ferry, to making tea and coffee when we arrived, Cara was the perfect hostess. I enoyed the hot-tub - who couldnt with that view - and the others strolled the 2 minutes to the Old Forge Inn. We were too wrapped up with the pool table and chatting, to get a chance to sit with Cara in the pub, but she welcomed us bright and breezy with a fabuous breakfast before our early morning ferry back to Mallaig.
We would definitely go back to The Gathering - hoefully sooner rather than later. However, with the way her bookings are apparently going, we shouldnt hang around.
Fabulous accommodation in one of the country's last wilderness settings.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2012

The Gathering is an exceptional bed and breakfast. The welcome, the food, the bed, the room, the shower, the view, the hot tub, the proximity to the pub, the help with tickets...everything was spot on. This is how all bed and breakfasts should be and Cara could teach most owners how to treat guests and how to cook scallops. Thank you very much.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tom e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2012

We stayed with Cara over Hogmanay with our 6-month-old daughter. The first time either of us had 'cheated' by boating across direct from Mallaig rather than walking in and earning our stripes. Despite being minutes from the pier, Cara met us at the boat to take our bags and had put us in a wonderful room with a giant bed. We've stayed at many B&Bs and boutique hotels over the years but The Gathering is the first to compel me to leave a recommendation. It has has every indulgence you might want: underfloor heating, ultimate breakfasts, fabulous coffee. But the highlight for us was sharing champagne in the hot tub on Hogmanay, pelted by hailstones, laughing under the onslaught and relaxing while our daughter napped safely and peacefully in the giant bed over the baby monitor. This is a magical place. Thank you so much Cara.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geraldine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2012

I fell in love with Arisaig and Morar when I first holidayed there in the late sixties and early seventies. Places change as they do and it is not the same but my fondness for the area remains. Last year my son along with some friends visited Inverie in Knoydart, a place I had never been to but always wanted to go. All I can say now having been is, "all those wasted years".

For anyone who knows what I am talking about the words magical, gorgeous and the like do not do it justice. It is an island of calm in a sea of insanity, though it is not an island. It is a place where you are at peace with the world and with nature. It is a place to take stock and to enjoy and in the evening with people who know how to enjoy.

Anyway to the 'piece de resistance of our stay', the ten out of five star B&B, 'The Gathering', what can we say. Cara, the hostess with the mostest, the chefess with bestest, still not enough. The house and bedrooms are marvellous, the bed you could sleep forever in, the view outstanding, the food to die for and the hot tub to die in. So clean you don't need plates, I joke and to our mind totally undervalued.

The 'Old Forge' pub is superb, the food is excellent and is populated by like minded people as ourselves.

The walks in the area are a dream all augmented by the breakfast, no breakfast is the wrong word the epicurian delight, supplied prioir to making the legs work.

I could rant and rave about it forever and rather than pinch myself to see if what I have witnessed is true, I will most certainly return.

Seriously, go on, go on, go on. Go, it is an experience.

Geoff & Wynne, Edinburgh

Room Tip: Higher floor with a view.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geoffmcdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

A fantastic stay for a few day's hiking. Great breakfasts, gorgeous rooms with lashings of hot water (just what you need coming in off the wet hills), and a 2 min stroll to the pub! The crowning glory, though, is the hot tub, which pushes The Gathering from great to sublime. Genius touch. I've stayed in probably 50 B&Bs across Scotland and this is up there with the best.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisWigley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knoydart Peninsula
6.0 mi away
West Highland Hotel
West Highland Hotel
#1 of 3 in Mallaig
602 reviews
7.1 mi away
Morar Hotel
Morar Hotel
#1 of 1 in Morar
151 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#3 of 3 in Mallaig
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
10.7 mi away
Arisaig Hotel
Arisaig Hotel
#1 of 3 in Arisaig
310 reviews
14.1 mi away
The Prince's House Hotel
The Prince's House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Glenfinnan
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gathering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gathering

Address: Inverie, PH41 4PL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Knoydart Peninsula
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Knoydart Peninsula
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Gathering Knoydart Peninsula, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing