We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real Scotland”
Review of Invergarry Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Invergarry Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Invergarry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2012

This hotel is in a fantastic position for seeing some of the best of Scotland. Our room was smallish but beautifully decorated and comfortable. The service was very good and friendly. We ate in the hotel and the food was good though we would have liked a sauce with the main course to set it off. My husband had lamb which was succulent but needed a mint sauce or red currant sauce to complement it. The hotel is on the pricey side but we had a great time and met a lovely young American couple who were on their honeymoon and had a cosy evening in the residents lounge with much whiskey and wine consumed. Breakfast the morning after was extremely good and set us up for the next stage of our tour.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank DougnDawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (492)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

334 - 340 of 492 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2012

Our group only ate here so keep this in mine when watching those stars! We had the soup of the day, chicken sandwich and burgers. Especially burgers were big and delicious. Staff were friendly and place look like a nice English cottage.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Edelfelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Stopped by on the way to Skye at Sunday lunch time. Had two coffees and two croissants, which had obviously been specialy sourced for their extreme smallness. They were served over-microwaved and soggy. Cost over £11. Not surprisingly there was nobody else in the bar.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
9  Thank happilygrounded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
invergarryhotel, Owner at Invergarry Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2012

It is dissapointing for us that the coissants were not oven warmed properly, however all a customer needs to do is ask and they would be replaced immediately.
Surely to simply ask a member of staff to replace two coissants would be easier than leaving and writing a bad review for us on the internet - or was this the intent ?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Just returned from a 3 night stay at the Invergarry. Beautiful location. We had a twin room overlooking the road / river. Room was lovely and nicely furnished. Plenty of space. Exceptionally clean. Lot's of storage space. Staff - very friendly and helpfull. Breakfast - lots of choice and very nice. Lovely lounge with wi-fi. We only ate here one night and although the food was very nice we thought the portion sizes were on the small size and it was a little pricey for the "bar setting".
All in all we had a lovely break and would definately recommend staying here. We look forward to returning when next in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tudsabz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

The Invergarry Hotel is in a beautiful location, opposite the River Garry and is well worth the visit. It has been recently refurbished and has a four star rating as a 'Scottish Country Inn'. The hotel was extremely clean. We were travelling with our two girls and booked a family room. We were pleasantly surprised to find they had their own bedroom with 2 single beds, a wardrobe, hair-dryer and small television. Our room (much to my husband's delight) had a king-sized bed. The en-suite was modern and clean.

Okay...the food. Brilliant. I noticed at the front of the hotel that the food at the Invergarry hotel is listed in the Michelin guide. Dinner was absolutely lovely. Breakfast was equally as delicious. I wish we had stayed there for 2 or even 3 nights as the whole package, location, accommodation and food were all glorious. I hope to return there one day.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JaLaw_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

We'd called at the Invergarry numerous times and enjoyed some very good food. We booked a couple of nights in the Master room as a treat.
Whilst the food was again excellent and the staff very helpful, we felt the room was pretty disappointing. Although spacious and clean, the 'Master' room is cheaply finished with chain store-type fixtures and fittings - leaky plumbing didn't enhance it, either.
Not a disastrous visit by any means, but the room certainly isn't good value - we'll probably confine future visits to dinner only.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mr_Trickertoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 4, 2012

A slightly unfair review we feel.

There is an ipod docking station in the room which carries a high street brand - "Next"

Other than this all of the furniture, fixtures and fittings are High Quality including a new bathroom which has no plumbing issues.

The Room was refurbished in 2011 at a cost of £10,000.

Perhaps not to your taste we can accept. Cheap and poor quality we can not.

For repeat customers who clearly enjoy our food and hospitality - a strange review we feel, and unkind.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Stopped here for lunch and did not stay at the hotel. The service was excellent and the lunch menu was great. The are was fresh and clean, without the smell associated with some older bars. We sat at a window and a lot of people were in the garden part of the restaurant, obviously very popular. We were very pleased we stopped here.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Craig L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Invergarry
0.6 mi away
Glengarry Castle Hotel
Glengarry Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Invergarry
744 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
1,235 reviews
18.4 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Spean Bridge
957 reviews
7.3 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
615 reviews
5.9 mi away
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Spean Bridge
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Invergarry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Invergarry Hotel

Address: Inverness-shire, Invergarry PH35 4HJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Invergarry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Invergarry
Price Range: $139 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Invergarry Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A relaxed 4 Star Country Inn nestled in the entrance to Glengarry, in the village of Invergarry. Surrounded by Mountains and set overlooking the beautiful River Garry.All rooms En-suite to an excellent 4 Star standard.Brasserie with excellent food and relaxed dining.Excellent range of Wines, Ales & Malt Whiskies.Roaring Log Fires and Superb Hospitality.A place to unwind and use as a base for touring the Highlands of Scotland with a combination of Warm clean rooms with good facilities, excellent food & warm hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Invergarry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Invergarry Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing