We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Craigard Guest House
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Invergarry
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Invergarry Hotel(Invergarry)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lovat, Loch Ness(Fort Augustus)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Inch Hotel(Fort Augustus)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
East Lodge Invergloy(Spean Bridge)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Whitebridge Hotel(Whitebridge)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveler rating
42
22
5
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
42
22
5
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstwin roomfront of the housegreat glen wayveggie haggisstayed hereb blong walkbreakfast was delicioushouse is beautifulone nightan evening mealother guestsfort augustuscomfortable bedporridgeandrewhosts
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 71 reviews
Reviewed September 10, 2011

Good point - you can see red squirrels in the garden.
Bad points.
Generally tired and tatty decoration.
Bathrooms fitted by someone who has never seen a spirit level.
Nowhere to put toiletries in bathroom.
Used (for what we didn't bother trying to find out) tissues under the bed.
The breakfast however took our breaths away! When it first came out we thought "Bloody hell we've never had a starter served before breakfast!" Sadly it was the main event. One small rasher of bacon, a tough flat square sausage (2"x3" and 1/4" thick), two mushrooms on their backs full of water but no taste, a potato scone (1.5 inch diameter) that appeared to be a cross between a rice cake and a soft breeze block and an under cooked slimy egg - all of it cold, on a cold plate.
Expensive at half the price!

Room Tip: Try somewhere else!
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rupert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJM2Highland, Owner at Craigard Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2011

Clearly this person has had a disappointing stay. I must make clear that anyone expecting to see red squirrels in our garden they are likely to be disappointed. They can only be seen from two bedrooms, they cannot be seen from elsewhere because there is no cover from cats in the garden. Confusingly the first room, the chances of seeing a red squirrel is very slight, we have not seen them from the room for over a year, however this room has access to 2 toiletry shelves above washbasins.
The second room you can certainly see red squirrels, they were seen on feeders in the wood behind the house on a daily basis this summer. However this room was completely redecorated for the season so I cannot understand the decoration description. I checked both bathroom fittings and found that the washbasin was 2mm out of level, all other items in the rooms were level.
Our breakfast menu choices we feel is extensive, including such items as a fruit salad or kipper, the full Scottish cooked breakfast which includes 6 items on the plate, including our home made potato scones which are all made with a 3.5 inch cutter. Generally we would prefer it if any guests are unhappy with the service they receive that they report it to us immediately, giving us the opportunity to be able put it right straight away.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Welcoming hosts, comfortable room and excellent breakfast -- all round good value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhonda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

We have stayed at Craigard several times and I thought it was time we wrote a review! Joy and Andrew the owners are so friendly and helpful, Andrew is really knowledgeable about local walks and wildlife and gave us an amazing tip off for a place to visit - we saw deer, an otter, a sea eagle...Nice one! The breakfasts are great and set you up for a day in the great outdoors. We have probably stayed in most of the rooms and they have all been clean with some lovely bits of furniture, a real effort has been made with decor so that it is in keeping with the history of the building. Best of all, our dog is always made welcome too, something that you can't guarantee in all B & Bs even if they claim otherwise! Nothing is too much trouble for Joy and Andrew and I would recommend Craigard to anyone who wants a fabulous holiday in a beautiful part of Scotland.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AimeeLikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2011

We stayed here during our Great Glen Way walk and although this is a bit of a distance from the walk the service we received was fantastic. My partner got ill and the owner actually got us some food so I could stay in and make sure she was ok. The rooms are really nice and clean, breakfast was very good (top porridge) and I recommend you sat hello to the dogs. If you're walking they'll take you back into invergarry too...

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sicarrstick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2010

My niece and I stayed at Craigard House for three nights as we visited sites in the surrounding area. I can't say enough about how helpful Andrew was in suggesting places to visit in the area from Loch Ness to the Isle of Skye and Applecross. Andrew is very knowledgeable about the area and told us about several enchanting places. Breakfasts were very good. Andrew and Joy were great hosts ensuring that we had a very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaryJo2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews