We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Glengarry up to standard again.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Glengarry Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Invergarry
Certificate of Excellence
Wigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Glengarry up to standard again.”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We have visited the Glengarry many times over the last 30 years, but not in the last few years until last week. We were pleased to find the same warm welcome,cosy, relaxing lounges and the deluxe bedrooms are superb with loch views. The food is locally sourced and freshly cooked and served with friendly and efficient staff. Wine prices are also very reasonable. Indeed, we think the hotel provides excellent value and the setting is superb. Once again we greatly enjoyed our stay and will be returning.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are superb,but superior rooms are very good and even better value
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    472
    149
    32
    8
    1
See reviews for
139
376
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

This is a charming, very old, mansion converted to a hotel many years ago. The furnishings, while "cozy," reflect the hotel's age. We had a large, comfortable room with a loch view, which I would recommend. We had dinner at the hotel both nights and thoroughly enjoyed the food and the excellent service. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Drinks before dinner in front of a warm fire in the library and the lounge were a highlight.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 389davidh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kauai, Hawaii
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Room was just average, but nice dining room with good service and selection and comfortable library and drawing room. Pay for your Scotch, but prices are reasonable. Huge well-maintained grounds for strolling. We continued a few miles up the river. Very international group of guests; no one else was speaking English. Staff was attentive and knowledgeable about the region.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhillandKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mason City, Iowa
Level Contributor
140 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed one night at the Glengarry Castle Hotel in September. The hotel was easy to find and we were whisked quickly through check in. We received a small double room; however, it felt comfortable and the bathroom was ample size. Our highlight was the dinner that night. I had the steak and my wife had the chicken. Both were excellent. We had coffee and after dinner sweets in the library in front of a cozy fire. It was a very memorable experience. The next morning after a great full breakfast we walked down to the loch, visited the on site castle ruins, and toured the grounds. We wished we had booked more nights here! Definitely a great place to stay, in our opinion.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a superior room?
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jdmckay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
452 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 494 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We had another great stay here but ssshhh don't tell everyone or it will get too popular!

The place is old and historic with the old castle in the grounds and the loch which runs as part of the great glen and into Loch Ness, so look out for Nessie. It's a family run business and the service is great, they went out of their way to help us.

A few tips, spend the extra and get a view of the loch. Please dress for dinner you don't have to at all and some people don't but it's a lovely place so why not at least try and look smart ish. It's just my personal opinion but if you want to dress like you have just come off a building site go to a travel lodge. The food is great although not as good as it was when I first started coming here in 2002. But still really good. Have a lovely dinner here then relax in the two sitting rooms afterwards and talk to the other guests, they like you are all to ready to chat so break the ice!

There is free wifi here it seemed good in our room but not brilliant in the sitting room for some reason. I would perhaps bring an electrical extension cable as it's an old building and people seem to have so many electrical gadgets nowadays it may be easier just to bring an extension cable with a few sockets on it.

We would recommend a few places to visit from the hotel. The commando memorial at Spean Bridge, a great view and touching memorial. The gondola to snow goose cafe. Go to the national ice climbing centre in Kinlochleven , it's indoors and all ages and abilities and actually a great fun indoor day out. A drive through Glen Coe go all the way to the viewpoint at the end of Rannoch moor. The famous Eileen Donnan castle seen in many films and adverts. The monarch of the glen tv series has many places you can visit, message me for more details. The is
Isle of skye. Drummnadoicht and the Nessie museums and exhibitions. The hotel is a great base for exploring the area and returning to a lovely hotel for more details message me.

In summary a great place to stay!

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get a loch view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnSunderlandUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We have waited for 5 years to stay at this wonderful hotel in the Scottish highlands and it was worth the wait. We had a beautiful room with a view of the loch & surrounding hills. The hotel is very well run with excellent service, good food and well maintained rooms.It is good value for money and we would highly recommend it

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dunmar9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We have stayed here several times and have always been impressed with the Hotel and it's ambience. The staff are all very friendly and most helpful. It is a step back in time to when
things are done properly ! Good company at after dinner chats with fellow guests whilst consuming coffee in the lounge infront of a real log fire.
Food was excellent although we did criticise not having the rich sauces separate, which we are
told will be addressed. Restaurant staff very friendly and efficient showing excellent training.
We will be back

Room Tip: Have a room with either Loch Oich View or over the fields view, Not over the Car Park
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Invergarry
18.7 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
532 reviews
0.6 mi away
Invergarry Hotel
Invergarry Hotel
#2 of 2 in Invergarry
438 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Spean Bridge
905 reviews
7.0 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
559 reviews
6.2 mi away
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Spean Bridge
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glengarry Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glengarry Castle Hotel

Property: Glengarry Castle Hotel
Address: Invergarry, Invergarry PH35 4HW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Invergarry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Invergarry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Glengarry Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glengarry Castle Hotel is a comfortable country house hotel with a jewel of a setting on the shores of Loch Oich at the heart of the Great Glen in the Highlands of Scotland. Great touring base, stay for a few days and explore the Highlands - 7 miles from Loch Ness, 40 miles south of Inverness, 25 miles north of Fort William and just 50 miles to the Isle of Skye. Set in 60 acres, well away from the road, lots of local walks. Free WiFi in every bedroom and public areas. Family run for over 50 years. The building has not been extended and there is no annexe, all bedrooms are in the original house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Glengarry Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glengarry Castle Invergarry
Hotel Glengarry Castle
Glengarry Castle Hotel Invergarry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing