We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay with brilliant food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Glengarry Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Invergarry
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent stay with brilliant food”
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Where do you start? Beautiful hotel grounds kept in excellent condition
The room was stunning and the food was out of this world!
It was brilliant value for money in my eyes
This is not trying to be fine dining, just beautifully crafted and presented food in an amazing location, what more could you ask for?

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Broady20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    490
    152
    34
    9
    1
See reviews for
142
391
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Just returned from a lovely relaxing visit to Glengarry castle hotel. This very well managed hotel is a great place to enjoy the Highlands,it is very comfortable and friendly with the hotel and grounds well maintained. The staff are great being professional friendly and a lovely sense of humour.
Congratulations to everyone at Glengarry on their recent achievements from the Scottish Hotel awards 2013, very well deserved for all your hard work in making Glengarry castle such a great place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
110 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This was our first trip to Glengarry (we often pass by over winter when it's not open).

We loved the idea of a grand country mansion presented in a relaxed style - we enquired about the bar and the staff said "that's us"; we grabbed a table in one of the beautiful public rooms and drinks arrived moments later - bliss!

Our room was huge with lovely views out to the grounds and down to the loch; dinner was a great experience with tasty food, very friendly staff and, again, thoroughly relaxing.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VANCES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
254 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This is a lovely hotel in a wonderful setting. We had a deluxe king room which was very spacious and comfortable. The furnishings could have come from my grandmother's house but were entirely appropriate. We had booked bed & breakfast but upon arrival, and enchanted by the setting, decided to have dinner there as well. Big mistake. They seemed to be aiming for a 'fine dining' experience but missed by a mile. The menu was not very appealing and sadly the food was pretty bland/tasteless. Breakfast was good though. I'm sure we would have raved about this hotel had we taken our evening meal elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlisonandColin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We only stopped by for afternoon tea but I have to say that the scones were absolutely delicious - warm, light and melted in the mouth. If this is typical of the hotel food, I would like to stay here!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

One of these rare places where you feel that you should talk in whispers all of the time.Beautiful building,stunning scenery and a warm (if sometimes a little formal) welcome.Excellent dinner rounded off with coffee in the lounge.If I tell you that the loudest noise in the hotel was the hour striking on the grandfather clock and that a dinner gong is sounded to announce that the service has started it will give you a flavour of the atmosphere.So no use if you are planing a weekend with your unruly kids but for a relaxing,luxurious stay you cannot fault Glengarry.

Room Tip: There is no lift so be careful when booking if you are disabled/elderly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
205 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Although Glengarry Castle Hotel bills itself as a castle, it is more of an old grand house (although the ruins of Invergarry Castle are on the ground). For anyone wanting an old style Highlend Gentry experience, I imagine it fits the bills very well - very nicely appointed and traditionally laid out. Food was excellent. Unfortunately for us we misjudged it slightly and came with younger children, so it wasn't an ideal fit (although the hotel staff did accommodate us very well considering). There is free WiFi with decent speed which is just as well as there is quite poor mobile/cell phone reception this far out. Would not hesitate to recommend it to a couple travelling without children looking for a grander hotel experience. If you have kids, they will certainly fit you in and take care of you, but may not perhaps be a perfect fit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhone_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Invergarry
6.3 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
1,170 reviews
18.7 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
559 reviews
7.0 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Invergarry Hotel
Invergarry Hotel
#2 of 2 in Invergarry
456 reviews
7.4 mi away
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Spean Bridge
926 reviews
6.2 mi away
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Spean Bridge
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glengarry Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glengarry Castle Hotel

Property: Glengarry Castle Hotel
Address: Invergarry, Invergarry PH35 4HW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Invergarry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Invergarry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Glengarry Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glengarry Castle Hotel is a comfortable country house hotel with a jewel of a setting on the shores of Loch Oich at the heart of the Great Glen in the Highlands of Scotland. Great touring base, stay for a few days and explore the Highlands - 7 miles from Loch Ness, 40 miles south of Inverness, 25 miles north of Fort William and just 50 miles to the Isle of Skye. Set in 60 acres, well away from the road, lots of local walks. Free WiFi in every bedroom and public areas. Family run for over 50 years. The building has not been extended and there is no annexe, all bedrooms are in the original house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Glengarry Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glengarry Castle Invergarry
Hotel Glengarry Castle
Glengarry Castle Hotel Invergarry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing