We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Honeymoon 25 years on !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Glengarry Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Invergarry
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Honeymoon 25 years on !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

My wife and I went to this Hotel for a couple of days as part of the celebration of our 25th wedding anniversary. We were really pleased. We had the most beautiful double aspect room overlooking the loch and the gardens. The bathroom had a bath which was so long that I ran the risk of becoming submerged and also a separate shower. We had breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea and dinner all of which were of exemplary standard. The ultimate joy was the helpfulness of all the staff. This family run Hotel has really thought out what their customers need and it is a joy to behold. I would definitely recommend it, if only we had stayed for a week.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Travelling Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    473
    149
    32
    9
    1
See reviews for
139
378
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

This was our favorite hotel while traveling in Ireland and Scotland. The staff was friendly and helpful. There were several sitting areas where we enjoyed a drink before dinner, and before bed. You can walk down to the water and then follow a nice walking path. We enjoyed an excellent four course dinner and a nice breakfast. If we ever get back to Scotland, we will make it a point to stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kansan2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

My partner and I found this castle by chance as we had booked into another hotel for 2 nights but were very unimpressed so at 9pm we decided at the last minute to check out and try to find somewhere else to stay, we came across this place while looking on the internet so we gave them a phone and as they had a room for two nights we decided we would give it a go especially as the price was the same as the hotel we had originally booked.

We drove for an hour to get to the castle and arrived at 10.40pm, the gentleman at reception was very welcoming and showed us to our room explaining he had upgraded us to a room at the top of the castle with a four poster bed, we were very impressed and relieved that we made the decision to stay here.

We stayed for two nights and I honestly could not fault anything, the bed was so comfortable and we loved the electric blanket. We took a boat out on the lake and the location really is beautiful and so peaceful, the decor of the rooms are really in keeping with the castle and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast and evening dinner were equally lovely.

We were so glad that we found this place and were sad to leave, would definitely love to stay again one day.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goose1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

I just wanted to say that staying at this property was a fantastic experience. As a concierge who works in a five star hotel in Scotland, I feel qualified to comment on other properties that I experience and Glengarry Castle Hotel was a joy.

We stayed in room 23 which is very spacious, has a four poster bed and views across the gardens to the loch. It was immacutely clean and had all the basic amenities. The food at breakfast and dinner was very nice, the staff very friendly and efficient and the location was simply unbeatable.

There are no Spa facilities at the hotel, and the location is a little remote, but for a romantic old property that encompasses everything Scotiish (including the excellent hospitality) I think this hotel is perfect.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Icklearms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tayport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

I booked and stayed at Glengarry Castle Hotel one night in August 2012. My party and I occupied three classic rooms, all on bed and breakfast basis. The Hotel has an idealic and grand lochside location set within lovely gardens and grounds. Inside, my first impression was that some of the decor in the reception area and bedroom corridors looked a bit tired but this actually adds to the character of the place. The sitting rooms are very comfortable and there is a well stocked library. The bedrooms were very clean and comfortable although the bath in my single room was very small but adequate. Breakfast was served in a beautiful and well decorated Dining Room and the food was excellent as was the service..second to none!..Altogether, I am happy to recommend this place as a Great Highland Hotel with nothing contemporary in sight, just loads of character and a perfect place for a family or perhaps a romantic retreat etc. I certainly hope to stay here again!

Room Tip: Perhaps go that bit further and book a superior room with loch side views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

We were finishing our 4 day boat cruise on the Caledonian canal and decided to dine here.
What a good decision that was.
The hotel is a typical Victorian castle once a family home the interior is clad in warm mellow pine.
Interior is high quality--in my opinion--using Scottish theme--stag heads adorn the entrance so you know what you will be eating--there are vegetarian options.
You enter the reception room and are shortly shown to the dining room excellent views--you could say sensational views of the nearby mountains.
Staff were friendly and knowlegable all knew the menu and the wine waiter knew his cellar.
Its a set 4 course dinner including sorbe as an interim starter.
We all choose meat courses duck steak pork and fortunately for me venison.
Each of us had different starters and sweets all were excellent.
Room was decorated as befits this level of hotel coffee was served in the library afterwards with home made chocs?.
We watched a stunning moonrise over the mountains.
The bill came to about£180 for 4 excellent value for a professionaly run hotel

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ancell98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Exceptional grounds! Walks were very enjoyable. Restaurant was very good. Staff very helpful and informative. Room we stayed in was spacious and comfortable. The bed could use a duvet instead of a heavy blanket, maybe time to upgrade the mattress . Clean and quiet. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Invergarry
18.7 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
0.6 mi away
Invergarry Hotel
Invergarry Hotel
#2 of 2 in Invergarry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Spean Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
7.0 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
6.2 mi away
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Spean Bridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glengarry Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glengarry Castle Hotel

Property: Glengarry Castle Hotel
Address: Invergarry, Invergarry PH35 4HW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Invergarry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Invergarry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Glengarry Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glengarry Castle Hotel is a comfortable country house hotel with a jewel of a setting on the shores of Loch Oich at the heart of the Great Glen in the Highlands of Scotland. Great touring base, stay for a few days and explore the Highlands - 7 miles from Loch Ness, 40 miles south of Inverness, 25 miles north of Fort William and just 50 miles to the Isle of Skye. Set in 60 acres, well away from the road, lots of local walks. Free WiFi in every bedroom and public areas. Family run for over 50 years. The building has not been extended and there is no annexe, all bedrooms are in the original house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Glengarry Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glengarry Castle Invergarry
Hotel Glengarry Castle
Glengarry Castle Hotel Invergarry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing