We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to unwind”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Glengarry Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Invergarry
Certificate of Excellence
Cypress, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely place to unwind”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Exceptional grounds! Walks were very enjoyable. Restaurant was very good. Staff very helpful and informative. Room we stayed in was spacious and comfortable. The bed could use a duvet instead of a heavy blanket, maybe time to upgrade the mattress . Clean and quiet. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    490
    152
    34
    9
    1
See reviews for
142
391
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

My wife and I stayed here quite by chance and found it a real hidden gem. We travel around a lot but hadn't heard a thing about it beforehand and only booked because it was a convenient stopover.

The receptionist was a bit charm-challenged and I didn't like the way the reception desk is hidden away darkly in the front hall but after that we were generally very impressed. Our room was large, with nice views, and the wi-fi was free and efficient.

The hotel's wooded grounds are beautiful, leading down to a loch around which we strolled the following morning. Externally and internally it was very attractive and well maintained though the bedroom doors could do with being replaced as they are not in keeping with the opulent nature of the rest of the establishment. The lounge where we had our coffee after dinner was very comfortable. Guest reviews in the visitors' book were outstanding.

This would have been a five star review had it not been for the food and service at dinner. The four course meal was of the 3 star hotel package variety, so much so it reminded us of previous stays at modest South coast resorts. We dubbed this part of the experience 'Eastbourne by the Glen'! Staff were young and amateurish, if well meaning. On the other hand, breakfast was excellent - hot dishes served to order and delivered by a delightful, smiling young lady.

The dinner gong was ... striking! We'd never experienced this before. It sounded on the dot at 7, at which point most guests trooped in, Pavlovian dog-style. Odd. The managers don't seem to like flexibility. Dinner was advertised to stop being served at 8.45 pm, presumably when the chef knocks off.

Give the Glengarry Castle a really good chef and improve its marketing, and there's no telling how high up the ladder it can climb.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the loch
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BaselinerGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Hotel is in a wonderful setting in beautiful grounds overlooking Loch Oich and with direct access to the shoreline. Lovely country house (rather than castle) with fire burning in hall and lots of history in the large public rooms. Bedrooms a little old fashioned and beds and bedding in need of upgrading. In 2012 are loud "grinder" toilets really the only option available? Breakfast was excellent. Only issue with hotel is the cost. £150 a night for two is a very full price particular given the bedrooms are in need of up-rating. Staff were excellent and could not have been more helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SandgrounderSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, OK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Beautiful grounds, great food, unsurpassed service and advice on sight seeing. The single best place we stayed in our ten day trip to Scotland. Sorry we only had three days there. an easy drive to the isle of Skye, Fort Williams, Inverness.

Room Tip: rooms that face the lock have the most beautiful views if thats possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Douglas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We spent a night here this month. Loved it. We arrived late due to unforeseen circumstances and the front desk whisked us into the dining room for a very nice dinner and some wine. It was the perfect way to unwind. Matthew was a wonderful server in the dining room.
Our room was very nice. It was a bit dated...but its a castle!
The grounds were gorgeous and the adjoining castle ruins were enchanting. We also enjoyed some time in the common room.
I would have loved a few more nights here and recommend it for a unique getaway for anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CANsam2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
187 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Glengarry Castle Hotel is an old manor house, built in 1869, that was converted into a hotel years ago, and the staff could not have been more accommodating. We were made to feel like lords and ladies of the manor!
After a long drive from Glasgow, we had drinks in the drawing room in front of a log fire; the views across the loch took our breath away!
No need to seek out dining options in town -- dinner in the hotel was delicious, and breakfast the next morning was equally as good.
No elevator, and some bathroom commodes have a very noisy paper grinder, activated upon flushing, but we'd stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the loch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QRooBound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

This was a very unique experience and we loved it. The manor house is lovely even though a little outdated in decor. I felt like I was in an old Scottish movie. The views were unbelievable from our room and the room was huge. We loved the hotel and having tea in the drawing room with a big fire blazing. The food was good, not the best, but very enjoyable. The service was excellent as well.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CeCeJacksonville_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Invergarry
6.3 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
1,170 reviews
18.7 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
559 reviews
7.0 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Invergarry Hotel
Invergarry Hotel
#2 of 2 in Invergarry
456 reviews
7.4 mi away
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Spean Bridge
926 reviews
6.2 mi away
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Spean Bridge
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glengarry Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glengarry Castle Hotel

Property: Glengarry Castle Hotel
Address: Invergarry, Invergarry PH35 4HW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Invergarry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Invergarry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Glengarry Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glengarry Castle Hotel is a comfortable country house hotel with a jewel of a setting on the shores of Loch Oich at the heart of the Great Glen in the Highlands of Scotland. Great touring base, stay for a few days and explore the Highlands - 7 miles from Loch Ness, 40 miles south of Inverness, 25 miles north of Fort William and just 50 miles to the Isle of Skye. Set in 60 acres, well away from the road, lots of local walks. Free WiFi in every bedroom and public areas. Family run for over 50 years. The building has not been extended and there is no annexe, all bedrooms are in the original house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Glengarry Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glengarry Castle Invergarry
Hotel Glengarry Castle
Glengarry Castle Hotel Invergarry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing