We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Last minute”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Arisaig Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Arisaig Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Arisaig
Certificate of Excellence
Bo'ness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Last minute”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

Having to cancel our weeks holiday due to family bereavement I called the Arisaig Hotel. They managed to fit us in for two nights but had to change room which was not a problem - the staff moved our stuff. It is also dog friendly and this is the first time we have taken our dog to a hotel. The hotel is very clean and the beds although soft were comfy to sleep in. The bathroom in Room 1 is quite big with a huge bath. Toiletries are also supplied, Room 12 is a bit smaller but was ideal for us. The bathroom although bigger had the smallest bath with a shower over it. All in all a very clean and pleasant place to stay. Breakfast was lovely with a wide range to choose from.
The staff are very pleasant and keen to help if you have any problems.
Although we did not eat there I have been told their food is lovely - will try it the next time we stay.
There are no lifts in this hotel so if you are on the top floor there are quite a few steps.
Tip: When in room 12 turn the hot water tap in the opposite direction as this is how it opens - never seen this before!

Room Tip: Room 1 looks out over the water although is above the bar but was quiet when we were there
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cate1405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    105
    21
    4
    8
See reviews for
54
133
24
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

My room had recently been refurbished to a high standard and was warm and comfortable. The shower was to die for and I loved the little bottles of Scottish Fine Soaps Sea Kelp shampoo and shower gel- it's the little things :-) There was a varied menu in the welcoming bar next door and the food was tasty. I've made the spectacular journey up to Mallaig twice on the train and having found this little gem in Arisaig I think that I will have to have a short detangling retreat from the world every spring, leaving all my cares and worries behind as I board the train in the Glasgow

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunshinedaffodil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

This is the second time I have stayed here. The last time, two years ago, the hotel was a bit tired, but the seafood and the staff made up for this. On this occasion I was surprised to see upgraded rooms and public areas. Very comfortable. The staff were very helpful and friendly. However I was disappointed that the menu had been cut back and there was practically no seafood on offer. I had the fish and chips and this was excellent but I missed the mussels I had greatly enjoyed on my last visit. Please keep up the standards you have but also take advantage of the wonderful seafood you have on your doorstep and put some on your menus!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Willie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the ARISAIG HOTEL for one night on the way up to Skye for a short break .We enjoyed the experience so much we decided to book two further nights on the way back.We have been going to the Arisaig area for 38 years and know this hotel well.Now under new ownership it has been transformed to a first class establishment ,with all new bathrooms,beds and decor.friendly and attentive staff,and very good breakfast.The single beds in our twin room were very comfortable ( I am 6'3"and 21stone)and had the best nights sleep.Have booked four nights for the end of April.Looking forward to it.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MattJune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wishaw, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

We have been visiting this hotel for some 14-15 years. The last few years have seen standards slip; décor fade and a once outstanding hotel become below standard. We have just stayed for 2 nights in Rm 8 which is in my opinion one of the best rooms with an excellent view and very spacious.
Greeted by Penny and Yvonne like old friends we were made to feel welcome and comfortable straight away. Our room had been newly decorated and had new double glazed windows and a shower over the bath ( a much needed addition). Meals were eaten in the hotel on both evenings and while the menu is not huge the food is tasty and well cooked. Coffee and liquor in the residents lounge in front of the roaring fire topped off a great meal and a lovely weekend (thanks for lighting the fire Geoff!)
Breakfast in the newly painted and redesigned dining room was a delight the scrambled eggs and smoked salmon were a delicious.
Safe to say we will be back, standards have improved 100% and this should certainly be a place to visit and stay if you are in the area!

Room Tip: Room 8 is a superior double, but worth paying a little extra for the super king bed; fabulous view a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sparra53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

If you have to stay in the area and there is nowhere else to stay, the Arisaig Hotel will do in a pinch. I would not stay here out of choice ever again and certainly not for £75 per person! We were attending a wedding nearby and this was the only place left with availability in the surrounding area.

We were greeted in a bizarre manner by reception, where they appeared surprised to have guests despite it being time for check in. We ended up with three different rooms because the first room that we got was freezing, with no heating working and no hot water. When we asked if it was possible to rectify this situation, we were told that the heating would be put on but "takes a while for it to reach the top floor... if at all". I don't understand how this is considered acceptable for a hotel.

After waiting for the heating to come on for 30 minutes and with a wedding to attend, we asked if it would be possible to change rooms. Unsurprisingly they had a number of rooms still available. We got moved to the room across the hall and after waiting for another hour and being unable to get ready because it was freezing (im not even exaggerating), we spoke to staff again.

It was during this discussion with staff that we came upon (i believe the male owner) a male who looked us up and down, sneered and turned away without acknowledgement of our 'Excuse me'. It took us a while to actually hold his attention long enough to request another room change and one with heat this time. Surely not much to expect for £150 for a room? His response to this was to touch a radiator and say "the heating is on". Sorry but that doesn't solve the temperature issue in our room unless he was offering his office as our new accommodation.

After much to-ing and fro-ing, we moved to our THIRD and final room however this was a twin room rather than the double that we had booked. By this time, we had to get ready to go to the wedding and this would have to make do. Absolutely outrageous lack of customer service.

Food in the bar at dinner was nice. Breakfast was not.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KK0626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Augustus, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

Despite some negative reviews, I found the hotel/restaurant staff extremely friendly, food very good, the atmosphere was very relaxed and the room extremely comfortable and large, with fantastic views. The bed was so comfortable and huge!!
We were spoiled for choice at breakfast so decided on a full Scottish breakfast and salmon and scrambled eggs and shared both between us. For me, the relaxed atmosphere was most welcomed.

Room Tip: Room 8 had views over the shore from 2 sides of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arisaig
0.0 mi away
Old Library Lodge And Restaurant
6.5 mi away
West Highland Hotel
West Highland Hotel
#1 of 3 in Mallaig
4.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
16.3 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Morar Hotel
Morar Hotel
#1 of 1 in Morar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
10.8 mi away
Mingarry Park Luxury Accommodation & Restaurant
48.3 mi away
Toravaig House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arisaig Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arisaig Hotel

Property: Arisaig Hotel
Address: Inverness-shire, Arisaig PH39 4NH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Arisaig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Arisaig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arisaig Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Arisaig Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arisaig Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing