We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cnoc-na-Faire

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Arisaig
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cnoc-na-Faire
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Arisaig
Brough
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“First Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

A wonderful setting with views to die for, the hospitality was second to none making us feel very welcome. We called in, having walked the mile or so from the Sunnyside caravan site for a lunch time drink and were completely taken by the genuine friendly welcome we received, so much so we booked a table for dinner. The meal, service, and friendliness was first class.

We where also very grateful for the offer to drive us back to the caravan site as it was pouring with rain, but after another drink the rain stopped and we decided to walk. We have not received hospitality like that before, and it made the evening.

Thanks to all the staff for a wonderful experience and to David who made the day so memorable many thanks. We will definitely make the 350 mile trip again very soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SBSBrough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    30
    12
    4
    3
See reviews for
25
105
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

We went here for dinner last week as we were stay at the nearby caravan site. We opted for a bar meal, the bar was lovely & relaxed, menu was varied, staff were lovely and friendly. Would definately recommend!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScotlandJaguar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

The position of this hotel is fantastic.

The hotel is comfortable and excellent for a couple of nights. The beds are extremely comfy and the showers super. However the Canna room is very small and you are now able to walk around the bed unless you do it sideways. The storage space is also too small for a week. The menu is only changed monthly so this is not good is you want an evening meal each night.

The week we were there there was no WIFI and the management did not seem to think this was a problem.

However the staff were very helpful and friendly in other ways.

Room Tip: Do not chose Canna, Erinsay i understand is bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yorkengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

We arrived yesterday after a long drive from the north, we were made to feel completely at home, relaxed and we were even cooked lunch long after the kitchen had closed. We will definitely be returning to stay, thanks folks

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcrt2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights in mid April and all was well for the first night. Things started to go wrong when we dined in the restaurant on the following night. Don't try the langoustines - 3 portions sent back as totally overcooked and inedible. From this point the previously pleasant staff became very cool and shirty, which carried on for the rest of our stay. Also check your bill if you have to return food - it's likely you'll still be charged.
We decanted to the bar to be informed that it was closing (10.30pm). It later transpired that the owners were away on holiday and all the staff were off a party in the village. (When the cat's away .........'
Later attempts to communicate with the owners proved futile as rather than address the issues they referred us to signs in the hotel, the hotel directory and the fact that it was an Inn not a Hotel.
I bring a large number of international travellers to Scotland each year and would not recommend this 'Inn' to any of them. It brings to mind past days when poor hotel (or Inn) service in Scotland could be explained by 'remember where you are'. Attitudes and service don't seem to have changed.
Avoid. Local tourist board take note.

Room Tip: Don't bother, stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mcpheerw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

I have never stayed here before but decided to book when planning a weekend away with my mum. After arriving on the Friday night the weather was a little damp so we decided to eat in the restaurant an have a couple of drinks in the bar. The breakfasts were brilliant and nothing was any trouble for the staff. I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and would stay here myself again

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lightning88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Once again we have enjoyed a wonderful stay at the Cnoc-na-Faire. The staff are great and nothing is too much trouble. We arrived on the Saturday and walked from the station in the rain (undeterred by choosing the only part of the British Isles not to bask in the bank holiday sunshine). Weatherwise we remained in a permanent state of 'damp' for the whole of the trip apart from the tuesday which was fair. One of the joys of the Cnoc-na-Faire is that it does not matter what the weather is doing because you are so well looked after. We ate in the restaurant most nights and the food as always was fabulous.

We also discovered the joys of the local buses which run slightly more frequently than the trains. The driver on both our journeys seems to know and be known by everyone and was very helpful to us holidaymakers.

On our last morning we were, as usual, taken to the station for our train and waved off both of us thinking why the hell were we leaving such a wonderful place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChorleySandgrownun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arisaig
0.9 mi away
Arisaig Hotel
Arisaig Hotel
#1 of 3 in Arisaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.9 mi away
Old Library Lodge And Restaurant
5.8 mi away
West Highland Hotel
West Highland Hotel
#1 of 3 in Mallaig
4.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Morar Hotel
Morar Hotel
#1 of 1 in Morar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
15.6 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
3.1 mi away
Arisaig House
Arisaig House
#1 of 6 in Arisaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cnoc-na-Faire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cnoc-na-Faire

Property: Cnoc-na-Faire
Address: Back of Keppoch, Arisaig PH39 4NS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Arisaig
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Arisaig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Cnoc-Na-Faire Hotel Arisaig
Cnoc-Na-Faire Arisaig, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing