We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great camp site” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Camusdarach

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arisaig
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Camusdarach
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeenahire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great camp site”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

A beautifully located campsite a few minutes walk from the gorgeous beach used in Local Hero and other films. The owners were friendly and extremely helpful and have ideas to improve the site with a shop for next year. Freezing blocks to keep food chilled and charging phones and iPods was offered before we even asked. Toilets were cleaned regularly although at times hand towels were in short supply, I expect due to too many being taken at a time.
The site was busy, yet we were nor crammed in. There was plenty space round our tents for the children to play. There is no play park, but the kids entertained themselves happily enough. There could be short waits at the showers, but nothing to complain about.
The sunsets over Skye, Eigg and Rum were breathtaking.
The butcher van which visits on a Tuesday and Friday had great meats as well as other provisions such as fruit, veg, bakery and sweets.
We had booked in for 3 nights but stayed a week. Looking forward to returning in a few years to see what improvements the new owners have made.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    14
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
67
45
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

My wife used to holiday here when she was a child and has been keen to return ever since — now I know why...Camusdarach really is a stunning campsite.

The new owners are extremely hard-working, helpful and jolly. The site is well-protected by the trees and hedges, so you won't feel as exposed to the elements as with many other coastal sites.

The glorious white sandy beaches are literally a 2/3 minute walk away and you could spend days soaking up the stunning views of Rum, Eigg and Muck, paddling in the sea (a bit too cold for swimming!) and rock-pooling.

The toilet/shower block was always clean, tidy and well-stocked.

Another nice detail? The ground was absolutely perfect for banging in all those tent pegs — they went in like a dream without constantly hitting against stones and the like...

Thoroughly recommended for any fan of the west coast. If you had the amazing weather that we enjoyed, it makes for a perfect holiday!

Room Tip: Make sure you book to avoid disappointment!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jack L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
227 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

I'm a newbie to camping but I think I'm a convert if I can go to places like Causdarach. As kayakers, it is not the nearest campsite to the water for launching although the gorgeous beach is only a short stroll away on foot.
The owners are really easy going and accommodating and don't mind campers traipsing in and out of their kitchen at anytime (although I think plans are afoot to create a 'reception' area). They even chilled our champagne (well, I had to have some luxuries...).
The toilet block is kept scrupulously clean and we met several members of the family sneaking n at 11.30pm at night to have it squeaky clean for the following morning.
This place seems to attract friendly, easy going, respectful campers. It is featured in a book called 'Cool Camping' and deserves all the rave reviews it receives.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank foxxylizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lochawe
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

What a fantastic Campsite very clean and tidy and the hospitality of the owners was exceptional and very friendly, when we arrived the campsite was full but they kindley slotted us in which was a blessing with 2 young children in the car desperate to camp for the night! We will deffinately return here. Would reccommend to anyone who asks.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhona R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

There is honestly no place more beautiful than Arisaig, especially when the sun is shining, and this campsite is sheer perfection. The new owners treat you like family and fellow campers are friendly and courteous. We will be back as soon as possible.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Skippercat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunblane, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

This was my third visit to this site. The new owners are so very helpful. The site is clean and tidy and now benefits from free Wi-Fi, which is a god send for those of us who have to work whilst on holday - or just enjoy uploading photos onto FB.

You feel instantly relaxed when you go on site. The site is well laid out (not uniform!) and has hardstanding and electrical hook ups.

Things to do - walking, MTB and roadbiking.

I can't wait to get back

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank THT1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinbrugh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

I stayed here with friends in May. it is a lovely camp site which is close to the beach. The new owners are very helpful, even allowing us to take our van down through their property to make it easier to get the Kayaks back from the beach. The toilets are always cleaned - I saw the owners cleaning them about 3 times a day which is more than on other camp sites.

Would definitely recommend the site.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annemarietierney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arisaig
0.0 mi away
Arisaig Hotel
Arisaig Hotel
#1 of 3 in Arisaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.0 mi away
West Highland Hotel
West Highland Hotel
#1 of 3 in Mallaig
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
0.0 mi away
Old Library Lodge And Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Morar Hotel
Morar Hotel
#1 of 1 in Morar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Glen Nevis Caravan and Camping Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camusdarach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camusdarach

Property: Camusdarach
Address: | Camusdarach Lodge, Arisaig PH39 4NT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Arisaig
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Arisaig
Number of rooms: 42
Also Known As:
Camusdarach Arisaig, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing