We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special place”
Review of Camusdarach

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arisaig
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Camusdarach
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeenshire
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“A special place”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

I'm a newbie to camping but I think I'm a convert if I can go to places like Causdarach. As kayakers, it is not the nearest campsite to the water for launching although the gorgeous beach is only a short stroll away on foot.
The owners are really easy going and accommodating and don't mind campers traipsing in and out of their kitchen at anytime (although I think plans are afoot to create a 'reception' area). They even chilled our champagne (well, I had to have some luxuries...).
The toilet block is kept scrupulously clean and we met several members of the family sneaking n at 11.30pm at night to have it squeaky clean for the following morning.
This place seems to attract friendly, easy going, respectful campers. It is featured in a book called 'Cool Camping' and deserves all the rave reviews it receives.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank foxxylizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    14
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
77
51
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lochawe
2 reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2012

What a fantastic Campsite very clean and tidy and the hospitality of the owners was exceptional and very friendly, when we arrived the campsite was full but they kindley slotted us in which was a blessing with 2 young children in the car desperate to camp for the night! We will deffinately return here. Would reccommend to anyone who asks.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhona R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

There is honestly no place more beautiful than Arisaig, especially when the sun is shining, and this campsite is sheer perfection. The new owners treat you like family and fellow campers are friendly and courteous. We will be back as soon as possible.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skippercat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunblane, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

This was my third visit to this site. The new owners are so very helpful. The site is clean and tidy and now benefits from free Wi-Fi, which is a god send for those of us who have to work whilst on holday - or just enjoy uploading photos onto FB.

You feel instantly relaxed when you go on site. The site is well laid out (not uniform!) and has hardstanding and electrical hook ups.

Things to do - walking, MTB and roadbiking.

I can't wait to get back

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank THT1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinbrugh
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

I stayed here with friends in May. it is a lovely camp site which is close to the beach. The new owners are very helpful, even allowing us to take our van down through their property to make it easier to get the Kayaks back from the beach. The toilets are always cleaned - I saw the owners cleaning them about 3 times a day which is more than on other camp sites.

Would definitely recommend the site.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annemarietierney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

We booked this campsite last minute, planned to stay for four nights and ended up staying eight! The site has a wonderful laid back feel to it thanks to the friendly and welcoming new owners, who very kindly let us chill freezer packs down at their house every day and charge a mobile phone when needed (which they even had a spare charger for when ours broke!).
The campsite itself has two fields, one next to woodland and access to the beach, the other has the toilet block and pitches with power. We camped in the larger field, which was mostly flat with great views of the amazing sunsets if you're feeling a little too relaxed to make the five minute walk to the beach, and also catches enough of a sea breeze most of the time to keep the dreaded midges at bay.

The toilet block was always clean and well looked after even after a busy weekend, and has - oh joy of joys - real showers with temp control, instead of the push button ones with 7 secs of water you get on some campsites.

Loved this campsite and its location next to amazing sandy beaches and will definitely visit again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alimagpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

3 of us camped and were blown away by the help we received after turning up last minute due to a mix-up with a hostel. A local drove us to the campsite from Mallaig, and the hotel co-owner Jade drove us to Arisaig to do shopping and pick-up a friend from the train station. The camp location is idyllic being close to the beach and there were bundles of bluebells all around. The beach itself was beautiful with gorgeous Mediterrean-style clear waters and rocks. We were shocked! The toilet and shower block was cute and well-maintained. We would definitely return to this site in future.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arisaig
0.0 mi away
Morar Hotel
Morar Hotel
#1 of 1 in Morar
145 reviews
0.0 mi away
Arisaig Hotel
Arisaig Hotel
#1 of 3 in Arisaig
304 reviews
0.0 mi away
Old Library Lodge And Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
West Highland Hotel
West Highland Hotel
#1 of 3 in Mallaig
583 reviews
0.0 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
146 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glen Nevis Caravan and Camping Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camusdarach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camusdarach

Property: Camusdarach
Address: | Camusdarach Lodge, Arisaig PH39 4NT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Arisaig
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Arisaig
Number of rooms: 42
Also Known As:
Camusdarach Arisaig, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing