We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic wonderful place, a huge must”
Review of Arisaig House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Arisaig House
Ranked #1 of 5 Arisaig B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This has to be the best place to stay, you are made so welcome. The owners, staff etc are the best ever.
Will defo be back soon, and was the perfect way to finish the end Of our trip.

Thank you Sarah and all xxx

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MuseumLead123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (194)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 194 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed 3 nights and ate dinner twice. The house was full of family and guests and dogs but felt relaxed and welcoming. We loved Sarah's cooking, especially the home grown vegetables and local seafood. Nothing was too much trouble; a flask of tea for our walks, a booking for sea kayaking on the bay, and advice about other places to eat. Our room, the Nevis was spacious and had lovely views over the garden towards the sea. All the staff were very friendly and natural; no sign of the stuffy formality that you get in chain hotels. One or two things would make things even better, such as a choice of cheese or dessert at dinner, and maybe more wines available by the glass or half litre carafe. But overall we loved the place and hope to return soon.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mauntenmeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We have stayed twice at Arisaig - for a week each time.
It is a friendly, family-run hotel. Not at all grand or institutional, more like a large comfortable country house.
Friendly staff.
Beautiful grounds and views.
Wonderful scenery, beaches, walking, golf etc all round

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrewhj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

We recently stayed 3 nights for a family wedding and had a wonderful, relaxing stay. We spent our first two nights in one of the cottages and the last night in the main house in the Shiel room. Overall the place was very clean, nicely decorated and the staff were friendly and efficient. Other than being so far from Leeds, the location was wonderful with stunning views. The best night was in the main house which was extremely luxurious and I would love to stay here again! The cooked breakfast was gorgeous, especially the haggis and locally smoked bacon. Perfect place for a wedding or a walking vacation.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruthiecullen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

I stayed for 5 nights and was made to feel incredibly welcome. Sarah the host was marvellous and her cooking absolutely top notch. On a couple of nights we had wonderful local seafood and lobster which I helped harvest in a little boat. As we pottered about on the boat I could hear in my head the haunting theme music from the film Local Hero; for the beautiful views of the sea were filmed here. My room was lovely with a very comfortable bed which was made up with crisp white linen. The bathroom was comfortably modern with piles of soft white towels and lovely smelling soaps and shampoos. The view from my bedroom was amazing and I could see miles of unspoilt coastline and sea. I certainly got plenty of exercise during my stay; I walked up hills, kayaked on the sea and cycled along tracks, which was good given the irresitibility of the food. I cant wait to have the opportunity to stay at Arisaig house again.

Room Tip: my room was perfect but I think there were lots that were equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We stayed at Arisaig House for 4 nights and were made to feel very welcome. The house is extremely comfortable and relaxed with lovely grounds and open spaces for walks. Sarah's cooking was excellent and nothing as too much for her or her very capable staff. The large double room was very comfortable with views across the loch, beautiful! We hope to return to this part of Scotland soon and will certainly be staying at Arisaig House.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

One night at Arisaig House was not enough, now that we have discovered this little Highland gem we will definitely be making a return, sooner rather than later. After receiving a warm welcome from our host Sarah, I headed 4 miles along the road to Traigh (pronounced Try) golf club, a challenging little 9-hole course.
With stunning views across the Sound of Sleet to the islands of Skye, Eigg, Rhum and Muck, and only £20 for a day-ticket, my round was a memorable experience. Our beautifully furnished suite, the Nevis, had dual aspect windows, overlooking the rose garden and the bay in the distance.
After a relaxing gin and tonic in the bar we enjoyed a fabulous dinner, prepared by Sarah herself. Locally sourced meat, seafood and game, augmented by herbs and vegetables from her own garden made for an unforgettable dining experience - the venison was the tenderest we have ever tasted.
We have stayed in top-class establishments all over the world, but for the first time ever, my wife did not want to go home - that says it all.

Room Tip: Eight of the 10 rooms face the sea and gardens so good chance of getting one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arisaig
2.3 mi away
Arisaig Hotel
Arisaig Hotel
#1 of 3 in Arisaig
317 reviews
2.2 mi away
Old Library Lodge And Restaurant
5.1 mi away
Morar Hotel
Morar Hotel
#1 of 1 in Morar
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
West Highland Hotel
West Highland Hotel
#1 of 3 in Mallaig
626 reviews
17.2 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
17.8 mi away
Mingarry Park Luxury Accommodation & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arisaig House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arisaig House

Address: Beasdale, Arisaig PH39 4NR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Arisaig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Arisaig
Price Range: $234 - $367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arisaig House is a luxurious but homely guest house offering freshly prepared seasonal meals, picnic lunches, homemade treats and the chance to really put your feet up! Set within 19 acres of landscaped gardens and woodland A typical bedroom will have its share of views: the rose garden, the woodland garden beyond, and to the sea and maybe an island or two. The wonderful light is a constantly changing backdrop with the chance of a finale of a full west coast sunset blazing and gradually fading. Peace and comfort pervade. Our kitchen is supported by its own seasonal garden produce and a positive galaxy of local specialities: Seafood - lobster, scallops, crabs, local fresh salmon, smoked salmon and oysters - in demand worldwide but fresh on our doorstep; venison, game and hill lamb in their season. There's really no shortage of food pleasures at any time of year. Picnic lunches are another speciality, with all that walking country out there and a host of things to see and do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Arisaig House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arisaig House Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing