We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, fantastic views and charming hosts.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Old Library Lodge And Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Arisaig
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent food, fantastic views and charming hosts.”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

We stayed here over the Easter weekend -the weather was brilliant and we were able to get out in the local area. On the first night we enjoyed great food in the restaurant and excellent wine at sensible prices. The staff chatted to us and let us know about a Ceiliadh in the community hall, which we attended with another guest from France-what a night!!!!!!!! they know how to dance!!!! even the young ones were up and everyone took the time to guide me through the steps, danced for three hours and slept like a log in the lovely room with a wonderfull view -room 5 what a fab shower I wanted to take it home.
On the second evening we had a quiter night and the food was just as good as the first night, we missed breakfast and the charming hosts offered to make us a pot of coffee before we left,
If you cant stay and are in the area please book in advance as it was sad to see the look of disappointment on a couples faces when they could not get a table.
We'll be back as soon as we can.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 192nectar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    70
    19
    6
    1
See reviews for
47
187
24
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

Recommended by the owner of our B&B, we arrived in the Old Library and Lodge on a typical cold and blustery night and were offered a table in front of the fire. The restaurant has been tastefully decorated and a lot of care has been taken in the presentation- even in the loos! The food was delicious and the portions very large. My boyfriend and I both had the lemon sole special and struggled to finish. We were offered some small complimentary tasting spoons as we perused the menus and it is little touches like this which really made the Library and Lodge a pleasure to visit.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lauren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

The food was outstanding- fresh, well presented and very tasty. Service was excellent, we felt welcome and not hurried even when the only people left, full menu was available even though we were there out of season. Food isn't cheap but well worth it, wine is very reasonable at under £20 a bottle.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank londonholiday09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portknockie, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Stayed for the weekend and had a brilliant time in Airisaig. The room was clean, comfortable and well furnished with an LCD TV (excellent picture !!) and alarm clock. The bed was very comfortable and the bathrooom clean and modern. The shower had a lot of power which was good, not all accomodations do. The highlight though was the food served by the new owners, it really was a cracking menu of the highest quality, cooked to perfection, and my girlfriend and I looked forward to mealtimes. The menu was inventive and the complimentary canape's a nice touch. They too were delicious !! .. I would list the highlights of the menu but to be honest you cannot go wrong with any choice. Service was very prompt and friendly and the all round experience was just excellent. Will be returning to Arisaig and will be making sure the Old Library is where we stay and eat. Excellent all round.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopeman, Moray
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

One of three restaurants we ate at during our stay in the area, which was recommended to my wife and I. The recommendation was spot on as we had a lovely meal.
Made to feel very welcome, the service was prompt and friendly. Water was served to us straight away and a plate of canapés to start our evening meal in a lovely way. Our main courses were lovely and the sweets we chose very yummy.
If you are staying in the area when the season gets going and make a booking as I don't think you will get a table otherwise!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Moraytattler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We had a wonderful one night stay here in March. A last minute booking. Recommend booking a table and eating in the dining area. New owners (very recently) but they are making a great job of it. Do not miss breakfast. It was a long way from home but we would return here. Unashamedly good score!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeamBrownRice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, USA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in Room#5 which has a nice view of the Loch.

Pros: Clean room, Very nice shower, really pleasant staff, bus station across the street, train station is a 15-minute slow walk, good food made w/ local ingredients at the restaurant, location is in the village center w/ easy access to some nice walks

Cons: Common room is uninviting & really needs a remodel to match the quality of the bedrooms. This is only a minor complaint.

Please note: others have commented that the price for dinner is expensive, but I found it to be a fair value for the quality you get. As a gauge, I dine out quite a lot in a metropolitan city and have ended up paying more for less than the quality I received at this lodge.

All in all, a very pleasant stay in a VERY TINY but nice village. Would recommend for anybody.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bandoodie :
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arisaig
0.0 mi away
Arisaig Hotel
Arisaig Hotel
#1 of 3 in Arisaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
6.5 mi away
West Highland Hotel
West Highland Hotel
#1 of 3 in Mallaig
4.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
10.8 mi away
Mingarry Park Luxury Accommodation & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Morar Hotel
Morar Hotel
#1 of 1 in Morar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
48.3 mi away
Toravaig House Hotel
16.3 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Library Lodge And Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Library Lodge And Restaurant

Property: Old Library Lodge And Restaurant
Address: Road to the Isles, Arisaig PH39 4NH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Arisaig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Arisaig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Library Lodge And Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Old Library Lodge And Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Library Lodge And Restaurant Hotel Arisaig
Old Library Hotel
Old Library Arisaig
Old Library Lodge And Restaurant Arisaig, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing