We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Old Library Lodge And Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Arisaig
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A warm welcome”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

The welcome at the Old Library Arisaig was warm, the accommodation very comfortable, the views from the dining room amazing and the meals themselves excellent. Arisaig is a very interesting place to visit with a variety of good walks and other activities and this is the hotel to stay in for your visit!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    71
    19
    5
    1
See reviews for
47
188
24
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carnoustie
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Arriving in Arisaig last Saturday in the rain and mist, we received a warm friendly greeting from mine host, and our room was as advertised, looking out through the mist and rain westwards to what is on a clear day a glorious view.

The evening meal however was somewhat disappointing. The Dining room was not overly warm, the heat from the stove effectively blocked to the whole room by a table right in front of it(lucky people sitting there.) There was also a constant draught from behind the bar area and door leading to the toilets, as I had to get up a few times to close the door during our meal. Irritating.

The menu looked promising with specials advertised. However, everything seemed to be done at high speed. No offer of a pre dinner drink while perusing the menu, and my choice of wine by the glass caused a problem, as it initially was not available, until pointed out that the wine list specifically stated it was.The friendly waitress took our order, prawns in filo starters, although suspiciously industrial, were tasty enough. No sooner had we finished, than the vegetables arrived, very bland bowl of potatoes, carrots and sugar snap peas, which accompanied every dish. My wife's Mallaig haddock in Dunsyre Blue cheese was apparently well cooked, but rather smothered by a heavy sauce. My pork loin in apple and brandy was not good, covered in an indifferent sauce, lacking any tenderness or flavour. I explained to the waitress it was tough, and she said it would be mentioned to the chef. Nothing of that was heard. The dessert menu appeared thereafter at breakneck speed, as if everyone had to be out by 8.30pm. We managed to stall our selection for a while, and to be fair, when ordered, the sticky toffee pudding was excellent. We managed to get a move away from the draught later, and were asked, about 9.30ish if we wanted coffee, before the urn was turned off. A strange way of doing. So for the meal maybe 6/10, as it was also somewhat overpriced.

The real disappointment probably lies with the innumerable reviews that say how good this establishment is -foodwise for us, sadly it was not quite what other reviews had promised.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IanCarnoustie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 9, 2013

My wife and I only stayed here for one night but wish it could have been more. We have stayed on the West coast of Scotland many times but Arisaig is one of the most beautiful places we have been to and the Old Library is the perfect place in which to stay. Our room was large and very comfortable, the service from host and hostess Robert and MaryAnn and their staff was very welcoming while the food was uniformly excellent. (My wife was particularly enthusiastic about the kippers she had for breakfast, with Robert explaining their provenance and giving her tips on how to cook them - but it was all great.) We would love to go back, and recommend it wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sejanus13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

It takes 35 hours to get to the old library from Australia; though if you make it the reward is high. Robert is a fantasic host and the old library is a jewel in the wee town of Arisaig. If you ever make it to Arisaig or the surrounds this is the place to stay.

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank shadzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Have enjoyed the Old Library for a number of years. Significantly the standards have continued to be maintained thanks to Robert the chef / owner. His pleasant persona and outstanding talents as a chef permeates the establishment and makes every visit an outstanding treat. Added to this are the long term staff who year on year provide the continuity so much appreciated by the guests who frequent this gem. Although only six rooms are available there is a high level of quality and comfort.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kilcreggan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 2, 2013

A very pretty, homely hotel with warm, friendly attention given by Robert. Excellent evening meal enjoyed. Room was very neat and comfortable with all amenities required. I do not hesitate to recommend this hotel to any one.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IlsePretoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed with Robert for one night on our way to Skye,an excellent room ,host and evening meal. It's official ,Robert's marmalade pudding is better than than that at The Three Chimneys on Skye and that's saying something,would certainly visit again. AJP

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alastair P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arisaig
0.0 mi away
Arisaig Hotel
Arisaig Hotel
#1 of 3 in Arisaig
286 reviews
6.5 mi away
West Highland Hotel
West Highland Hotel
#1 of 3 in Mallaig
545 reviews
10.8 mi away
Mingarry Park Luxury Accommodation & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Morar Hotel
Morar Hotel
#1 of 1 in Morar
132 reviews
16.3 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
3.2 mi away
GlenanCross GuestHouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Library Lodge And Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Library Lodge And Restaurant

Property: Old Library Lodge And Restaurant
Address: Road to the Isles, Arisaig PH39 4NH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Arisaig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Arisaig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Library Lodge And Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Hotels.com and HRS so you can book your Old Library Lodge And Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Library Lodge And Restaurant Hotel Arisaig
Old Library Hotel
Old Library Arisaig
Old Library Lodge And Restaurant Arisaig, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing