We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Old Library Lodge And Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Arisaig
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Excellent location and food”
Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

Very friendly service from Robert and his staff,a warm and comfortable room with a garden view. Excellent location with a view of the bay and amazing food at both breakfast and dinner. Looking forward to my next visit

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shlag15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    74
    22
    5
    1
See reviews for
49
195
24
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

....we arrived 9th Feb and found ourselves the first guests of the new year. We were greeted by Robert; relaxed, friendly and very efficient check-in. The room was spacious, clean and had the all important free wi-Fi (shame on you city centre hotels for not providing the same). We'd booked dinner and, although early in the season, we were delighted to see langoustines (prawns) and lobster on the menu. The veg was lovely and fresh and not a chip to be seen. Robert showing his skill as a chef not just a hotelier. Next morning, cooked breakfast for us and salmon/scrambled egg for our son. Great. Arisaig boasts some great walking and don't miss Larachmhor Garden just outside the village.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scobesfoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

We chose The Old Library on account of the excellent reviews it had received and we were not disappointed. The weather was not brilliant but the food and hospitality more than made up for it!
We would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 01282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

What a beautiful place! Was only visiting Arisaig for one night and expected a run of the mill B&B but this hotel is so much more! The owner, Robert, was so friendly right from the moment we arrived. He made us feel so welcome and we were shown to a lovely room with a terrace that looked on to a secluded garden. The room was cosy, beautifully decorated and very modern. The en suite was fully equipped with quality towels and toiletries and the shower was amazing! The whole place was spotless. The room also had a great flat screen tv and free wifi. We had our meal in the hotel that night and it was delicious. The menu was excellent all food was freshly prepared. I had the monk fish - yummy! - with potatoes and veg followed by the best sticky toffee pudding ever! My friend had the steak followed by the cheeseboard and thoroughly enjoyed it. The waiting staff were lovely and friendly and made sure we had everything we needed without being intrusive. Robert took the time to come out and chat to the guests to make sure things were ok. Breakfast next morning was first class! Plenty of choice of cereal, juice etc and options for cooked breakfast with toast, tea, coffee etc. We had the full Scottish breakfast. It was served freshly prepared and lovely and warm. The quality of the food could not be faulted. I really hope to visit again. The village is stunning and finding such a brilliant place to stay made it even better. The train journey there and back was amazing with some of the most breathtaking scenery anywhere in the world. Well done to Robert and his staff for giving tourists such a great example of Scottish hospitality.

Room Tip: If our room was anything to go by, there won't be any bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greenbee3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed for one night on dinner and room basis.

Our room was at the front of the house and looked over the bay - stunning views particularly at sunset - it was also very tasteful, clean and comfortable.

But what made our stay was the multi- talented host Robert from Drum Shapel :) Entertaining but never imposing with culinary skills that puts the majority Highland restaurants costing many times more to shame. In particular his Venison pie was fantastic - good portions too!

We are always surprised at the poor service and food quality available in the rural highlands - Robert you must expand further a field for the sake of he future of our tourist industry and to drive standards up!

Thank you Robert et all for a wonderful stay - a great spot, tasteful and good value too - very much a rarity in the Highlands!

Room Tip: Front room looking over the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OldBeardywonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 4, 2012

The Old Library Lodge and Restaurant, Arisaig, hosted by Robert, a whiz in the kitchen, a gastronomical experience, complimented by efficient and friendly staff. Delightful accommodation, we extended our stay at the Old Library to 4 nights because it was first class all the way.
Forbes and Barbara, Melbourne, Australia.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Forbes L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASh Vale
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

My wife and I visited Scotland again and looked for a small hotel/B&B, on the north west coast this time, we looked at the Arisaig Hotel and after looking at the reviews (not favourable) decided that wasnt for us then we looked at The Old Library and thought we would give it a try due to the good reviews.
We were really glad we did because, what a place, small (apart from our room) which was just eye poppingly large very comfortable, very clean and kept tidy and clean by the chamber staff. We decided to book a table in the restaurant the first night, the menu is very good with specials and the food was just superb so we reserved a table again for the second night. WOW I think that says it all. You must try the Prince Charlie pudding with drambuie cream!!!! lip smacking and so is the whiskey oatmeal ice cream (just melts). The breakfast menu was just as good.
Robert is an extremely good host nothing is too much trouble, he also is a fine chef, the staff are all very friendly and attentive.
Our room overlooked the raised gardens and was very pretty, the outlook from the restaurant was the seascape, just stunning.
This is the ideal place to visit the Islands from, and only a few miles from car/passenger ferries.
We can certainly recommend this accommodation to anyone.
Thanks Robert to you and your staff, we will see you again next year earlier in the summer.
PS thank you for the recipe.
Terry

Room Tip: We never Stayed in the main building, but in the annexe room 2, can recommend it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tmbr1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arisaig
0.0 mi away
Arisaig Hotel
Arisaig Hotel
#1 of 3 in Arisaig
304 reviews
4.1 mi away
Morar Hotel
Morar Hotel
#1 of 1 in Morar
145 reviews
6.5 mi away
West Highland Hotel
West Highland Hotel
#1 of 3 in Mallaig
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Mingarry Park Luxury Accommodation & Restaurant
11.9 mi away
Loch Shiel Hotel
Loch Shiel Hotel
#2 of 2 in Acharacle
77 reviews
16.3 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Library Lodge And Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Library Lodge And Restaurant

Property: Old Library Lodge And Restaurant
Address: Road to the Isles, Arisaig PH39 4NH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Arisaig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Arisaig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Library Lodge And Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Old Library Lodge And Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Library Lodge And Restaurant Hotel Arisaig
Old Library Hotel
Old Library Arisaig
Old Library Lodge And Restaurant Arisaig, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing