We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arisaig
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunnyside Croft Touring and Camping Site
Certificate of Excellence
east kilbride
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love it”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We have stayed in the caravan 3 times and its home from home. Very comfortable and spacious, we have seen the campsite been built from scratch and all the work julie and ian have put into this, was great to see the campsite full this year. Well done julie and ian, cya soon x

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cgllchr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    22
    6
    4
    9
See reviews for
81
114
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kelso, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

This site is the best-run, best-kept one in the whole area! The facilities are kept spotlessly-clean, well-stocked (nothing worse than having no toilet paper in the middle of the night!) and kept at a consistently warm (monitored) level regardless of time of year.

The wash-rooms are locked ..... but we believe this helps maintain the high standards ..... lets be honest, it isn't a hardship to remember to take a key each time you need to use the facilities.

The site-shop is kept well-stocked, with a varied selection of locally sourced products on sale at reasonable cost. There are also some souvenirs of the site itself, should you wish to have a memento of your stay!
There is a house .... singular .... being built (near-completion) on the land adjacent to the site .... hardly the building site as mentioned in some previous posts. Noise and disruption from this were negligible and completely out-with the site-owners control in any case!

In an ideal world, it would be fantastic to have the site right at the waters edge, however it is only a couple of minutes walk along the road and down a path to the beach. We usually kayak & canoe when we are at Sunnyside and do not find it a problem, as we use a trolley and leave the equipment down near the gate, ready to use as required. The kayaks can be left safely just inside the fence, no-one goes near them.

There are previous posts claiming the site is not Child-friendly ...... we have had no problems while we have had children at the site, as long as they respect other users privacy and space. There is a no ball-games policy ..... but with a large expanse on beach close-by I don't see how this as a problem. As caravans now can range £10- 15,000 I'd much rather the beach was used, than have someone kicking a ball against our caravan every 5 minutes!

Waste reception facilities are good ...... although in busy periods the recycling bins are often full despite being emptied frequently. The septic waste facilities are available to use 24/7 ..... I fail to see where the use of a key for access is required as one previous poster claimed!

This is not a site for those who want entertainment laid-on ..... or wish to carry-on partying into the wee small-hours ...... however if you are looking for a spotlessly-clean, well-run site where responsible families can have an excellent stress-free holiday, with conscientious hosts (Iain & Julie) who are always willing to help, you can look no further!

Looking forward to our next visit already ........... :-)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mariemac68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

What a great wee site! Spotlessly clean and very well run by the owners. Contrary to previous reviews we were allowed to position our caravan,awning and car anyway we wanted on our pitch. Also we were right next to the building site (a single house being built) mentioned on other reviews and the noise did not trouble us 1 bit. Didn't seem to start too early. We were there with 22, 9 and 3 year old , and they all had a great time especially with the beach 1 min walk from the pitch. Showers and family room great. Would definitely recommend this site to everyone and we will definitely be back.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Pattison family P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

For a first time camper (and the last - its not for me!) the site was perfect. Excellent clean facilties, hot showers, hot water for dishwashing - everything has been thoughtfully provided to make your stay as smooth as possible.
We were lucky to have the nearest pitch to the toilet block so convenient for us.
Stunning views of Eigg from the site and the beach is a few minutes walk.
The owners worked tiredlessly throughout our week's stay to maintain the standards they have obviously worked so hard to achieve. (This is their first full season).
The friends who brough my kids and I found the constant supervision of the site by Ian overbearing and will not be returning.
The reason I won't be returning is the response from Julie when we arrived around 7.30pm.(My friend paid in full for the pitch well in advance & made several email & telephone communications regarding our arrival time being after 6.30pm. Julie denied getting this info). We were told that a phone call to tell them we were going to be late would have been preferred.
I tried to explain that this was the first time I had driven for 9 hours with two children but was talked over & not listened to.
We felt, without doubt, that we were being told off & were told that we could have lost the pitch & other people had called to see if they could be accommodated. There was no acknowledgment of where we had come from or empathy of the journey. Julie did 'soften' after a while and then said 'we were worried that something had happened to you'. This would have been so much better received if she had said this as soon as we arrived. This 'welcome' tarnished the relationship I had with them for the week and I believe that I am a pretty good judge of character & I was never convinced that the communication between the owners and us throughout the week was totally genuine.
I am sure the site will flourish - they work so hard but I agree with another reviewer, their health is at risk if they continue to be the perfectionists they seem to be.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank blod373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We have just a a brilliant few days at Sunnyside and would recommend it to anyone, its so clean and well run, the beach a few minutes walk away with the best sunsets ever. The owners are so friendly and welcoming, we definately will be going back..... and look out for the happy hen

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cathy28748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Augustus, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

What a place. Only a few minutes walk to the beach. Facilties are exceptionally clean and there is even a family room with a BATH! Yippeee. Owners very friendly and experienced campers. Little rock islands to play on in centre of campsite - just be careful in wet. Highly recommended and will be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We hired a motorhome (new experience for us!) for a long weekend in July and were lucky to come across this touring site, via a search on the internet.

Owners Ian and Julie could not have done more for us and they were so friendly and welcoming. We had an excellent pitch for the motorhome - looking straight out to Rum and Eigg, fronted by white sandy beaches. The beach was a very short walk from the site and although we were not lucky with weather, this must be an idyllic spot on a bonnie day.

The hire company had not provided us with a long enough power lead but Ian and Julie were on hand to solve the problem. Huge thanks to them for all their attention to us novice motorhomers.

The facilities were pristine and having a key to the toilets and showers was absolutely no problem. Ian and Julie clearly work very hard to keep everything in this condition and clearly are concerned about the environment - could not fault their attitude and the site.

We had our two year old granddaughter with us and she loved the baby changing room - with a comfortable wee bath. Julie and Ian deserve to have great success with their endeavour - loved the extra touches, like the laminated map of the area displayed on the wall of the facilities block. Everything was well designed and blended in with the surrounding landscape.

Congratulations to them for excellent facilities and a warm welcome; all set in the stunning landscape of one of the bonniest areas in Scotland.


We will definitley be back in better weather!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scotmjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arisaig
1.6 mi away
Arisaig Hotel
Arisaig Hotel
#1 of 3 in Arisaig
297 reviews
1.6 mi away
Old Library Lodge And Restaurant
3.0 mi away
Morar Hotel
Morar Hotel
#1 of 1 in Morar
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Mingarry Park Luxury Accommodation & Restaurant
5.2 mi away
West Highland Hotel
West Highland Hotel
#1 of 3 in Mallaig
572 reviews
16.0 mi away
The Prince's House Hotel
The Prince's House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Glenfinnan
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunnyside Croft Touring and Camping Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunnyside Croft Touring and Camping Site

Property: Sunnyside Croft Touring and Camping Site
Address: 2 Bunacaimbe | Inverness-shire, Arisaig PH39 4NT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Arisaig
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Arisaig
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunnyside is a Multi-Award winning family-run site located on 'The Road to the Isles' Coastal Route between the villages of Arisaig and Morar/ Mallaig. A stunning West Highland location with access to one of several white sand beaches along its coastline. An ideal base for exploring the area or, a stopover when touring the Highlands and Islands. Ferry services to The Isle of Skye, Small Isles and Knoydart from Mallaig close by. Luxury facilities, including a heated Toilet Block. Free Wifi and Eco-friendly too . . . David Bellamy 'Gold' Conservation Scheme Award since joining in 2013. New for 2016 - Fully electric vehicle hire for guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunnyside Croft Touring And Camping Site Arisaig, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing