We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Third time staying at Ferroch......and we'll be back”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Achnasheen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ferroch Guest House
Ranked #2 of 2 Achnasheen B&B and Inns
Motherwell
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Third time staying at Ferroch......and we'll be back”
Reviewed June 12, 2011

Ferroch is the perfect b&b. It's got great, spacious, clean rooms with big, clean en-suites but it's the owners - Gina and Peter - who make Ferroch special. You really could not get better hosts, they love the area, their b&b and caring for their guests and it shows.

Ate at Ferroch 3 nights during our stay and the cooking is fantastic.......it is nearly worth driving to Ferroch just to have dinner and breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linda_cfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    3
    2
    1
    4
See reviews for
5
51
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2011

Friendly hosts, great location for easy access to places of interest. We visited Plockton, Applecross, Eilean Donan Castle, Skye, etc. We were going to eat at Torridon Inn which had been recommended, but after tasting Gina's lovely home cooking, we decided to eat at Ferroch for the 3 nights we were there. Room was comfortable and very clean. Would definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottie64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herefordshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2010

We enjoyed our 3 days with Gina & Peter so much in 2009 that we stayed 5 days this time and were fortunate in having glorious weather in which to enjoy walking, a magical boat trip from Sheildaig, the amazing views of the hillsides around with glorious changing colours and, of course, Gina's cooking and Peter's advice on walks. We have stayed in both the first floor double front room and the ground floor double room. The former has amazing views but we judged we would spend little time actually looking out from our bedroom so we chose the latter this time and it proved very handy. There was a little noise in the morning but I reckon most visitors will have difficulty keeping their eyes open ( I was caught by Peter resting mine in the snug!) after a day experiencing the splendid environment to stay up late and will be looking forward to Gina's breakfast creations by the time they hear the plates rattling in the morning. So, it's not a place for the late night reveller which is great for the rest of us! Thank you both for your kind friendly hospitality.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patseeHerefordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2010

we stayed at ferroch in the same bottom floor room as previously been stated was noisy .i must comment saying the room is not that dark and yes it was a bit noisy in the morning but if they do not get it ready for breakfast then people would complain the breakfast was late being served,we had a terrific relaxed stay ,peter and gena are terrific hosts and cannot do enough to help you with ideas for walks and places to eat.despite some people saying steer clear of torridon inn we found it very friendly and the food was good.the stay at ferroch with its outstanding views was a great base for various walks and yes there is not much in the way of shops but you would not visit this area for shopping its for walking canooing etc.there is a friendly coffee shop with homemade cakes in torridon well worth a visit.peter & gena have a clean well run business here and plenty of home made food and we cannot praise them enough for our relaxing stay,will stay there next time a bit longer as we only had 3 days

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank albion61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2010

We were very much looking forward to our visit here, especially after reading the previous TA reviews, and this made our disappointment all the worse.

Rooms/Facilities – the bedroom was clean, a good shower and spacious enough. The bathroom radiator didn't work, but the big problem was that we were stuck in the ground floor room, right next to the front door, opposite the dining room. We were at the back of the house, it was dark with no view in spite of the website saying "all windows" have a view. The worst thing was the noise, people coming in after midnight to the room above us woke us up, no soundproofing between floors, we heard everything. Then the clatter of plates from 6.45am (on a Sunday!) as they set up the dining room.

There wasn't a tv in the room or in the guest lounge, and in the middle of nowhere there was nothing else to do, if you didn't fancy the pub all evening. There was an aerial socket in the room, and we could hear the owners' tv, so why none for guests?

The dining room is large but has only one communal table - great for hostels, but in a 4 star guesthouse, we feel guests should have the privacy of their own table.

Location – Torridon is lovely but limited for food. There are only 2 options - a pub to get a reasonably priced evening meal, or the Torridon Hotel, which is £45 per head. The pub restaurant was closed for a private function, and the remaining 6 or so tables booked out. There aren’t any shops, chip vans, nothing else at all. We drove the 7 miles to the next village but this was déjà vu – the same 2 options, and once again the pub was booked out, and the hotel's meals again, unbelievably, were £45 each. We drove back to the Torridon Inn and pleaded with them to do just a bowl of chips at the bar, and luckily they agreed so we managed to get fed in the end. This was late September, I don’t know how the village manages in the height of summer. This is no reflection on Ferroch B&B of course, but it would be really helpful if they advised you at the time of booking about the dearth of dinner options and let you know to book at the Torridon Inn.

Breakfast – wonderful, can’t add anything more to this than has already been said.

Service – Gina was very friendly and hospitable at first. But the next morning when we mentioned the noise problem and not being able to sleep, her friendliness evaporated and she barely spoke to us, even though we complimented her breakfast. As we left, Peter got up to see us off and collect our money, while Gina sat with her back to us and refused to look up or acknowledge us.

Peter was great, genuinely keen for guests to enjoy their stay. Without us asking, he gave a discount on the room due to the noise problem.

However, the real issue was that they need to charge less for that particular room, it simply isn’t worth £84. We had stayed at the fantastic Creag Mhor Lodge the night before for only £1 more and the contrast put Ferroch in a poor light.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ceeljay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAMASFEARNA, Owner at Ferroch Guest House, responded to this review, October 19, 2010
We were sorry to hear this couple had been awoken after midnight by a guest returning from the village ceilidh. We both apologised and both agreed to give a discount and as there were no other negative comments made assumed we had parted on good terms.

What a shame this couple didnt research this remote and stunning area or study our web-site where they wold have discovered we provide evening meals, you dont have to book the Torridon Inn and the virtual tour of the dinning room shows the large oak table where guests share information and communicate.

As for remarks towards myself this is definitely not the place to comment.

We feel sad that both guests were unable to feel a part of this last great wilderness whilst it still exists.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2010

The bigest, but not only, point of the house is certainly its wonderful location. We had the best room with stunning views of the Loch Torridon. Room & bathroom were nice, clean and roomy. We only missed an armchair (or something similar) where to sit to read or use your laptop (there was a living room with sofas in the level floor but sometimes you prefer to be in your room). Regarding WIFI conections we had several probelms to get conected from our room. First day I only managed to success from the bathroom and second day was not possible. Not a big thing since I went to the living room and I get a fast conection inmediately but it would be great if conection from the room is better. Breakfast was excelent with many options and the owners always flexible to change requests. Everything was homemade and delicious. The owners were great hosts and were always there for any kind of advice you need. Summarizing a great place to be in Scotland!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2010

I fully agree with all the other reviews, Ferroch Guest House was a really an outstanding stay. Peter and Gina are wonderful hosts and the rooms are outstanding. We had the room with the view of Loch Torridon and the views are outstanding. I would certainly agree that the breakfasts are suburb – fills you up for the day. I wish that we had evening meals; we made the mistake of using the Torridon Inn which is best avoided. If you can get a room I would certainly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkfromBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Achnasheen
0.5 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
540 reviews
12.5 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
127 reviews
9.5 mi away
Kinlochewe Hotel
Kinlochewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinlochewe
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Ledgowan Lodge Hotel
Ledgowan Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Achnasheen
198 reviews
15.0 mi away
Gairloch Hotel
Gairloch Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gairloch
213 reviews
16.6 mi away
Poolewe Hotel
Poolewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Poolewe
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferroch Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferroch Guest House

Property: Ferroch Guest House
Address: Ferroch Loch Torridon, Achnasheen IV22 2EU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Achnasheen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Achnasheen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are one of Scotland's most stunningly situated guest houses and you will find it hard to escape the comfortable beauty that this area presents. The Ferroch Guest House sits elevated on the side of a mountain giving spectacular views of Loch Torridon and its mountains. This former croft house has been lovingly restored and extended to a high standard, thereby creating a home that is cozily domesticated and refreshingly uncomplicated. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ferroch Guest House Achnasheen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing