We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So friendly”

Torridon Stores & Cafe
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Achnasheen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Scottish
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Scottish Highlands, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“So friendly”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Went to this shop and cafe three times during our week in Diabaig the home made soups were unusual and exciting, the Turkish delight hot chocolate is addictive, the prices are very reasonable and the lady owner very welcoming.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nessy22121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    31
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great cafe and shop”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Enjoy the views over the loch while eating cake or drinking a coffee. A good well-stocked shop which is vital if you're staying in the area. It is situated in a quiet village in a beautiful location. The owner is very friendly and so are the locals!.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yakimov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
421 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 461 helpful votes
“REAL home-baking.....and a great setting.”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Finding places which really do offer great homemade cakes has become something of a crusade of mine; I can't believe the number of places that say this is what they offer and it definitely isn't! I say this as a regular baker, not with any great skills, but even pretty simple stuff made at home usually tastes great.
So - couldn't believe our luck during our Feb visit when everything was shut but this little place was open Wed-Sun,winter hours.Really attractive inside,lots of wood and picture windows looking out to the shore. Fantastic carrot cake,great looking ginger bread and good apple/cinnamon cake,Enjoyed an excellent Latte in the attractive little cafe area - some lovely old soft backed chairs to sit on too....a very elegant touch.Nice stuff to buy - Torridon mugs and good postcards plus a handy wee shop.A great addition to a wonderful area.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scotlandmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Just fab”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Lovely setting,happy friendly staff,fab cake and coffee..I cant recommend highly enough.I liked it so much I popped back the next day for coffee although managed to avoid the apple cake,although wish I had asked for the recipe.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pazyryk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Must visit destination”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

On a recent holiday in the area we found excuse to visit this lovely cafe on several occasions. A truly stunning location with spectacular panoramic views of both sea and mountains. The small but well stocked shop sells a good range of "holiday essentials" (we even found pepperoni and chorizo for our home made pizzas!) and the cafe sells a good range of proper coffees, superb home made cakes (we can personally reccommend the carrot cake, chocolate cake and apple & cinnamon cake :-) as well as toasted sandwiches (made with anything available in the shop), bacon baps, homemade soup...

Friendly, welcoming and charismatic staff complete the experience. If you want to sit and admire the views then best to arrive off peak (the opening hours when we were there were 10 till 5). There's also a large "sandy" beach at very low tides.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Torridon Stores & Cafe also viewed

Torridon, Ross and Cromarty
Torridon, Ross and Cromarty
 
Shieldaig, Ross and Cromarty
 

Been to Torridon Stores & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing