We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely fantastic”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Hot Tub Holidays

Outside
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Outside
Hot Tub Double
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Outside
Hot Tub
Double
Lounge
Kitchen
Bathroom
Infrared Sauna
Twin
Single Room
Hot Tub in the Snow
Hot Tub in the Snow
West Cottage in the Snow
West Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Auchtermuchty, Fife, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
James H
Mansfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely fantastic”
Reviewed August 3, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Not only was the cottage excellent with brilliant facilities, it was in a perfect location with full privacy but within a cars journey from several cities and many towns. Anyone who passes this up over another similar looking place would be missing out.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hot tub would easily be the answer for both myself and my girlfriend
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kilmarnock
Reviewed July 11, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the hot tub!
Liked least: the shower was a bit slow
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Karenrob6...
East Bergholt, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A lovely clean cottage , well equipped with everything!”
Reviewed April 25, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Arrived at the cottage to a warm greeting from Margaret , we were shown around and told where everything was .

The property was very clean and had everything , Just like home. The hot tub was clean , hot and made our stay very special .
The location was ideal for us , peaceful, and close enough for us to visit relatives in Dundee and Edinburgh.

The highlight of our stay has to be the hot tub.
I would definitely recommend this cottage for a stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and hot tub
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony R
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A brilliant place to unwind”
Reviewed March 15, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

What can I say about the Hot Tub Holiday cottage? I feel that any words I'd use wouldn't do it justice!
Have stayed here four times now and will continue to return. The cottage is in a great location, slightly off the beaten track and away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life.
The cottage is very well equipped, comfortable and a home from home. Always immaculate and a joy to stay in.The hot tub and sauna are a added bonus and a lovely way to unwind.
There are lots of places to visit in the surrounding area and most are only a 10 minute drive away.
Margaret & Patrick are excellent hosts and always welcoming, look forward to seeing them both again later this year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hosts, location and people of Auchtermuchty.
Liked least: The midgies
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
magsmum
Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Aaaaaahhh....Heaven”
Reviewed March 8, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

We have just returned from our second break at Pitmedden, just eight weeks after our first holiday there in January. We like to book hot tub holidays to enjoy some outdoor luxury whatever the Scottish weather may bring. We were very impressed again by the owner's attention to cleanliness and daily maintenance of the hot tub, which of course stems from the fact that Patrick (with his sons) also runs the ScotSpas Hot Tub business and knows exactly what he is doing! We have found from past experience that the owner being on site is a good indicator of water quality/safety. The hot tub at Pitmedden is sparkling clean, with water and filters being changed for each new arrival.

The cottage is well equipped and very cosy, with hot water in abundance and everything you could possibly need for a relaxing holiday. There is a great mobile phone (Tesco) signal, and Patrick was busy this week setting up internet access to the cottage which we hope to benefit from on our next stay.

On the days when the weather was kind we enjoyed walking/jogging in the vast Pitmedden forest which is accessed directly from the behind the cottage. We disturbed deer and other wildlife on each occasion. The walk up either East or West (or both) Lomond hills is to be recommended if you have a reasonable level of fitness and the cloud is high. The view is well worth the effort, and there's always the reward of the hot tub to relax in afterwards.

I recommend a stop en route to your nearest M&S for some quality easy cook prepared meals which heat themselves up nicely in the oven while you soak in the hot tub with a glass of wine!

You won't regret booking this break, but I may regret giving away the well kept secret!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hot tub, the comfortable cottage, peace and quiet, privacy, the nearby forest walks
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay E
Wigton, United Kingdom
1 review
“So good keep going back !!!!”
Reviewed February 11, 2013 for a stay in November 2012

This was our second visit and we have already booked for two more holidays! We love the peace and tranquility of the cottage. It is very comfortable with everything you could need and the large hot tub is an absolute winner!! The addition of the sauna from our first visit is a great added extra. Would recommend West Cottage to any off our friends- in fact two are coming with us for the Easter break.
Great cottage, great holiday

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the large hot tub
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemGemsEd...
Edinburgh
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Peace and quiet. Total perfection.”
Reviewed January 30, 2013 for a stay in January 2013

My fiance and I have stayed here 3 times over the last year. Our most recent visit was last weekend. We love it here. Very well equipped cottage with all the bits and pieces you need. We only use the cottage for weekends but if you were here for a longer break there is everything you need inc a washing machine. The hot tub is huge so plenty of space for friends using the cottage or families. The sauna is also fab. Towels are provided in the sauna for you to sit on along with a couple of pairs of slippers. Plenty of towels in the bathroom as well as more than enough hot water.

We always take our food with us but I believe you can get takeaway delivered too. Fridge is good size and there is also an ice tray for other bits. The cottage is lovely and cosy, we've never been cold and we've always slept very well. Have dozed off on the sofa several times as well. We come here for a weekend of total relaxation and thats exactly what we get. The tv has a good choice of channels and you can get a mobile phone signal no problem. There are also a few books, dvds and cds.

We would recommend this to families looking for a base for local site seeing, friends wanting a wee get together or like us a couple wanting to get away from it all. Margaret and her husband are fabulous and it is by far the best equipped cottage/lodge we've been too. We will be back again very soon.

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing