We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Cottages”
Horse Mill Cottage (left) and The Old Cart House (right)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Horse Mill Cottage (left) and The Old Cart House (right)
Heated Indoor Swimming Pool and Indoor Hot Tub Views from the Fabulous Outdoor Hot Tub
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Horse Mill Cottage (left) and The Old Cart House (right)
Heated Indoor Swimming Pool and Indoor Hot Tub
Views from the Fabulous Outdoor Hot Tub
Games Room and Gym
Tennis Court
Children's Play Area
Horse Mill Cottage Kitchen/Dining Area
Horse Mill Cottage Sitting Room
The Old Cart House Sitting Room
The Old Cart House Kitchen
The Old Cart House Dining Area
The Old Stables Open Plan Living Area/Kitchen Dining Room
The Old Stables Kitchen
Horse Mill Cottage Main Bedroom with King Size Bed
Horse Mill Cottage Main Bedroom Ensuite
The Old Cart House Main Bedroom with King Size Bed
The Old Stables Main Bedroom with King Size 4 Poster Bed
Horse Mill Cottage Double Bedroom
The Old Stables Twin Bedroom
Horse Mill Cottage Garden & Patio
The Old Cart House Garden Views
Forestry Walks from the Doorstep
Surrounding Countryside
Winter Wonderland
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
7 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Auchtermuchty, Fife, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Miffy95
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful Cottages”
Reviewed March 7, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

We booked all three cottages for 14 people for my mums birthday and I can't recommend this place enough - we were all very impressed. The location of the cottages is amazing - very beautiful and peaceful surroundings. You're close to St Andrews and Anstruther which are also lovely places to visit. The facilities make this place well worth the money you pay to stay here: even when we were snowed in we could still enjoy the hot tub and pool!!

On arrival the cottages were spotless and are equipped with everything you could ever need. Each cottage also had: sachets of tea, coffee, sugar and hot chocolate; as well as some biscuits: also in each of the fridges there was a bottle of wine and a carton of milk which I thought was a lovely touch. You could tell that the cottages and facilities are well maintained. We did have a couple of issues with the pool not maintaining heat due to a problem with boiler continuously cutting out during the second half of the week: however the owners did everything they could to make sure we were still able to use it. The WiFi isn't the strongest however I do believe that's due to the location; not that you need it as there is plenty there to keep you entertained.

Towards the end of our stay we did have really bad snow making it near impossible to leave the cottages. However the owners did make sure the paths around the cottages were cleared everyday so we could at least walk to and from the pool, hot tub and games room area.

My only negative is that I didn't find the beds comfortable at all. The mattresses were far too firm for me but some people do prefer that. However it wouldn't stop me from returning.

This place definitely exceeded my expectations and I really hope to come back soon.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 19, 2018
We're delighted that you had such a lovely stay and that your Mum's birthday celebrations were a great success. I think the heavy snow and high winds were causing a few technical challenges at times during your stay, but I'm glad that we were able to resolve these few small problems for you. I'm sorry you didn't find the mattresses to your liking. We have had many compliments about the quality and comfort from other guests and as you rightly say, it is quite an individual preference when it comes something like this. We very much look forward to welcoming back another time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gill B
tranent
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“What a find”
Reviewed February 9, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

What a great find these cottages are, we stayed in Horse Mill cottage which sleeps six. It was so spacious and clean. We were celebrating my 60th Birthday and wanted somewhere that family and their lovely dog could join us. This was ideal and the week has flown past. The directions were straight forward and as I said we found the cottage spotlessly clean .The owners have thought of everything from the starter pack to the towels for the cottage and also the pool towels. What can I say about the swimming pool other than just brilliant we loved it, I so enjoyed siting in the outdoor hot tub and just looking at the deer on the hills so peaceful and quiet. My husband and sons liked the games room and enjoyed playing pool, a great family time. While we were there the snow came but this was not a problem in fact it added to the beauty of the place and Ian cleared all the paths before we even woke up. There's plenty of great walks on the doorstep. Everything you would ever need is found at Newhill Farm Cottages, I would highly recommend these cottages and will be back ourselves in fact I’m about to book for next year.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 19, 2018
Thank you for your review. We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay so much.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean R
Shottle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed September 15, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
2
people found this review helpful

This was our second visit to Newhill Farm Cottages. We rented all 3 properties as a family for 4 nights. Wonderful place. All mod cons and wifi ( if you need it) but generally spend time here in the pool or the hot tub and enjoying lovely country walks. Kate and Ian are very accomodating hosts and make themselves available to sort any problems ( of which there were none). Very well kept gardens and immaculate cottages. Warm and cosy. Well worth a visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrewstr...
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A truly blissful place to stay”
Reviewed March 17, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed in 2 of the cottages this week, in one of the cottages was myself, my wife and 4 kids and in the other cottage was my mum, brother and nephew. When we arrived we were very impressed with the setup, once inside the cottages we were impressed with the space, cleanliness and decor of the cottages, we received a welcome pack of hot chocolates, biscuits and wine which we really appreciated.

The kitchen was excellent and well stocked, the range of utensils and pots and pans was rather impressive along with plates cups and anything else that you may need. The living room was very comfortable with a lovely real fireplace which reminded us of when we used to live in the country in Ireland. There was a box of logs next to the fireplace which came in handy, if you need more you can get more for £3.

Our cottage was spacious and well decorated, the several bathrooms come in handy with a large family. There is an indoor pool and jacuzzi which the kids used every day and really loved, there was a wide selection of swimming aids and toys for the children, the hot tub outside is large and really good to chill out and watch the stars, the kids also really loved the games room where there is a selection of things to do whether it's playing pool or playing table tennis, they also loved the tennis court and the Forrest walks.

The cottages are well situated and you're never too far away from exploring nearby villages and cities in Scotland.

Overall it was an excellent stay with excellent owners who were really friendly and helpful who keep the cottages very clean and to an excellent standard

Our only bad point of our stay is a small point but we found the mattresses too firm and uncomfortable but this may be a personal preference and to the next person may be the most comfortable bed in the world, with mattresses it's impossible to cater for everyone's tastes and we wouldn't mark the cottages down score wise on such a small point.

Overall we absolutely loved the cottages and would happily return. We recommend these cottages to anyone looking for a break, very family friendly and great location.

Andrew stratton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 22, 2017
We're very pleased that you had such a lovely stay at the cottages. Thank you for taking the time to leave all your feedback. It is very much appreciated. We would be delighted to welcome you back again soon.
Kate and Ian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire7m
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Group get away”
Reviewed March 13, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Spent a long weekend at all three cottages with a group of friends aged 25-30. We have stayed previously and will definitely be returning in the future. The cottages are kept very clean and well equipped with everything you could need for a large group and the facilities are amazing. The owners provide towels for each room and also pool towels. We made good use of the pool, hot tub, games room and tennis court. There are shops in the town that you can walk to on a nice day and both tesco and asda deliver if you order an online food shop. The cottages are in a great location if you want to visit nearby tourist destinations for the day and there is plenty of information found in each cottage.
I am hoping to return with my family and nephews as there is plenty to keep them occupied and then again with friends on a yearly basis.
Thank you to the lovely owners Kate and Ian for another great weekend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 14, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay here. We're really pleased that you would like to return and you would be most welcome.
Kate & Ian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry S
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Family time.”
Reviewed February 25, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

On arrival at newhill farm the first appearance is excellent, all very clean and tidy, great parking facilities for several cars and all close to the houses,so you don't have to lug your heavy bags far to your accommodation.
From the point you open the front door anyone would be more than happy with what you find, everywhere is exceptionally well appointed and very clean. The kitchen has way more than you would expect from a holiday let a very utensil you could imagine, loads of cupboard space and plenty of space for the whole family to congregate around the kitchen dining table, there's a dishwasher, washing machine, and tumble dryer and a good sized ovan to name a few appliances on offer.
The lounge is very cosy with its open fire and lovely comfy sofa's,
Upstairs you'll find 3 very nice bedrooms and a good sized bathroom, the master bedroom does have its own bathroom so everyone get ready at once which is great .
Outside there is a good sized indoor pool and an indoor jacuzzi which is great on a chilly day
We particularly enjoyed the outdoor hot tub in the evening while watching the stars with a glass or 2!
The recent addition of a tennis court is extremely good even for a non tennis player like me.
The indoor games room/gym is fab for evening entertainment for the family or on wet days.
There's plenty of great walks on the doorstep in Pitmedden woods which is also grest for mountain biking.The houses are pet friendly we took our 2 dogs who also had a great time. it's an excellent place to unwind and I'd highly recommended this place to anyone,
Kate and Ian are fantastic host's , nothing is a trouble should you need any help.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 26, 2017
Thank you for your kind comments. We're really pleased that your stay with us was so enjoyable and it was a pleasure to meet you all.
Kate & Ian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mrs”
Reviewed September 5, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Absolutely stunningly beautiful well appointed cottages created with convenience and comfort in mind. The superb leisure facilities which include pool, jacuzzi, hot tub and games room make this place perfect. The setting of the cottages surrounded by hills with plenty of nearby walks are great if your taking your four legged friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 6, 2016
We're delighted that you and your family have enjoyed staying with us at Newhill Farm Cottages. Some beautiful September weather has certainly been a bonus for you to enjoy the facilities and to appreciate the gorgeous countryside round about. Thank you and we hope to see you again soon. Kate & Ian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing