We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Barn at Glenturk near Wigtown”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kitchen Sitting Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
11 reviews
Kitchen
Sitting Room
Sitting Room
Master Bedroom
View from Master Bedroom
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2 En-suite
Patio
Play Area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Wigtown, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Richard T
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Barn at Glenturk near Wigtown”
Reviewed August 28, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The cottage was lovely and well equipped especially the kitchen. Their where plenty of leaflets on local sites and attractions which we found very useful.
The only negative was the lack of children's play area as advertised and shown in the photos.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn S
Alsager, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mrs”
Reviewed August 26, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Fabulous!! The photos don't do it justice. We had a lovely welcome basket when we arrived, which really was very welcome. The house was spotlessly clean, well equipped and comfortable. I was quite sad to leave our lovely bedroom. The views are stunning! I would definitely recommend The Barn at Glenturk to anyone. I would suggest taking some citronella candles if you like to leave the patio doors open in the evening.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
172kerri
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic, cosy and clean.”
Reviewed October 27, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed for a few days in the two bedroom house. It was very fresh and cosy and plenty of space. The childrens swing etc could do with a revamp but it was great to have a wee play area for the kids to play at. The garden outside was also a great for them to play bout in.
We were visiting family near the area so it was great to be able to have our own space in such a beatiful landscape. Would highly recommend this place and will be using it again when we visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaypix
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very convenient for exploring a wide area”
Reviewed July 4, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Had a lovely week here with my husband and mother in law at the end of June. Am pleased to say Wi-Fi is now available (not password protected). Cottage was very clean, tidy, light and airy and had all the equipment we needed for our stay. Very comfortably furnished upstairs and down. The cottage is very well situated for Wigtown and for exploring the wider area.

Just a couple of niggles. The ensuite to the double bedroom had a shower over the bath but with no shower screen or curtain the water went all over the toilet and floor. My 6'2" husband had to shower in mother in law's shower cubicle each morning as there was hardly enough clearance from the ceiling for him to stand and shower in the bath.

Also first time in all the self catering cottages we have rented over the years that we haven't had a welcome visit (or phone call) from the owner.

Overall though, had a lovely week and would definitely consider staying here again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the cleanliness of the cottage
Liked least: No shower curtain/screen over bath
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gale F
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent facilities, highly recommended”
Reviewed October 18, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

A beautiful barn conversion with excellent facilities throughout. Lots of person touches, including welcome gift. Very clean and well equipped cottage. Would definitely return and recommend to others.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JEJEck
1 review
“It's a beautifully modernised farm building.”
Reviewed September 8, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Wigtown Cottage is a very comfortable and tastefully furnished modernised farm building. The accommodation was very clean and well-presented. Although it's on the farm, we felt quite separate and independent. The outside seating areas are lovely, particularly the balcony. The bathrooms are excellent. The kitchen is small but there was everything we needed and anyway, I don't want to do complicated cooking whilst I'm on holiday. The cottage is convenient for Wigtown. I'd definitely recommend the cottage to other people.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing