We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A PLACE TO GO BACK TO”
Review of Bayview Bistro

Bayview Bistro
Ranked #7 of 9 Restaurants in Wigtown
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Located in Scotland
Wigtown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A PLACE TO GO BACK TO”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

A lovely warm dining room. Attentive staff and very very good food which arrived on very hot plates. The roast beef was really tasty and what a selection of vegetables. Roast potatoes, red cabbage, cauliflower, broccoli, turnip, creamy mash and carrot...... Plus Yorkshire pud and yummy gravy. It was too much to eat unfortunately but the doggy bag will be appreciated by my hound dog.

The sweets looked very good and such a great choice. I was just so sorry that I had no room left to enjoy one of them.

Perhaps the only criticism is the lack of a card machine to pay for the meal.

The Bistro is in a beautiful location overlooking Wigtown Bay where on a clear day you can see the hills of the Lake District in the distance. What more can you ask for great food and a great view!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    12
    4
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stranraer, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Valentines meal”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I went to the Bistro on valentines day and it was a tremendous atmosphere. Tables were presented nicely with a single rose and free chocolates and you also good a free glass of bubbly. The food was great and the portion sizes were good.Overall the meal was very good and we will certainly be returning to the bistro.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Simply the best”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Regularly go to the Bistro and I can never fault any aspect of it, food is always A1 and service is just as good. If anyone has ever had a bad experience at the Bistro I can almost bet my house on it that they are either catching it on a bad day (which will not be characteristic) or they are used to eating in one of The famous tv chefs own spots. Bayview Bistro best in the west!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JBC14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great food!”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

The food I received was absolutely tremendous with great presentation. I was given a lovely fresh dish of vegetables and always served with a smile. Very good value for money. Would highly recommend

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jimmykirky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garlieston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“"Out of this world"”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We booked for a birthday! Restaurant extremely busy but despite this staff could'nt have been more friendly and helpful. Very attentive. Food was amazing. If anyone is calling in and broccoli and cheese soup is on the menu you have to try it. This is to die for! My husband had the stuffed chicken which according to him was the size of an Ostrich (it's not often he struggles to finish his food but he gave it a good go!).

I cannot rate Bayview highly enough. Lovely restaurant, great food and warm welcome all very reasonably price - what more could you ask for?

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bayview Bistro also viewed

Wigtown, Dumfries and Galloway
Wigtown, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Wigtown, Dumfries and Galloway
Wigtown, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Newton Stewart, Dumfries and Galloway
Garlieston, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to Bayview Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing