We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always feels welcoming”
Review of Bladnoch Inn

Bladnoch Inn
Ranked #4 of 8 Restaurants in Wigtown
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Just south of Wigtown, near Newton Stewart, Scotland, very popular with the locals, deservedly.
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Always feels welcoming”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

This pub is full of interesting artefacts and serves a varied menu of bar snacks /meals, available to be enjoyed outside under large umbrellas when the weather is good. To the front, just across an A road, is the river and to the right of it is the Bladnoch Distillery ,also well worth a visit. The Wigtown Agricultural Show takes place just up the road.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank solwaysue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    83
    29
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Wales
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food and prompt service”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

A very busy Inn and the evening meal we had was very good compared to other venues we had been to last week. The service was pleasant & prompt. They could do with stocking some orange/pineapple juice rather than squash for people having to drive....otherwise great meal. People of all ages there too so they cater for everyone.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beekeeper45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Average food.”
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

We had some drinks here and decided to eat our evening meal here rather than the Bayview Bistro in the town. On the plus side the staff were excellent. Unfortunately we found the food disappointing - very average. I would go again for a drink but I wouldn't choose to eat a meal here again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank grieveygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great place”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Bladnoch Inn remains a local favourite of mine.
Always excellent service, lovely food and at very reasonable prices.
And the owner Derek always makes an effort to acknowledge his customers, even when he is in the kitchen he will come out to say hello.
Its an all round great friendly local pub with delicious pub food that can be eaten outside, in the bar or in the lounge.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fiona m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwick
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wanted food, didn't get it”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Lovely pub with good beer and a nice atmosphere. However, we asked for food and were told no because the kitchen was busy. There were tables, but they couldn't feed us. This was a Tuesday early evening.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank burttheswimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bladnoch Inn also viewed

Wigtown, Dumfries and Galloway
Wigtown, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Garlieston, Dumfries and Galloway
Port William, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to Bladnoch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing