We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent lunch and great value for money”

The Bistro at Wigtown House Hotel
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Gatehouse of Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch and great value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

After hearing comments about this bistro we decided to go for Sunday lunch. The service was first class and the food tremendous. With beautiful views over the Solway Firth it also has an excellent location. The portions are very generous so I had to take my sweet home with me which usually I have no problem with but there is a limit to how much I can stuff my face with.
Will definitely be back hopefully in the not too distant future,

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jinkyjoe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    8
    2
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good food, reasonable price, ate outside with our dogs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Having spent the whole morning driving round what appeared to be a deserted peninsular (despite it being the end of August), it was nice to find that Wigtown, "Scotland's Book Town", had a bit of life in it (a dozen tourists visible).
We went to The Bistro because the welcoming staff said "of course" our dogs were welcome to be with us at the outside tables (adjacent to the garden centre). Another family ate outside with their dog at the same time.
The menu was varied and the 3 of us chose different things off the (also varied) specials menu.
Our food came in a reasonable time (despite the inside tables being fairly full), was delicious and well presented and was a lot more than we expected for the price.
We sat in the sun and enjoyed the view across Wigtown Bay while our dogs sat and enjoyed watching someone watering the plants. It was a relaxing experience.
There was plenty of parking under a large tree in the car park which was nice as our car was not stifling when we returned to it.
We would certainly go back to the Bistro if we ever find ourselves in Dumfries and Galloway again; as it was far better food than the other 4 restaurants we went to during our week in Galloway

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anita-Derby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kranj, Slovenia
Level Contributor
185 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Possibly the best fish and chips ever”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

This restaurant ranked 5 in Wigtown is the same as the bayview Bristo, ranked no 2, so this is my second review of the same restaurant. The dining room in the hotel is old fashined but not unpleasant. The service was friendly though a little amateurish but the fish (from fresh locally caught fish) and chips was the best I have had in a very long time. Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank junkuz57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“IF YOU CAN’T CATER FOR IT DON’T ADVERTISE IT”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Placed an order at 1730 hours for food, were informed at 1900 hours that some of the items ordered weren't available and the order would not be ready for another half an hour.

Food did not arrive until after 2100 hours.

I honestly don't know where to start when describing the standard of service we encountered here.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ANDREW M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfreton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“breakfast”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

it was ok breakfast was bit greasy (well bacon was ) charged full price even though i had no haggis/black pud or sausages

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Joolz2_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bistro at Wigtown House Hotel also viewed

Wigtown, Dumfries and Galloway
Wigtown, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Wigtown, Dumfries and Galloway
Wigtown, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Wigtown, Dumfries and Galloway
Garlieston, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing