We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hillcrest House
Nearby Hotels
$83
$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Craft Hotel(Wigtown)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (120)
Filter reviews
120 results
Traveler rating
90
22
7
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
90
22
7
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast was excellentfull scottishbay windowlovely roomsolway firthcomfortable bedthe ownerdietary requirementsfamily roomlocal produceold victoriana wonderful staybiscuitslocal areaexcellent hoststwo night stayan evening meal
Filter
Updating list...
88 - 93 of 120 reviews
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Two night stay,and worth it.We had a beautiful room with superb views.The room was very clean and well equiped with everything you could want.The breakfasts had loads of options to suit all tastes.The full scottish was amazing there was no room for anything on the plate and very tasty indeed.Andrew was a perfect host although we never met Deborah we heard her busy in the kitchen.A truely wonderful place to stay ,id recommend it to the most seasoned traveller.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrewwf1, Owner at Hillcrest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to add a review for us, and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope you will choose to come and stay with us again.

Andrew and Deborah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We had a thoroughly pleasant stay in this excellent hotel. The room was spacious and pleasantly furnished without any pretentiousness and the view from the large bay windows in the Moray room superb (the binoculars were a nice touch).

Give yourself a real treat and dine in; you will not rgret it!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlasogwHungry28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrewwf1, Owner at Hillcrest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Thank you for your review - we appreciate your comments and feedback. Hope to welcome you back again
Andrew & Deborah.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Our overnight stay was very good. We booked in for dinner and had a lovely meal prepared by Deborah. The room was clean, bright and had everything you would need for a relaxing break. Andrew and Deborah were great hosts and made you feel relaxed and welcome.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnYvonneMiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

A lovely, welcoming home! The room was large, but cosy with great organic bath products. The breakfast was delicious, with a very good choice. Wifi worked throughout the house. Ideally situated for brisk walks to the harbour and round the village! Andrew was very knowledgable about the area. Great drive to the Galloway Forest Park.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We visited Hillcrest Hotel, after selecting it from our "Buy-a-Gift" voucher we got as a wedding present. We wanted something in Scotland, indulgent, in the country and dog friendly!

We enjoyed the visit to Hillcrest House Hotel, Wigtown and the Machars Peninsula (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Machars). This included visits to Whithorn and the stunning Isle of Whitorn. The first day/dog walk down the Wigtown Harbour, through the Bird Sanctury, past The Martyers Stake, visit to the Church Graveyard and being invited in to join their Joint Fair Trade service, with the dog was just great. The locals we met were very friendly and the message delivered by the visiting Baptist Preacher very good and challenging.

We were in the Solway Room which was made up as a King Size (twins, zipped together) with a beautiful view over the Solway Firth and the RSPB Reserve. The room was very comfortable, spacious for a w/e break, with en suite bathroom, two occasional chairs, TV and a tray with tea/ coffee making facilities. We also appreciated the bottle of wine and chocolates additionally provided as part of our deal. The free wifi access was also appreciated as we like to stream our own choice of TV, music and listen to DAB stations, which were not available locally, but accessible via the Internet.

The hosts were most welcoming and the othe guests we met and chatted were also friendly. We booked for dinner on the first night and it was very special. They have the choice of a 2 or 3 course set menu using fabulous local produce.

Summary - well worth the visit, beautiful area, lovely house, friendly hosts, wonderful food and dog friendly for our "wee auld Scottie Dug".

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Scotlovinit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews