We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent B&B with welcoming hosts”
Review of Brora Lodge B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wigtown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brora Lodge B&B
Ranked #2 of 7 Wigtown B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This visit in July was our third to Brora Lodge and we were not disappointed. The rooms were comfortable and very clean. We stayed for three nights with friends and each day the rooms were restored to pristine condtion.
The breakfasts catered for all tastes from cereals, toast and coffee to a full campaign breakfast all enjoyed whilst admiring the view over the nature reserve at the rear of the property. Peter and Helen are very welcoming hosts.
I am sure that we will return next year
Mike and Jean

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrparnold, Owner at Brora Lodge B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Thank you Mike and Jean, very good of you to write such a positive review. We do try our hardest to ensure you have a good time, and experience something special. You mention that we service the rooms every morning, so that when you return after your days adventures, its refreshed and set up as you found it on arrival. That's part of our quality and service commitment to our guests that we know is fully appreciated. Thanks for pointing it out.
We look forward to serving you again, hopefully sooner rather than later.
Take care, see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 123 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2013

My wife and i got a warm greeting from Helen when we arrived for our three night stay in May.You have such a lovely view over breakfast made by Peter the full breakfast with haggis set you up for the day.We stayed in room four which was cleaned every day and spotless.There is nothing left to stay but you can't go any further than stay at Brora Lodge if you are i that part of the country

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ralph-ellis64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrparnold, Owner at Brora Lodge B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Thanks very much for your kind review, and you're the second reviewer to mention the haggis recently, which I must confirm is very good indeed.
Having said that, we do like to think all our breakfast items are very good. When we started some 6 years ago now, we spent a lot of time researching all the options around here going as far away as Dumfries, Stranraer, Castle Douglas and Dalbeattie, trying to find the best bacon, black pudding, sausage, and of course haggis, for our guests to enjoy.
During the summer we even grow our own tomatoes as we feel that's one item that can let us down a little being so variable during the year. Besides, you can't beat a tomato freshly picked from the vine.
We're glad you had a good time here, and we look forward to you both visiting us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Had a great time here, when in this area again will surely come back here! It was superb! Great service an hospitality!

Great combination to visit the Bladnoch distillery and the lovely bookshops in Wigtown and see the beautiful coast. Great place to stay with great hosts!

Thanks for having us!
Thomas & Ansgar
The Netherlands

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whisky4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrparnold, Owner at Brora Lodge B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Thanks so much you whisky lovers, it was a pleasure and indeed an honour to have you experts stay here with us. The whisky chats (and sample) were very informative, we do hope you return so we can carry on where we left off.
Looking forward very much to your return one day, all the best to you both.
Peter and Helen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Lovely place to stay, great location for the book town, very quiet. Superb view from conservatory. Only an overnight stay back would make a great base to explore the area.Helen was very welcoming and looked after us, couldn't ask for more. Haggis was great at breakfast too!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Lovely place, lovely people. Feel like I have known Peter all my life. This place certainly offers the best service with the most accommodating hosts for many miles around. Our fifth time here and every time just as good as the last, cant wait to return. Tommo.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steveieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrparnold, Owner at Brora Lodge B&B, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2013

Stevie Boy you old rascal, I still hurt after all your ribbing! Anyway looking forward to sharing a beer the next time you do stay here, and we'll once again reminisce about the good old days.
Thanks very much indeed for the kind words in your review, you are too kind as always, take care, good luck and see you soon, we hope.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Our second visit to Brora Lodge within 9 months speaks volumes.
With comfortable beds, lovely varied breakfasts, scenic views and welcoming hosts, is everything that you could wish.
An excellent base for exploring Galloway

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cangan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrparnold, Owner at Brora Lodge B&B, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Thank you very much folks, it was so nice having you here, the banter goes down so well we should be charged by you for the performance. Trust the good lady had a fair to moderate dose of shopping therapy on the way home!
Looking forward to your next visit already when we will once again ensure that your holiday is a memorable one in the best possible place.
Take care till then, Pete & Helen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Well what can I say? Fabulous views, lovely accommodation, very friendly hosts, superb location, easy to find. Superb choice for breakfast, everything you could need in your room, a guest lounge and a conservatory where you can just sit a and drink in the view. Just an overnight stop this time but will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dawn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrparnold, Owner at Brora Lodge B&B, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Such praise from lovely people as you are, is over whelming and we thank you from the heart for your kind words and support, we are very touched and so pleased what we offer here is perfect for you.
We look forward to your return in the near future when we will have installed the extra hard standing area for your amazing motor bike.
Thank you very much, best regards Peter & Helen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wigtown
6.3 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newton Stewart
141 reviews
10.4 mi away
Cally Palace Hotel
Cally Palace Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
435 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hillcrest House
Hillcrest House
#1 of 7 in Wigtown
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Craft Hotel
#4 of 7 in Wigtown
4 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glaisnock House
Glaisnock House
#3 of 7 in Wigtown
44 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Bladnoch Inn
The Bladnoch Inn
#13 of 17 in Newton Stewart
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brora Lodge B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brora Lodge B&B

Address: Brora Lodge Station Road, Wigtown DG8 9DZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Wigtown
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Wigtown
Price Range: $53 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Brora Lodge, a comfortable modern Visit Scotland 4 star graded bed and breakfast residence located in the historic town of Wigtown. Feel at home in this luxury base to explore the many sights and attractions of the Galloway area and beyond. A warm welcome, a pleasant stay, a delicious breakfast, and good bonhomie awaits you here. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Brora Lodge B&B Wigtown, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing